Central PA/Misc. weekend race summaries 2005-06-12

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/12/04 - Salfordville's Fred Rahmer earned his sixth Lincoln win of 2004 in the 25 lap 410 sprint feature Saturday night. Rahmer passed Brook Weibley on the 18th lap and cruised the rest of the way for his 128th career win at the...

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 6/12/04 - Salfordville's Fred Rahmer earned his sixth Lincoln win of 2004 in the 25 lap 410 sprint feature Saturday night. Rahmer passed Brook Weibley on the 18th lap and cruised the rest of the way for his 128th career win at the Pigeon Hills oval.

"A year makes a big difference," said Rahmer upon exiting his Joe Harz-owned Miller Brothers/Material Handling Systems No.88H in victory lane. "The guys got the car good...Don Ott Engines ran great last year, the J&J Cars haven't changed. I'm running a little bit harder. I'm more confident in the car and we're getting some breaks."

Polesitter Bobby Weaver of Hellam grabbed the lead at the outset over outside frontrow starter Sam Schlosberg and set the pace over the first seven laps before yielding to fourth-starting Weibley on the eighth.

Weibley, who had picked up a big Lincoln win earlier in the year, looked strong once in front. And it appeared luck was on his side too as not once, but twice, just as he was catching lapped traffic, had cars spinning in front of him.

But, Weibley's luck of dodging those potentially race-ending spins, allowed ninth-starting Rahmer to close the gap on the leaders each time as he quickly worked his way through to the front.

After the second caution on the 14th lap Rahmer was in position to go after the front-running Weibley and made his race-winning move on the 18th lap.

"Brook was going real good," said Rahmer on catching and eventually passing the York Spring's racer for the lead. "Bobby Weaver looked like he was operating real good too...I seen the one car spin out up here when I was at the flagstand and I had so much speed running in on the top I thought I was going to be in trouble, but I was able to sneak by."

The race's final caution came out on the 19th lap giving Weibley and a surging Lance Dewease (who started 12th) another shot at the win with six laps to go.

But Rahmer was too strong with a clear track in front of him and raced away from Weibley for his third win in-a-row at the Pigeon Hills oval.

Defending track champion Dewease had to settle for a hard-fought third place finish , with Weaver finishing fourth, and seventh-starting Eric Stambaugh fifth.

Last year it happened to me...but it could happen to anybody," said Rahmer on his winless 2003 season at Lincoln. "We were off and I'm so hard-headed I wouldn't change and it was the wrong way to go...we made a change and it made all the difference in the world."

Completing the top-10 were Greg Hodnett (who started 15th), Brian Leppo (started 3rd), Cris Eash (started 8th), Brian Montieth (started 6th), and Sam Schlosberg.

Bud Witmer picked up his first Lincoln win of 2004, edging out early race leader Daryl Burkholder in a thrilling 20 lap limited late model feature. Witmer chased Burkholder through heavy lapped traffic and was able to drive by on the outside through turns three and four when the leader got stuck behind the slower cars on the inside. Once in front Witmer held on for the impressive win over a huge field of 39 late models.

Three-time thundercar track champ Bobby Beard came on strong to advance from his 11th starting spot to finish third, Mark Billet fourth and Scott McCann fifth.

Westminster Maryland's Doug Devilbiss finally broke through to register his first career thundercar win at the Pigeon Hill's oval in the 20 lap thundercar feature.

Devilbiss took the lead by the end of the first lap after starting third and then held off Mike Zeigler Sr. over the final laps to score the flag-to-flag inaugural win.

Chet McCormick finish third, with Roy Warehime fourth and Mike Zeigler Jr. fifth.



Newville's Mark Smith continued his winning ways at Port Royal Speedway as he picked up his fifth win of the season in Saturday night's 30 lap Pete Swarmer Memorial for the 410 sprints. Smith took the lead from Craig Keel with two laps to go to score the win over the New York racer with Lucas Wolf finishing third, Kevin Nouse fourth and Chad Layton fifth.

Eric Zembower picked up his first win of the year in late model action over Travis Dillman. Jeff Bryner and Steve Campbell tied for third place at the checkered.

Bill Powell picked up his second win in-a-row, and the third of the season in Pro Stock action while Craig Imes picked up the win in Enduro Dash action.


Gary Stuhler moved closer to the track record Saturday night as he scored his second win in the fourth race of the Tri-Track Shootout at Hagerstown Speedway. Stuhler tied Rodney Franklin's leading career late model win mark of 114 with his third win of the season at Hagerstown. Jeremy Miller settled for second with Tom Myers, D. J. Myers and Jason Covert rounding out the top five.

Terry Carlyle of Winchester, VA held off Mike Warrenfeltz for the win in the 15-lap open competition pure stock main event.


After five years of trying, Dillsburg's Ryan Rupp finally picked up his first career super sportsman win in the 25 lap feature at Silver Spring Saturday night. Rupp inherited the lead when race leader Paul Troutman tangled with a slower car and flipped with seven laps to go.

Rupp hung on for the final seven laps for his inaugural win over Brian Boughter and Raymond Myers to become the ninth different winner in 11 races.

Rodney Clouser of Carlisle won his first 20-lap street stock feature of the season and John Stoll Jr. beat Eric Hollenbach by a bumper at the finish line to win the four-cylinder feature.


Nate Snyder of Halifax became the first repeat 358 sprint winner of the season at Selinsgrove Speedway in Saturday night's 25-lap feature. The win over Davie Franek and Jim Nace marked the second of his career at the Snyder County oval and the third overall in 2004.

Jeff Rine of Danville won his fourth late model feature of the season in the 20-lap main event, while Brad Trump of Newport drove to his first-ever win in the 15-lap pro stock main event. Keith Bissinger of Orangeville was the winner of the 12-lap roadrunner race.


Timmy Dietz found his way into victory lane in the 600cc micro-sprint action for his second win of the year over Jimmy Brookens and Bill Gawler.

In 250cc micro-sprint action Nik Gower picked up his first win over Cody Darrah in the 17-lap shortened feature race. The race was shortened from 20 laps to 17 due to time limits.

Bill Laughman picked up the 250cc micro-sprint make-up May 15th feature win earlier in the evening over Wayne Karcher and Michael Schreiber.

In vintage car action, Tom Swanger picked up the win in the modified division and Gary Felty picked up the sportsman division.

In starlite stock action, 14-year-old Kyle Martin picked up his first career win in the six-cylinder division. In the four-cylinder division, Frank Trail Jr. grabbed his first career win as well.

Brian Racine picked up the scramble car win.


Rain forced the postponement of Susquehanna Speedway Park's Thursday night show until Sunday night. And on Friday night the rain forced the cancellation of racing action at all area speedways, including Williams Grove and Trail-Way Speedway.

-bill meyers-

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Lucas Wolfe , Cody Darrah
Teams Williams