Evergreen start of Northwest Speedweek preview

hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour "Northwest Speedweek" - "Evergreen State Sprint Challenge" Rumors, predictions and excitement are keeping fans busy talking as the 2001 version of the hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour's "Northwest Speedweek" gets...

hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour "Northwest Speedweek" - "Evergreen State Sprint Challenge"

Rumors, predictions and excitement are keeping fans busy talking as the 2001 version of the hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour's "Northwest Speedweek" gets ready to hit the road. Getting underway on Monday, July 16th, there will be over $84,000 on line to be won by competing drivers as the battle rages through six races, in six days, at five different tracks.

Starting on July 16th at Southern Oregon Speedway in Medford, OR, and culminating with the "Evergreen State Sprint Challenge" at Grays Harbor Raceway Park in Elma, WA on Saturday July 21st, most of the Northwest's finest drivers, along with several of California's hot shoes, have indicated they will be vying for a large chunk of the prize money on tap. Entries from Alberta and British Columbia, Canada, Montana, Washington, Oregon and California have been received to participate in "Northwest Speedweek".

Among the top Washington drivers are three time and defending NST Champion Shawna Wilskey, 1997 Champion Rick Fauver, 1998 Champion Jason Solwold, along with several other drivers including, Randy Ridge, Jay Cole, Chad Hillier, Jayme Barnes, Rick Smith, Barry Martinez, Jay R. Harkness, Gary Taylor, Brandon Harkness and Rod Perkins.

Oregon based drivers with a good shot at the big money are Dale Smith, Jeremy Cooper, Marvin Smith, Scott Adams, Jeff Thompson, Chad Bauer, Greg Brown and Kevin Journey. Others making the six race tour will probably include Melissa Yates, Tony Thomas, Gus Cooper, and Jeff Osburn.

Californians Roger Crockett and Dan Menne run the hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour regularly and are always a threat for the win. Other tough competition from California is expected with many drivers from the Civil War Series venturing north to try for a piece of that $84,000 plus dollars up for grabs.

Names on the list include Brent Kaeding and Steve Kent, who split the wins with three each in 2000, Johnny Rodriguez, Gary Morgan, Steven Tiner, Destiny Hayes and Jonathan Allard. Other possibilities could include Sean Fenn, Mike Benson, Jason Statler, Andy Forsburg, Eric Rossi, Colby Weisz, Chad Riolo, Jim Richardson and Steve Fehrman.

Canadians Scott Aumen, Tony Menard, and Mike Melwicks will head the British Columbia list with the possibility of Tyson Cross getting a ride for the week long marathon of racing. Chris Schmelzle, Todd Heikes and Jeff Pollard are also possible entries.

Marc Duperron, Jeff Hodgson, Wade Fleming, Geoff Beck, Ed Wiersma, Dawn L. Morrison and Dave Smith are all planning to make the trip down from the Edmonton area of Alberta, Canada.

Montana driver Richie Peterson has had a good season with NST so far this year and his fellow statesman Joe Ramaker, just off of winning the 2001 CAN-AM Championship in Edmonton, is also planning to race the full week.

After the opening race on Southern Oregon Speedway's one-third mile oval, drivers and crews will travel north on Tuesday the 17th, to the three-tenths mile clay circuit of Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, OR for the second race of the series. Portland, OR's Portland Speedway hosts night number three when the sprints will invade the half-mile mile red clay track on Wednesday the 18th.

Thursday, the 19th, the drivers and crews travel to State Fair Raceway in Yakima, WA. In just it's second year of running, this newly completed three-eighths mile oval may be a new venue to several of the drivers. More clay has been added since last year and the surface has provide action packed nights for the fans.

On Friday and Saturday, July 20th and 21st, Grays Harbor Raceway Park in Elma, WA will hear the roar of the sprint cars as the 5th annual "Evergreen State Sprint Challenge" puts the finishing touch to "Northwest Speedweek".

With $30,000 up for grabs in the two nights of action, Saturday night's "$5000 to Win" feature event is the place to be on the final night. This will guarantee the preliminary races should all be hot and heavy as only 20 cars will start the feature event and get a shot at the $5000.

Sponsorships for the 2001 hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour and "Northwest Speedweek" come from; hy-per-lube High Performance Products, Don Ott Racing Engines, Hoosier Racing Tires, Steve Beitler Performance Center, Jimmy Sills School of Open Wheel Racing, 20/10 Products, U.S. Smokeless Tobacco Co., JB Enterprise, Ridge Runner Wings, Weld Racing, KSE Products and Services and DSR Fuel Injection Systems.

As in the past, racers and fans alike are going to be part of the best in Sprint Car action as the 2001 hy-per-lube Northern Sprint Tour "Northwest Speedweek" takes to the clay with a week of hot July action.

For more information on the most exciting week of 360 Sprint Car Racing action in the Northwest contact: Brownfield Promotions, Inc., PO Box 556, Snohomish, WA 98291. Phone 360-568-CLAY (2529). For ticket information and race times, contact the individual race tracks. So. Oregon Speedway - 541-772-6264; Willamette Speedway - 541-258-8503; Portland Speedway - 503-285-2883; State Fair Raceway - 360-568-2529; Grays Harbor Raceway Park - 360-482-4374.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Shawna Wilskey , Johnny Rodriguez , Jim Richards , Jonathan Allard , Jimmy Sills , Gary Taylor , Jason Statler , Roger Crockett , Marc Duperron