Greenwood Valley Action micro sprint results 2000-05-20

From Victory Lane at Greenwood Valley . . . . Than Mitchell David Utt, Catawissa, started Saturday night's Micro Sprint Feature at the Greenwood Valley Action Track on the outside pole. Jumping into the lead before lap number one was completed,...

From Victory Lane at Greenwood Valley . . . .
Than Mitchell

David Utt, Catawissa, started Saturday night's Micro Sprint Feature at the Greenwood Valley Action Track on the outside pole. Jumping into the lead before lap number one was completed, Utt held off the strong field to take home the win. In Victory Lane, Utt observed that he wasn't certain he could have held the lead after a restart, and was pleased there were no yellow flags during the race. Pole sitter, Brian Kishbaugh from Nescopeck, chased Utt from start to finish followed closely by third place finisher, Jeff Furlong, Selinsgrove, who applied pressure from the start but neither of whom could make the pass. Fourth was Neil "the Wheel" Petock, Bloomsburg, fifth Eric Eckert, Bristol, and in sixth place was Joel VanBuskirk, Selinsgrove. Steve Lenig, Selinsgrove, was seventh, Blane Heimbach, Selinsgrove, eighth, while Scott Kishbaugh, Nescopeck, was ninth and Colby Womer, Mt. Pleasant Mills, tenth.

Nonstop action defined the Rookie Micro Sprint Feature where Shane Penny, driving the Ronnie Payne owned micro, was first across the line. Traveling from Wilton, CT, to The Action Track did nothing to lessen the skills of Michael Ruttkamp who seemed to have what it took to pass Penny for the lead, but a broken shock support kept him from mounting a final challenge. Ruttkamp finished in second place, followed by Lee Benjamin, Berwick, determined to be in the top few finishers, managing a solid third. Fourth across the line was Brett Arndt, Topton, fifth was Abe Messersmith, Orangeville, followed by Denny Rinehimer, Bloomsburg, and Brit Rider, Millville, in sixth and seventh places. Steven Dino, Middletown, NY, was eighth, Scott Tate, Middleburg, ninth, and Scott Miller, tenth.

An added feature at the Greenwood Valley Action Track was a wingless contest won by Brent Arndt, Topton, followed by Scott Kishbaugh, Nescopeck, and Colby Womer, Mt. Pleasant Mills.

Next week marks one of the Action Track's biggest two-day events. The Racer's Tribute Memorial race for Micro Sprints rolls off next Saturday night (May 27) and pays $500 to the winner. David Utt and Brian Kishbaugh, this week's top two Micro Sprint Feature finishers, have guaranteed starting spots for the event. The Saturday Show will also include go-karts and micros in a regular evening of racing. On Sunday morning (May 28) The Action Track will open its gates at 10 am to host the Second Event in the Micro Sprint 250 and 600cc Eddie Sanders Micro Sprint Championship. With an anticipated end-of-year purse of more than $10,000 dollars to divide among the drivers, interest is high. Any micro driver may enter, but to be eligible score championship points and share in the final payout, drivers must registered as participants in the Championship Series members. Information about the series can be found at the series web site; http://www.GreggbertOnDirt.Com/mscs_home.htm. Bring the family to Greenwood Valley for a full weekend of wheel-to-wheel competition.

<pre> May 20, 2000 Greenwood Valley Action track Results

Lite Karts 1. Jason Koch, Lewisburg 2. Jace Cresswell, Lewisburg 3. Chris Hoffman, Lewisburg

Heavy Karts 1. Nathan Weikel 2. Andy Knouse 3. Steve Sirota, Millville

Adult (caged) 1. Britt Rider, Millville 2. Hoss Uhrin, Freeland 3. Chris Badger, Lewisburg

Junior Karts (caged) 1. Adam Zimmerman, Middleburg 2. Sean Stolz, Bloomsburg 3. Josh Gauger, Bloomsburg

Rookie Karts (caged) 1. Derrick Bowersox, Milton 2. Matt Miller, Sunbury 3. Brett Gordner, Orangeville

Micro Sprint 250cc 1. David Utt, Catawissa 2. Brian Kishbaugh, Nescopeck 3. Jeff Furlong, Selinsgrove 4. Neil Petock, Bloomsburg 5. Eric Eckert, Bristol 6. Joel VanBuskirk, Selinsgrove 7. Steve Lenig, Selinsgrove 8. Blane Heimbach, Selinsgrove 9. Scott Kishbaugh, Nescopeck 10. Colby Womer, Mt. Pleasant Mills

Rookie Micro Sprint 250cc 1. Shane Penny, Nescopeck 2. Michael Ruttkamp, Wilton, CT 3. Lee Benjamin, Berwick 4. Brett Arndt, Topton 5. Abe Messersmith, Orangeville 6. Denny Rinehimer, Bloomsburg 7. Brett Rider, Millville 8. Steven Dino, Middletown, NY 9. Scott Tate, Middleburg 10. Scott Miller

Wingless Micro Sprint 1. Brent Arndt, Topton 2. Scott Kishbaugh, Nescopeck 3. Colby Womer, Mt. Pleasant Mills

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint