Bloomington race summary 2002-08-09

Thomas ends Bloomington Speedway drought Greg Kendall & John Demoss also score. BLOOMINGTON, IN (August 9, 2002) - Tonight was nearly perfect for sitting on a hillside watching a bunch of the greatest racers anywhere test each other on the...

Thomas ends Bloomington Speedway drought Greg Kendall & John Demoss also score.

BLOOMINGTON, IN (August 9, 2002) - Tonight was nearly perfect for sitting on a hillside watching a bunch of the greatest racers anywhere test each other on the famous red clay of Bloomington Speedway. The brothers of the South Central Building and Construction Trades Council must have thought so too; because they turned out in huge numbers to cheer on their favorite drivers and just visit with their friends. None of them went home disappointed.

Preparing the track for the competition that our fans and competitors deserve requires Mike Miles to go the extra mile this week. During the past couple of days, Mike Miles poured 120,000 gallons of water on his famous red clay. How would you like to pay that water bill?. All of that watering is neither inexpensive nor fun; but that's what it takes for Mike to get the track ready for competition. So, he does it. Mike even added more water during the course of the evening - something he almost never does; but, again, conditions this week demanded it.

Non Winged Sprint Cars:

Kevin Thomas' last non winged sprint car feature win at Bloomington Speedway came on May 4, 2001. Now, that's a long dry spell for a driver of the caliber of Kevin Thomas. Thomas was 9th quick in qualifications. When he returned from his qualification run, he climbed out of his Rodney Reynolds owned sprinter and checked the air pressure in his right rear tire. The savvy Thomas obviously had an idea about what the car needed; and he was confirming it. His diagnosis was obviously on target; because, when he next pulled on to the track, he turned in another strong performance to win his heat race.

When the cars lined up for the feature event, Thomas was ninth on the grid; but he had confidence that the car was capable of finding victory lane. When the cars passed under the green flag to complete the first lap, Thomas had gained three spots. On the seventh circuit, Thomas moved into third position; and, by this time, two time Bloomington Speedway track champion and current points leader, Derek Scheffel, had taken the lead. Brad Marvel had found second place. Scheffel, Marvel, and Thomas battled in a cluster with Thomas getting past Marvel for second on the 14th lap. The following lap he passed Scheffel to take the lead.

Thomas held the lead in his customary position firmly glued to the huggy pole; while Derek Scheffel rode the rim. The two red cars would switch positions several times; but Thomas seemed to be a nose ahead as the cars passed under the flagstand. On the 22nd circuit, Brad Marvel spun and brought out the race's first yellow flag. On the restart, Thomas went to the top with Scheffel right with him; however, Scheffel had a bigger problem than getting by Thomas. A.J. Fike was beating on him in an attempt to root Derek out of second. This effort ended when Fike pulled along side of Scheffel and pushed him over the edge of the track in turn two. By the time Scheffel made it back onto the racing surface he had lost several spots; and Thomas had a clear run to the checkered flags.

From victory lane, Thomas was exuberant. He said, "We had the car perfect tonight. Anybody could have won in it tonight. I'd like to thank all of the fans and Bloomington Speedway for their loyalty to non winged sprint car racing."

Brian Hayden came home third trailed by Jerry Coons, Jr., Mike Hunnicutt, Rick Hayden, Brad Fox, Derek Scheffel, Danny Holtsclaw, Tim Spindler, and Kenny Carmichael.

In preliminary action, Brad Fox had quick time while Tim Spindler, Brian Hayden, and Kevin Thomas won the heat races. Brad Marvel led the "B" feature flag to flag.

Rookie Mike Hunnicutt turned in his best performance of the year coming from his fifteenth place starting position to finish fourth.

O'Neal Wood Product Modifieds:

John DeMoss turned in a superb performance as he led the O'Neal Wood Products modified feature flag to flag after winning his heat and the dash. The win was his second of the season. DeMoss was trailed to the checkered flags by Lee Hobbs, Matt Boknecht, Richie Lex, Ray Humphrey, Billy Peeden, Matt Tiller, Winston Howe, Steve Ferguson, and Tom Ault.

The fireworks started on the first lap when Brady Short spun when he tangled with Andrew Davis. Although Davis kept moving he was sent join Short at the tail for rough driving. Jack Taylor was having one of his best runs yet in the feature event. After starting eighth, he had driven to second place when he tangled with another car on the front stretch. He got turned sideways and drove head on into the front stretch wall.

Hard charger honors go to Ray Humphrey. He had trouble in his heat race; and had to run the "B". He came from tenth to win the "B" Feature; and he came from 17th to finish fifth in the feature.

In preliminary action, John DeMoss, Andrew Davis, J.P. Karpowicz, and Brady Short won the heat races while Ray Humprey and Rick Gumm took the two "B" Features.. John DeMoss won the dash.

Tire & Wheel Center Super Stocks:

Greg Kendall continued his drive for the Tire & Wheel Center super stock championship. He won his heat, the dash and the feature flag to flag. While Kendall doesn't have the championship locked up, with only three more points races left for the super stocks, it would take a heroic effort on the part of one of other competitors and an amazing run of bad luck for Kendall for him to fail to win his first Tire and Wheel Center super stock championship.

While Kendall was never seriously challenged for the lead, there was plenty of side-by-side racing back in the Pack. Trend Niflis and Lee Hobbs battled the entire last half of the race for second place. Hobbs finally prevailed by taking second away from Niflis on the 16th lap. With only three laps to go, Danny Harris moved past Niflis to take third. Niflis had to settle for fourth trailed by Ben DuBois, Jack Frye, Brian Campbell, Chris Deweese, Zach Carney, and Terry Arthur.

In preliminary action, Greg Kendall, Tom Plotz, Terry Arther, and Trent Niflis won the heat races while Mike Jones won the "B" Feature.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Andrew Davis , A.J. Fike , Jerry Coons , Rick Hayden , Kenny Carmichael , Brady Short