Devil's Bowl III: Saturday Finale results

Wright Ices O'Reilly ASCS Title with Devil's Bowl Sweep MESQUITE, Tex. (October 22, 2005) -- Gary Wright left no room for doubt about his second consecutive O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & ...

Wright Ices O'Reilly ASCS Title with Devil's Bowl Sweep

MESQUITE, Tex. (October 22, 2005) -- Gary Wright left no room for doubt about his second consecutive O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores championship by completing a sweep of the 32nd Annual Devil's Bowl Speedway Winter Nationals in Saturday night's season-ending 25-lap feature.

After winning Friday night's prelim, Wright took the lead at the outset and led all the way to record his 14th series triumph of the season aboard the Wesmar-powered Southwest Express/The Shop/Richwood Construction No. 9 Maxim.

"That's a good way to end the season," Wright commented after collecting his 104th career ASCS National Tour victory and 13th at the half-mile Devil's Bowl Speedway.

Wright led the feature field to the green flag with Friday night runner-up Brian Brown alongside, with Kevin Ramey and Wayne Johnson slated for the second row. Johnson exited to the pit area however with mechanical problems and missed the initial green flag.

Johnson caught a break when the initial start was waved off for Johnny Anderson's turn one flip. With Anderson emerging unscathed, Johnson rejoined the field at the tail on the ensuing restart.

Wright outgunned Brown for the point at the drop of the green, with Chappell in third after sliding up to the second row outside following Johnson's misfortune. Chappell slid high on the third lap, allowing Ramey and fifth-starter Travis Rilat to slip by moments before the race's final caution flew for 13-year-old Trey Robb, who slid to a stop off turn two.

Back under way, Wright raced away from the field, leaving Brown and Rilat to fight it out for second. Rilat ultimately made his way past Brown for second on the 17th round and quickly began reeling in Wright, who was immersed in heavy lapped traffic.

Rilat nearly closed to Wright's rear bumper with just three laps to go, only to have a lapped car intervene. Wright took quick advantage and charged to the checkered flag with a comfortable advantage.

Running fourth with just five laps to go, 2001 series champion Chappell made a late charge to snare the runner-up slot at the stripe, with 2003 ASCS champ Rilat settling for the show position. Brown crossed the stripe fourth, with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., rounding out the top five.

Ramey claimed sixth, with Johnson rebounding from his early misfortune to snare seventh. Larry Neighbors raced from 14th to eighth, with 17th-starter Jerrod Hull and 23rd-starter Darren Stewart completing the top ten.

Wright earned the series title by 306 points over Stewart, with 14th-place finisher Sam Hafertepe, Jr., leapfrogging past leading Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Tony Bruce, Jr., for third in final points.

Utilizing a mount borrowed from the Hafertepe team for the evening, Rookie contender Jake Martens made the feature and after fuel pump problems sidelined him at the start, earned enough points to tie Toby Brown for fifth in the final points rundown.

Rilat, Robb, Natalie Sather, Stenhouse and Martens each claimed heat race victories, with Hull and Anderson winning the twin 12-lap "B" Mains.


Locked in from Friday night's preliminary feature: Gary Wright, Brian Brown, Kevin Ramey, Wayne Johnson.

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Travis Rilat, 2. Larry Neighbors, 3. Russ Fletcher, 4. Mike Sitzmann, Jr., 5. Skip Wilson, 6. Cody Branchcomb, 7. George White, 8. Eric Payne, 9. Danny Jennings.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Trey Robb, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Shawn Sander, 4. Eric Baldaccini, 5. Brandon Erwin, 6. Rick Ziehl, 7. J.P. Bailey, 8. Gregg Bakker, 9. Mason Hill.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Natalie Sather, 2. Steven King, 3. J.D. Johnson, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 5. Chris Shirek, 6. Preston Peebles II, 7. Matt Clevenger, 8. Johnny Miller, 9. Landon Brown.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 2. Jan Howard, 3. Jesse Giannetto, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Andy Shouse, 6. Toby Brown, 7. Wade Nygaard, 8. John Carney, Jr., 9. Koby Barksdale.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jake Martens, 2. Jerry Bell, 3. Jerrod Hull, 4. Johnny Anderson, 5. Darren Stewart, 6. Lee Sowell, 7. Earnest Jennings, 8. Larry Hartwell, 9. Jimmy Taylor.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Jerrod Hull, 2. J.D. Johnson, 3. Eric Baldaccini, 4. Darren Stewart, 5. Andy Shouse, 6. J.P. Bailey, 7. George White, 8. Chris Shirek, 9. Lee Sowell, 10. Johnny Miller, 11. Eric Payne, 12. Jimmy Taylor, 13. Danny Jennings, 14. Earnest Jennings. DNS: Russ Fletcher, Cody Branchcomb, Landon Brown.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Johnny Anderson, 2. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 3. Brandon Erwin, 4. Skip Wilson, 5. Toby Brown, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. Preston Peebles II, 8. Matt Clevenger, 9. Gregg Bakker, 10. Rick Ziehl, 11. Mason Hill, 12. John Carney, Jr., 13. Koby Barksdale, 14. Larry Hartwell, 15. Wade Nygaard. DNS: Shawn Sander.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Gary Wright, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Travis Rilat, 4. Brian Brown, 5. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 6. Kevin Ramey, 7. Wayne Johnson, 8. Larry Neighbors, 9. Jerrod Hull, 10. Darren Stewart, 11. Jan Howard, 12. Steven King, 13. Jesse Giannetto, 14. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 15. Brandon Erwin, 16. Trey Robb, 17. Natalie Sather, 18. Skip Wilson, 19. Eric Baldaccini, 20. J.D. Johnson, 21. Mike Sitzmann, Jr., 22. Jerry Bell, 23. Jake Martens, 24. Johnny Anderson.

Final O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Gary Wright 4,706, 2. Darren Stewart 4,400, 3. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 4,065, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 4,033, 5. (tie) Jake Martens and Toby Brown 3,553, 7. Jimmy Taylor 2,768, 8. Jan Howard 2,712, 9. Zach Chappell 2,541, 10. Lee Sowell 2,444, 11. Nick Smith 2,132, 12. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. 1,954, 13. Kevin Ramey 1,936, 14. Natalie Sather 1,907, 15. Danny Jennings 1,717.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brandon Erwin , Darren Stewart , Johnny Miller , George White , Preston Peebles , Rick Ziehl , Larry Neighbors , Brian Brown , Cody Branchcomb , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Danny Jennings , Wayne Johnson , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Koby Barksdale , Andy Shouse