Devil's Bowl Friday report

Crawley cops O'Reilly ASCS Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals Prelim win. MESQUITE, Tex. (October 17, 2003) - Three-time series champion Tim Crawley held on to win Friday night's 20-lap O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour feature ...

Crawley cops O'Reilly ASCS Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals Prelim win.

MESQUITE, Tex. (October 17, 2003) - Three-time series champion Tim Crawley held on to win Friday night's 20-lap O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour feature presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and United Trailers at Devil's Bowl Speedway. The triumph in the opening night of the 30th Annual Devil's Bowl Winter Nationals was Crawley's third series victory of the year.

While Crawley led in wire-to-wire fashion, he had a pack of close pursuers throughout the race, with Wayne Johnson challenging for the lead when the race's only caution flew with just four rounds to go. With a clear track ahead over the final rounds, Crawley raced to a narrow victory.

Crawley earned the pole position for the main event by making an impressive charge from eighth to win the fifth of six heats for the 50-car field. Alongside as the 21-car feature field took the green flag was championship contender Gary Wright, who raced from ninth to second in the opening heat.

Crawley jumped into the early lead and held a five car-length advantage as he flawlessly utilized the low line in the early rounds. Meanwhile, a rim riding Wright and Garry Lee Maier battled wheel-to-wheel for the runner-up slot as Johnson and Zach Chappell chased the lead trio.

As Wright took command of second on the seventh circuit, Crawley encountered lapped traffic a lap later. With the leaders dicing through lapped traffic, Maier slipped back around Wright for second on the ninth round, with Johnson overtaking Wright as well the next time around.

With Crawley in command as he approached heavy traffic on the fifteenth round, Johnson dashed by Maier for second and quickly closed on the leader's rear bumper and poised himself to challenge for the point. The caution flew moments later, with 16 laps complete, for Foster Landon's disabled mount in turn one.

Crawley took off on the restart and posted a narrow win aboard William Hope's #77 DynoTech-powered ComQuest/Hope Engineers Avenger. Johnson settled for a close second in his first night aboard the Wells-powered Harvill Industries #7m Eagle, with Maier snaring the show position.

After starting eleventh, current series point leader Travis Rilat had advanced to sixth by the lap 16 caution, then charged past first Chappell, then Wright, to take over fourth in the final laps. However, Wright battled back and made a daring last corner pass on the high side to reclaim the fourth and final transfer position to Saturday night's $5,000-to-win season finale, with Rilat rounding out the top five.

In his first night aboard the Tom Willis-owned mount, Kevin Ramey earned the race's Hard Charger award by racing from 15th to sixth, with Chappell in seventh. Shane Stewart came from 16th to finish eighth, with Darren Stewart and Toby Brown completing the top ten.

Johnson, Dennis Park, Josh Higday, Danny Jennings, Crawley and Darren Stewart were victorious in heat race action, with Ramey, Shane Stewart and Don Droud, Jr., winning the three 12-lap B Features.

Rilat escaped the evening with a 32-point edge over Wright in the series championship battle, worth $20,000 to the victor. A finish of 15th or better in Saturday night's finale will guarantee Rilat the championship.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Wayne Johnson, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Dusty Zomer, 4. Jimmy Taylor, 5. Kevin Ramey, 6. Billy Alley, 7. Richard Cordray, 8. James Shoun, 9. Stephanie Chappell.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Dennis Park, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Brian Harvill, 4. Shane Stewart, 5. Skip Wilson, 6. Chuck Swenson, 7. Greg Rilat, 8. Sam Hafertepe, Jr.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Josh Higday, 2. Garry Lee Maier, 3. Loyd Clevenger, 4. Ryan Anderson, 5. Derek Drown, 6. Larry Neighbors, 7. Chris Sweeney, 8. Joe Beaver.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Danny Jennings, 2. Toby Brown, 3. Don Droud, Jr., 4. Jason Martin, 5. Claud Estes, 6. Mike Chadd, 7. Rick Behr, 8. Bryan Gossel.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Tim Crawley, 2. C.J. Johnson, 3. Travis Rilat, 4. Bob Ewell, 5. Tony Bruce, Jr., 6. Jeff Dodd, 7. J.P. Bailey, 8. J.D. Johnson.

Sixth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Darren Stewart, 2. Rick Ziehl, 3. Foster Landon, 4. Cody Branchcomb, 5. Gregg Bakker, 6. William Eggimann, 7. Scott Pace, 8. Rawdy Hull, 9. Matt Clevenger.

First B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Skip Wilson, 3. Cody Branchcomb, 4. Larry Neighbors, 5. Claud Estes, 6. Dusty Zomer, 7. Chris Sweeney, 8. Jimmy Taylor, 9. Joe Beaver, 10. William Eggimann, 11. Scott Pace, 12. Rawdy Hull.

Second B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Billy Alley, 3. Jason Martin, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Brian Harvill, 6. Ryan Anderson, 7. Stephanie Chappell, 8. Bryan Gossel, 9. Rick Behr, 10. Richard Cordray, 11. Mike Chadd. DNS: James Shoun.

Third B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Don Droud, Jr., 2. Bob Ewell, 3. Gregg Bakker, 4. Derek Drown, 5. Chuck Swenson, 6. Loyd Clevenger, 7. Greg Rilat, 8. Jeff Dodd, 9. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 10. J.P. Bailey, 11. J.D. Johnson. DNS: Matt Clevenger.

A Feature (20 Laps): 1. Tim Crawley, 2. Wayne Johnson, 3. Garry Lee Maier, 4. Gary Wright, 5. Travis Rilat, 6. Kevin Ramey, 7. Zach Chappell, 8. Shane Stewart, 9. Darren Stewart, 10. Toby Brown, 11. Billy Alley, 12. Danny Jennings, 13. Don Droud, Jr., 14. Josh Higday, 15. Skip Wilson, 16. Dennis Park, 17. C.J. Johnson, 18. Bob Ewell, 19. Rick Ziehl, 20. Foster Landon, 21. Rick Behr.

O'Reilly ASCS National Points (Top Twenty): 1. Travis Rilat 5,574, 2. Gary Wright 5,542, 3. Zach Chappell 5,490, 4. Darren Stewart 5,289, 5. Cody Branchcomb 5,039, 6. Toby Brown 4,888, 7. Shane Stewart 3,092, 8. Jimmy Taylor 2,801, 9. Tim Crawley 2,751, 10. Rick Behr 2,349, 11. Matt Clevenger 1,912, 12. Kevin Ramey 1,906, 13. A.G. Rains 1,883, 14. Nick Smith 1,790, 15. Jason Martin 1,714, 16. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 1,546, 17. Garry Lee Maier 1,522, 18. Derek Drown 1,488, 19. Dale Howard 1,447, 20. Jan Howard 1,341.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Rick Ziehl , Larry Neighbors , Cody Branchcomb , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Danny Jennings , C.J. Johnson , Wayne Johnson , Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley , J.P. Bailey