Bloomington Speedway Sprint Week Preview/Points Update

BLOOMINGTON, IN (July 19, 1999) - For more than a decade, Bloomington Speedway has been a cornerstone in the building of Indiana Sprint Week. On Friday, July 23, Bloomington will host its twelfth Sprint Week feature race, featuring the USAC ...

BLOOMINGTON, IN (July 19, 1999) - For more than a decade, Bloomington Speedway has been a cornerstone in the building of Indiana Sprint Week. On Friday, July 23, Bloomington will host its twelfth Sprint Week feature race, featuring the USAC Stoops Freightliner sprint cars, a record only shared with Kokomo Speedway.

Racers will be competing for $4,000-to-win each night of the 1999 Pennzoil Indiana Sprint Week series. The series will pay an additional $5,000 to the winner of the Sprint Week title as part of the $16,000 point purse.

Just seven days before Sprint Week brings one of the largest groups of sprint cars of the season, Bloomington's defending Pennzoil Cup champion notched his best race of the year. After several weeks sorting out car and motor difficulties, Derek Scheffel and their family based team found their fastest combination and dominated last Friday's feature event. In doing so, he extended his point lead over Kenny Carmichael to a dozen marks. Justin Marvel has closed quickly on Eric Burns, but Burns will be back in the BWB sprinter for Sprint Week. While Lennie Waltz continues to consistently rack up points, Jason Knoke, Jonathan Vennard and Levi Jones, three young guns, are in a head-to-head shootout for sixth.

The drivers entered for the USAC Pennzoil Indiana Sprint Week race at Bloomington Speedway include USAC's Stoops Freightliner championship contenders Dave Darland, Tracy Hines, Tony Elliott, Eric Gordon and Jack Hewitt. Bloomington track champions entered are Derek Scheffel, Kevin Thomas, Brad Fox and Kevin Briscoe. J.J. Yeley joins Darland and Thomas as past Sprint Week champions on the entry list. Cory Kruseman, who is leading the Non-Wing World Championship, has entered. Jimmy Sills, Jeremy Sherman, Jerry Coons Jr., Billy Puterbaugh, Kevin Doty, Steve Surniak, Eric Burns, Todd Kane, James Mills, Justin Marvel, Doug Williams, Kenny Carmichael, Ande Possman, Richard Ott, Brian Hayden, Bobby Smith, Jason Robbins, Al Thomas, Hud Cone, Rusty McClure, Terry Pletch, Andy Hurtubise, Gregg Dillion, Dean Franklin, Kevin Miller, Tim Cox, Nick Adams, Dave Peperak and Roger Chaudion are also entered.

Last summer, Bloomington's Indiana Sprint Week round was claimed by Tony Elliott, who was enjoying a spectacular season that culminated with the USAC Stoops Freightliner sprint car title. In '97, it was Brad Fox who claimed the Sprint Week feature. Kevin Thomas has won two ('95, '96) of his five Sprint Week features at Bloomington. Kelly Kinser has a pair ('88, '94) of Bloomington wins during Sprint Week. Bob Kinser ('92), Chuck Amati ('89), Kevin Briscoe ('90), Danny Smith ('91) and Cary Faas ('93) have also earned Sprint Week feature wins at Bloomington.

Bloomington's Sprint Week main event pays tribute to one of the busiest people in racing with the seventh annual "Larry Rice Classic". During his racing career, Rice earned USAC championships in both champ dirt cars and midgets, and was elected to the AAA/USAC Midget Hall of Fame. He has built multiple careers outside the cockpit, one as an executive in the insurance industry, specializing in racing insurance. Rice has also become one of the most visible color commentators in racing, primarily as co-host of ESPN's Thunder series racing telecasts, but also on many other motorsports related television shows.

The Indiana Sprint Week program at Bloomington will include UMP Modifieds racing for $500-to-win. General admission is $20, and kids 12 and under are admitted free with a paying adult. There is no advance ticket sales or reserved seating. Pit admission is $25. Grandstand gates will open at 5:30, with hot laps and qualifying at 6:30 and racing beginning at 7:45.

This summer's Pennzoil Indiana Sprint Week opening and closing events will be televised live on ESPN2. The complete Sprint Week schedule is:

July 21 - Terre Haute Action Track (ESPN2)

July 22 - Lawrenceburg Speedway

July 23 - Bloomington Speedway

July 24 - Lincoln Park Speedway, Putnamville

July 25 -Evans Kokomo Speedway, Kokomo

July 28 - Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, Ohio (ESPN2)

Bloomington Speedway Points

(Through July 16)

Pennzoil Cup Sprint Cars: 1. Derek Scheffel 476, 2. Kenny Carmichael 464, 3. Eric Burns 407, 4. Justin Marvel 406, 5. Lennie Waltz 352, 6. Jason Knoke 334, 7. Jonathan Vennard 333, 8. Levi Jones 331, 9. Pete Abel 307, 10. Dave Peperak 298

UMP Modifieds: 1. Matt Tiller 456, 2. Jack Taylor 445, 3. Ray Humphrey 435, 4. Richie Lex 434, 5. Levi Ray Godsey 403, 6., Brian Campbell 386, 7. Charlie Phillips 357, 8. John DeMoss 356, 9. Kerry Norris 348, 10. Gary Trammell 329

(Please note that these are Bloomington Speedway's track points and not UMP series points.)

Indiana Street Stocks: 1. Lee Hobbs 525, 2. Jerry Hepworth 472, 3. Cory Brown 450, 4. Perry Bruce 434, 5. Steve Hunt 418, 6. Greg O'Neill 417, 7. Steve Hollars 416, 8. Roy Bruce Jr. 409, 9. Gerald Todd 408, 10. Steve Hawkins & Don Bush Jr. 395 (tie)

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Dave Darland , J.J. Yeley , Tracy Hines , Tony Elliott , Bruce Perry , Cory Kruseman , Jonathan Vennard , Eric Gordon , Levi Jones , Nick Adams , Jimmy Sills , Dean Franklin , Kenny Carmichael , Hud Cone , Jerry Coons Jr.
Teams Williams