Canyon Region Western World Championship finale results

Kruseman Conquers in ASCS Western World Championship Finale! PHOENIX, Ariz. (October 13, 2007) -- Ventura, California's Cory Kruseman added yet another feather to his cap by topping the inaugural Parker Stores ASCS Non-Wing Western...

Kruseman Conquers in ASCS Western World Championship Finale!

PHOENIX, Ariz. (October 13, 2007) -- Ventura, California's Cory Kruseman added yet another feather to his cap by topping the inaugural Parker Stores ASCS Non-Wing Western World Championship in Saturday night's 30-lap feature atop Manzanita Speedway's 0x00bd-mile clay oval, a triumph worth $5,000.

After locking himself into Saturday night's finale with a fourth-place finish in Friday's preliminary event, "The Kruser" outdueled Friday night winner Charles Davis, Jr., to capture the win aboard the Ellis Racing/Star 21 Sportswear No. 21 entry.

Kruseman and Davis battled for the point throughout, with Kruseman working the low side and Davis on top. Kruseman slipped away in the final rounds to take the checkered flag by a few car-lengths to snare his first American Sprint Car Series Canyon Region feature win.

Denied a sixth series win of the year, Davis settled for runner-up honors aboard Jim Massey's Arizona Race Mart No. 50 DRC.

While the lead pair battled all the way, there was plenty of action throughout the pack with Missouri's Jesse Hockett providing his share of fireworks by riding the cushion from the 21st starting slot to snare third in Jim Massey's second entry, the Arizona Race Mart No. 2az DRC.

Racing through the field with Hockett was R.J. Johnson, who used the low line to advance from 15th to fourth in the Weiler Farms No. 15.

After cutting down a tire in the early laps, current ASCS Canyon Region points leader Jeremy Sherman charged from the tail of the field to round out the top five in Fred Bryan's F&E Development No. 77 Maxim.

Casey Shuman snared sixth, with Chad Boat, 20th-starter Bill Rose, Mike Leslie and Mike Martin completing the top ten. Martin raced from the 13th row after utilizing a promoter's option for the main event.

Nathan High, Jerry Coons, Jr., Shuman, Michael Bonneau and Jeremy Reagles topped heat race action, with Seainn Hendricsen, Shuman, Leslie, Johnson and Bret Mellenberndt winning the qualifying races.

Bobby Marcum and Bill Rose topped "B" Main action.

Parker Store ASCS Western World Championship Saturday Results from Manzanita Speedway:

Locked in From Friday's Feature: 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 77-Jeremy Sherman, 97x-Jon Stanbrough, 21-Cory Kruseman.Heats & Qualifiers (Top 14 in Combined Passing Points to "A" Main; Balance to Twin "B" Mains):

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 0-Nathan High, 2. 30T-Jimmy Crawford, 3. 25-Jesse Dunham, 4. 85-Bobby Marcum, 5. 6-Bryan Swinehart, 6. 15-R.J. Johnson, 7. 5h-Dennis Krob, 8. F2-L.C. Kesterson.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 17az-Jerry Coons, Jr., 2. 52-Josh Pelkey, 3. 34-Robert Ballou, 4. 62-Shon Deskins, 5. 2az-Jesse Hockett, 6. 611-Bill Rose, 7. 20L-James Aragon, 8. 48-Thomas Ogle, 9. 16-Mike Martin.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 12b-Casey Shuman, 2. 61-Justin Fisher, 3. 76-Mike Leslie, 4. 26az-Bobby Taylor, 5. 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 6. 51-Rusty Carlile, 7. 5x-Jody Wirth, 8. 27n-Nick Aiuto, 9. 74-Derek Williams.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 29-Michael Bonneau, 2. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 3. 30-Chad Boat, 4. 14-Bernie Smith, 5. 12-Jeff Henry, 6. 611x-Bo Baker, 7. 7x-Adam Wirth, 8. 45-Kevin Wolfe, 9. 7k-Bruce St. James.

Heat Five (8 Laps): 1. 44-Jeremy Reagles, 2. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 3. 33-Rick Ziehl, 4. 7-Chris Beal, 5. 32az-Matt Rossi, 6. 97x-Bret Mellenberndt, 7. 97-Brandon Lane, 8. 71-Scott Pasmore, 9. 55-Tony Everhart.

First Qualifier (8 Laps): 1. 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 2. 52-Josh Pelkey, 3. 33-Rick Ziehl, 4. 34-Robert Ballou, 5. 27n-Nick Aiuto, 6. 14-Bernie Smith, 7. 7-Chris Beal, 8. 97-Brandon Lane. DNS: F2-L.C. Kesterson.

Second Qualifier (8 Laps): 1. 12b-Casey Shuman, 2. 2az-Jesse Hockett, 3. 16-Mike Martin, 4. 44-Jeremy Reagles, 5. 85-Bobby Marcum, 6. 61-Justin Fisher, 7. 5h-Dennis Krob. DNS: 32az-Matt Rossi, 94-Ronnie Clark.

Third Qualifier (8 Laps): 1. 76-Mike Leslie, 2. 12-Jeff Henry, 3. 51-Rusty Carlile, 4. 0-Nathan High, 5. 29-Michael Bonneau, 6. 6-Bryan Swinehart, 7. 20L-James Aragon, 8. 48-Thomas Ogle, 9. 74-Derek Williams.

Fourth Qualifier (8 Laps): 1. 15-R.J. Johnson, 2. 30T-Jimmy Crawford, 3. 30-Chad Boat, 4. 62-Shon Deskins, 5. 611x-Bo Baker, 6. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 7. 5x-Jody Wirth, 8. 45-Kevin Wolfe, 9. 7k-Bruce St. James.

Fifth Qualifier (8 Laps): 1. 97x-Bret Mellenberndt, 2. 611-Bill Rose, 3. 17az-Jerry Coons, Jr., 4. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 5. 26az-Bobby Taylor, 6. 25-Jesse Dunham, 7. 7x-Adam Wirth, 8. 71-Scott Pasmore. DNS: 55-Tony Everhart.

Twin "B" Mains (Top 3 From Each to "A" Main):

First "B" Main (12 Laps): 1. 85-Bobby Marcum, 2. 2az-Jesse Hockett, 3. 97x-Bret Mellenberndt, 4. 16-Mike Martin, 5. 26az-Bobby Taylor, 6. 27n-Nick Aiuto, 7. 29-Michael Bonneau, 8. 611x-Bo Baker, 9. 51-Rusty Carlile, 10. 97-Brandon Lane, 11. 20L-James Aragon, 12. 45-Kevin Wolfe, 13. 7x-Adam Wirth, 14. F2-L.C. Kesterson, 15. 7k-Bruce St. James. DNS: 94-Ronnie Clark.

Second "B" Main (12 Laps): 1. 611-Bill Rose, 2. 14-Bernie Smith, 3. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 4. 6-Bryan Swinehart, 5. 62-Shon Deskins, 6. 25-Jesse Dunham, 7. 48-Thomas Ogle, 8. 74-Derek Williams, 9. 7-Chris Beal, 10. 5h-Dennis Krob, 11. 71-Scott Pasmore, 12. 5x-Jody Wirth, 13. 61-Justin Fisher. DNS: 32az-Matt Rossi, 55-Tony Everhart.

Parker Store ASCS Western World Championship "A" Main Event:

"A" Feature (30 Laps): 1. 21-Cory Kruseman, 2. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 3. 2az-Jesse Hockett, 4. 15-R.J. Johnson, 5. 77-Jeremy Sherman, 6. 12b-Casey Shuman, 7. 30-Chad Boat, 8. 611-Bill Rose, 9. 76-Mike Leslie, 10. 16-Mike Martin, 11. 0-Nathan High, 12. 33-Rick Ziehl, 13. 52-Josh Pelkey, 14. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 15. 85-Bobby Marcum, 16. 12-Jeff Henry, 17. 6-Bryan Swinehart, 18. 30T-Jimmy Crawford, 19. 14-Bernie Smith, 20. 11-Seainn Hendricsen, 21. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 22. 17az-Jerry Coons, Jr. 23. 97az-Jon Stanbrough, 24. 97x-Bret Mellenberndt, 25. 44-Jeremy Reagles, 26. 34-Robert Ballou (DNS).

Note: Mike Martin and Bryan Swinehart were awarded promoter's options to start the main event.

ASCS Canyon Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Jeremy Sherman 2,587, 2. Charles Davis, Jr. 2,446, 3. Mike Leslie 2,350, 4. Bob Ream, Jr., 2,336, 5. Josh Pelkey 2,292, 6. Seainn Hendricsen 2,173, 7. Shon Deskins 2,161, 8. Bernie Smith 2,155, 9. Andrew Reinbold 2,117, 10. Mike Martin 2,090.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Cory Kruseman , Shon Deskins , Rick Ziehl , Mike Martin , Brandon Lane , Ronnie Clark , Bruce St. James , Jerry Coons , Jon Stanbrough , Mike Leslie , Jesse Hockett , Bill Rose , Chad Boat , R.J. Johnson , Josh Pelkey , Casey Shuman
Teams Williams