CSCCWRS Chico Results 98-08-28

CHICO, CA (8-28-98)- Former Silver Dollar Speedway champion Shane Scott of Chico finally scored his first home track victory when the California Sprint Car Civil War Race Series competed in its ninth event of the season at Silver Dollar...

CHICO, CA (8-28-98)- Former Silver Dollar Speedway champion Shane Scott of Chico finally scored his first home track victory when the California Sprint Car Civil War Race Series competed in its ninth event of the season at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico Friday night. Scott, who currently ranks second in Civil War competition continues to be the winningest driver of the 1998 campaign with a total of three victories following his success on the Chico high banks Friday night.

After qualifying fourth quick and placing third in his heat race, Scott started the 30-lap feature event on the front row Friday night. At the waving of the green flag a red flag followed when Ricky Wondergem went upside down. Wondergem was uninjured in the incident but was out of contention for the night.

When racing resumed, Scott powered his Slim Danielson own #7d ahead of second place starter Jonathan Allard of Chico, Chad Riolo of Roseville started third with point leader Roger Crockett of Rio Linda starting in the fourth position. Once he was in front of the field, Scott went without serious challenge for the entire 30-lap affair.

While Scott cruised out in front of the field on the track that has garnered him several victories and championships, the battle for the second and third positions heated up between Riolo and Crockett. As Allard faded back early in the race, Riolo moved up to the second position where he held off a hard charging Crockett all the way to the checkered flag. Kyle Schild of Sacramento finished fourth with Richard Tiner rounding out the top five.

Action began Friday night with qualifying as series point leader Crockett clocked the fastest lap for the fourth time in the season. Crockett's time of 12:479 bested the 42-car field. Chad Riolo of Roseville qualifying second quick and was trailed by Jonathan Allard, Scott and Kyle Schild.

In heat race competition, the 1/4 mile racing surface remained tacky enough for close racing in all four 10-lap heat races. Korey Lovell of Yuba City scored victory in the first heat race. Lovell was joined in heat race honors by Ricky Wondergem, Jeff Young and Mark Flachman.

All but one of the four heat races went trouble free. In the third heat of the night, however, a red flag came out for roll-over victim Mike Wasina Jr. Wasina went upside down in the fourth turn after he suffered a collision with Chico's Jonathan Allard. The incident sent Wasina into a series of barrel rolls and to the pits for the evening, Allard finished fourth in the event.

Fair Oak's driver Alan Bradway won the C-main event and was joined in transfer honors by Marc Mackay of Shingle Springs. In the B-main, Kyle Schild scored the win. Schild was followed across the line and into the A-feature by Tiner, Andy Forsberg and Jim Richardsen. The B-main event was significant for Forseberg. Following Friday's event, the top 32 drivers in the Civil War point standings qualify for the big Pacific Sprint Cup on September 16. Entering Friday's event, Forsberg ranked 32nd on the point ladder. After being bumped out of contention in the heat race, Forsberg charged his way through the B-main to insure a transfer position into the feature event.

The California Sprint Car Civil War Race Series will now gear up for the second annual "Pacific Sprint Cup" at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico. This is an invitational event open to the top 32-drivers in the series sprint standings and boasts a $15,000 purse with $3000 going to the main event winner. The official entry list for this event is scheduled be released when official point standings following Friday's event are calculated by the office of John Padjen Motorsports. For any further information contact the track business office at (916) 969-7484.


FAST QUALIFIERS: 1.) Roger Crockett-12:479; 2.) Chad Riolo-12:514; 3.) Jonathan Allard-12:769; 4.) Shane Scott-12:785; 5.) Kyle Schild-12:860

HEAT 1: Korey Lovell; Bryan Bullard; Billy Wallace; Roger Crockett; Kyle Schild. HEAT 2: Ricky Wondergem; Colby Weisz; Jeff Halleib; Chad Riolo; Sean Fenn. HEAT 3: Jeff Young; Mark Tabor Sr.; Jamie Cavagnaro; Jonathan Allard; Marc Mackay.

HEAT 4: Mark Flachman; Scooter Lambert; Shane Scott; Rick Frock; Jim Richardsen.

C-MAIN: Alan Bradway; Marc Mackay; Randy Mello; Terry Gough; Claudia Harvey.

B-MAIN: Kyle Schild; Richard Tiner; Andy Forsberg; Jim Richardsen; Kevin Lovell.

A-MAIN: Scott; Riolo; Crockett; Schild; Tiner; Halleib; Lovell; Lambert; Young; Tabor.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Jim Richards , Jonathan Allard , Kevin Love , Terry Gough , Andy Forsberg , Roger Crockett