Cowtown: Race results 2005-06-25

Martin Conquers Cowtown for First Taste of O'Reilly ASCS Victory Lane KENNEDALE, Tex. (June 25, 2005) -- The O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores invaded Cowtown Speedway for the...

Martin Conquers Cowtown for First Taste of O'Reilly ASCS Victory Lane

KENNEDALE, Tex. (June 25, 2005) -- The O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores invaded Cowtown Speedway for the first time in series history on Saturday night, so it was only fitting that a new face grace victory lane as Liberal, KS, hotshoe Jason Martin scored ASCS National Tour victory number one in the 30-lap main event.

With a half dozen ASCS Regional victories already to his credit, Martin snared the point at the outset and fought off defending series champion and current point leader Gary Wright to secure the landmark victory aboard the Kriner-powered Dan's Body Shop/Simpson Race Products No. 36 Maxim.

"I've been trying to get one of these for a long time, it's what I've been shooting for, this is great!" the enthused victor commented in victory lane. "I knew Gary (Wright) was right there and he's a great racer, to be able to beat him and Darren (Stewart) and all these guys is pretty awesome."

After winning the evening's third heat race, Martin led the feature field to the green flag with Danny Jennings alongside. The initial start was waved off however, when third-starter George White looped his mount in turn two with J.P. Bailey spinning as well to avoid White.

Martin outgunned Jennings for the point on the ensuing restart, while eighth-starter Kevin Ramey and ninth-starter Wright quickly moved up to third and fourth. Action was briefly interrupted again after five rounds when Derek Cottrell spun to a stop at the top of turn three.

With Martin leading the way on the restart, the action behind him got wild as Ramey slid underneath Jennings for second in turns three and four on the sixth circuit. Jennings returned the favor in turns one and two, with the pair then making contact as they battled down the backstretch. Ramey spun to a halt in turn three with front end damage, while Jennings limped to the pit area with rear suspension woes. Both drivers were done for the night.

With Jennings and Ramey out of the picture, Wright closed to Martin's rear bumper with Preston Peebles II, Eric Baldaccini and Darren Stewart in tow. Traffic would come into play after twelve rounds, but Martin was successful in keeping Wright at bay.

As Martin fought off Wright for the lead, the show position became an unlucky slot to hold. Peebles held the spot until coming to a halt off the backstretch with engine woes after 22 laps, while Baldaccini's strongest ASCS effort to date ended three rounds later when he collided with an infield tire entering turn one, setting up a five-lap dash to the checkered flag.

Wright put the pressure on Martin over the final rounds, but Martin was up to the task as he secured the victory by a three car-length margin at the stripe. "My right rear tire was about gone, I could feel it vibrating the last couple of laps, we couldn't have made it much further," Martin commented.

Wright settled for his third runner-up finish in a row, while 14th-starter Darren Stewart picked up the race's Hard Charger award by claiming the show position. Toby Brown raced from tenth to fourth, with American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region point leader Sean McClelland advancing from eleventh to round out the top five.

Leading Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Tony Bruce, Jr., charged from 15th to sixth, with 16th-starter Sam Hafertepe, Jr., on his heels all the way to claim seventh. Skip Wilson crossed the stripe eighth after starting 18th, with White and 17th-starter Kerry McAlister completing the top ten.

Jennings, White and Martin topped heat race action for the 26-car field, with Bruce, Jr., making a late pass of Hafertepe, Jr., to win the 12-lap "B" Main.

ASCS Gulf South Region invader Stephen Chevallier brought out the red flag when he flipped in turn three in the third heat race. Chevallier was uninjured but done for the night.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Danny Jennings, 2. Preston Peebles II, 3. Kevin Ramey, 4. Toby Brown, 5. Sean McClelland, 6. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 7. Tony Bruce, Jr., 8. Landon Brown, 9. Darrell Fletcher.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. George White, 2. Charlie Brown, 3. Gary Wright, 4. Dex Eaton, 5. Darren Stewart, 6. Jimmy Taylor, 7. Kerry McAlister, 8. Skip Wilson, 9. Edd French.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Jason Martin, 2. Eric Baldaccini, 3. J.P. Bailey, 4. Derek Cottrell, 5. Lee Sowell, 6. Earnest Jennings, 7. Stephen Chevallier. DNS: Brian McClelland.

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Tony Bruce, Jr., 2. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 3. Kerry McAlister, 4. Skip Wilson, 5. Jimmy Taylor, 6. Brian McClelland, 7. Landon Brown, 8. Lee Sowell, 9. Darrell Fletcher, 10. Earnest Jennings, 11. Edd French. DNS: Stephen Chevallier.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Jason Martin, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Darren Stewart, 4. Toby Brown, 5. Sean McClelland, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr., 7. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 8. Skip Wilson, 9. George White, 10. Kerry McAlister, 11. Derek Cottrell, 12. Eric Baldaccini, 13. Dex Eaton, 14. J.P. Bailey, 15. Preston Peebles II, 16. Brian McClelland, 17. Danny Jennings, 18. Kevin Ramey, 19. Charlie Brown, 20. Jimmy Taylor.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Ten): 1. Gary Wright 2,546, 2. Darren Stewart 2,514, 3. Tony Bruce, Jr., 2,271, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 2,245, 5. Toby Brown 1,949, 6. Jan Howard 1,851, 7. Jake Martens 1,849, 8. Jimmy Taylor 1,578, 9. Lee Sowell 1,4298 10. A.G. Rains 1,391.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Sean McClelland 1,452, 2. Danny Jennings 1,424, 3. Kerry McAlister 1,284, 4. Preston Peebles II 1,259, 5. Cody Branchcomb 1,234, 6. Brian McClelland 1,231, 7. Foster Landon 1,023, 8. J.P. Bailey 977, 9. Jason Martin 976, 10. Derek Cottrell 969.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , George White , Preston Peebles , Cody Branchcomb , Dex Eaton , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , J.P. Bailey , Sean McClelland