COMP Cams Speedweek Little Rock results

Crawley Wins Spectacular COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek Finale at I-30 LITLE ROCK, Ark. (June 11, 2005) -- The 13th Annual COMP Cams American Sprint Car Series Speedweek came to a spectacular conclusion at I-30 Speedway Saturday night with Tim...

Crawley Wins Spectacular COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek Finale at I-30

LITLE ROCK, Ark. (June 11, 2005) -- The 13th Annual COMP Cams American Sprint Car Series Speedweek came to a spectacular conclusion at I-30 Speedway Saturday night with Tim Crawley beating Roger Crockett and Gary Wright to the checkered flag in perhaps the most thrilling feature event in ASCS Speedweek history.

While Crawley raced under the flag ahead of Crockett and Wright after a sizzling final ten laps to become the only repeat winner over the course of the seven-event ASCS Speedweek, it was fourth place finisher Darren Stewart capturing the ASCS Speedweek crown by a mere two-point margin over Wright.

"That's called racing your ass off, that's what it is!" Crawley exclaimed to the thunderous crowd in victory lane after scoring his 12th career ASCS Speedweek win and 36th overall O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores triumph. "I'm just glad we can come to our home track here in Little Rock and put on such a good show for you fans, this is incredible."

A night after racing from 17th to victory lane at Texarkana, Crawley found himself gridded eleventh this time with Crockett and Kevin Ramey leading the feature field to the green flag. Crockett outgunned Ramey for the point at the outset and led the first lap with fifth-starter Mike Ward racing into second.

Ward didn't hold second for long however, as he tripped over the turn one cushion on the second lap and tumbled over the embankment. Ward suffered minimal damage and rejoined the chase at the tail.

Crockett led the way on the restart in front of A.G. Rains, Ramey, Toby Brown and seventh-starter Stewart, with Crawley already up to sixth and 12th-starter Wright in eighth. Ramey regained second from Rains on the third round, with Stewart racing past Brown for fourth at the same time.

After a lap six caution for Hunter Schuerenberg's turn two spin, the top four remained Crockett, Ramey, Rains and Stewart, with Crawley moving up to fifth in front of Brown and Wright. Crawley made quick work of Rains and Stewart on the restart to advance to third, with Stewart, Wright and Brown freight training past Rains on the eighth round.

The race's final caution flew with nine laps in the books when Jimmy Taylor came to a halt in turn three. With the stage set for a spirited non-stop 21-lap charge to the checkered flag, Crockett led the way on the restart in front of Ramey, Crawley, Stewart and Wright.

Crockett slipped away to nearly a half straightway advantage over Ramey and Crawley, while Wright disposed of Stewart for fourth on the eleventh circuit. Crawley worked his way past Ramey for second on the 16th round and set his sights on Crockett, who was entering lapped traffic. Two laps later, Wright moved past Ramey for third and eyed an unprecedented sixth ASCS Speedweek title.

Racing through traffic, Crawley closed to Crockett's rear bumper on the 22nd round and was challenging for the point the next time around when he slid off the backstretch exiting turn two and surrendered second to Wright, falling several car-lengths off the lead pace.

Wright reeled in the Oregon hotshoe and raced into the lead exiting turn two on the 26th lap with a ninth ASCS National Tour victory at I-30 Speedway within reach. Crockett had other ideas though, as he dove underneath "The Texan" entering turn three in a daring effort to recapture the lead. As Crockett slid across the track, the pair made contact exiting turn four with Wright momentarily climbing Crockett's right rear tire. While the duo fought to maintain forward progress, Crawley closed the gap and the trio raced under the flag stand in three-wide formation.

With the crowd roaring its approval, Crawley beat the pair into turn one and despite testing the cushion's limits several more times, was able to secure the hard-fought victory by a narrow margin in the Dyno-Tech powered Linn Paper Stock No. 87 Avenger. Wright and Crockett came together once again on the 28th round, with Crockett ultimately edging Wright for the runner-up slot.

Needing to finish within one position of Wright to capture the COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek championship, Stewart got by Ramey for fourth with just five laps to go and gave car owner Bobby Sparks his first ASCS Speedweek title by finishing fourth.

"To win this Speedweek championship after racing with guys like Wright and Crawley every night, it's pretty awesome," Stewart commented after becoming the fifth different COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek champion in as many years. "To win this deal you've got to finish good every night and we were fortunate enough to be able to do that."

Brown rounded out the top five, while Nick Smith made a late move to claim sixth in front of Ramey who settled for seventh at the line. Marshall Skinner finished eighth, with Rains and 19th-starter Foster Landon completing the top ten.

Brown, Crockett, Ramey and Stewart topped heat race action for the 34-car field, with Bryce Vowan winning the 12-lap "B" Main.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Toby Brown, 2. Nick Smith, 3. Mike Ward, 4. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 5. Joe Young, 6. Dex Eaton, 7. Kenny Taylor, 8. Rick Pringle, 9. Arlen Stewart.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Roger Crockett, 2. Josh Howard, 3. Marshall Skinner, 4. Lee Sowell, 5. Gary Wright, 6. Josh Lofton, 7. Jake Martens, 8. Travis Senter, Jr., 9. Cody Gardner.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Kevin Ramey, 2. Dustin Lindquist, 3. Tim Crawley, 4. Bryce Vowan, 5. Jan Howard, 6. Foster Landon, 7. Steven Tiner, 8. Jerry Kamer.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. Darren Stewart, 2. A.G. Rains, 3. Jimmy Taylor, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr., 5. Hunter Schuerenberg, 6. Dale Howard, 7. Dude Garrett, 8. Pete Butler.

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Bryce Vowan, 2. Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. Foster Landon, 4. Joe Young, 5. Steven Tiner, 6. Jake Martens, 7. Travis Senter, Jr., 8. Dude Garrett, 9. Dex Eaton, 10. Pete Butler, 11. Jerry Kamer, 12. Arlen Stewart, 13. Jan Howard, 14. Josh Lofton, 15. Dale Howard, 16. Rick Pringle, 17. Kenny Taylor. DNS: Cody Gardner.

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Tim Crawley, 2. Roger Crockett, 3. Gary Wright, 4. Darren Stewart, 5. Toby Brown, 6. Nick Smith, 7. Kevin Ramey, 8. Marshall Skinner, 9. A.G. Rains, 10. Foster Landon, 11. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 12. Jan Howard, 13. Mike Ward, 14. Bryce Vowan, 15. Dustin Lindquist, 16. Josh Howard, 17. Joe Young, 18. Tony Bruce, Jr., 19. Lee Sowell, 20. Jimmy Taylor, 21. Hunter Schuerenberg.

O'Reilly ASCS National Tour presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Gary Wright 1,958, 2. Darren Stewart 1,936, 3. Jan Howard 1,851, 4. Tony Bruce, Jr. 1,753, 5. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 1,707, 6. Toby Brown 1,679, 7. Jake Martens 1,623, 8. A.G. Rains 1,391, 9. Lee Sowell 1,348, 10. Jimmy Taylor 1,246, 11. Tim Crawley 1,199, 12. Dale Howard 1,127, 13. Roger Crockett 968, 14. (tie) Ricky Stenhouse, Jr. and Steven Tiner 947.

Final 13th Annual COMP Cams ASCS Speedweek Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Darren Stewart 980, 2. Gary Wright 978, 3. Roger Crockett 968, 4. Jan Howard 948, 5. Tim Crawley 917, 6. Tony Bruce, Jr. 878, 7. Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 866, 8. Toby Brown 862, 9. Dale Howard 837, 10. Steven Tiner 747, 11. Lee Sowell 714, 12. Jake Martens 705, 13. Jimmy Taylor 679, 14. Mike Ward 620, 15. A.G. Rains 604.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Nick Smith , Dex Eaton , Hunter Schuerenberg , Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley , Roger Crockett