Bloomington Points and All Star Preview

HUMPHREY MOVES BOLDLY UP STANDINGS ALL STARS SERIES HEADED FOR BLOOMINGTON BLOOMINGTON, IN (July 27, 1999) - With his third UMP Modified main event victory of 1999 last Friday, Bloomington's Ray Humphrey jumped to second place in the point ...


BLOOMINGTON, IN (July 27, 1999) - With his third UMP Modified main event victory of 1999 last Friday, Bloomington's Ray Humphrey jumped to second place in the point standings. With just four UMP Modified events left in the season, and coming up on the Brickyard Break, Humphrey narrowed the gap to four points behind Matt Tiller, the defending champion of the division. While Humphrey has demonstrated tenacity and aggressiveness in addition to blazing speed, he had the benefit of starting on the front row in last Friday's race, and left Gary Trammell, and everyone else, chasing his spoiler. Tiller's hard luck continued as he only managed a 15th place finish, losing 21 points to Humphrey. Bloomington's John DeMoss and Gary Trammell are also climbing in the points, from 9th to 6th this week with a fourth place finish for DeMoss, and Trammell up to a tie for eighth with his runner-up finish.

With an impressive seventh place finish in the USAC Pennzoil Indiana Sprint Week feature at Bloomington last Friday, Brazil's Kenny Carmichael hoped to gain on Pennzoil Cup point leader Derek Scheffel. The defending champion was holding his own in the top five when he caught an infield marker tire in turn two while avoiding another sprinter, skidded sideways and up on one wheel before saving the car from flipping down the backstretch. But his detour through the infield and ricochet off the tires around the light pole took him out of the race in 19th place. Yet, in Bloomington Pennzoil Cup points, Scheffel's third fastest qualifying run (out of 57 cars) made up the difference in the finish, and he added three more points to his lead over Carmichael. Pittsboro's Chris LaFollette's second place, behind Cory Kruseman, rocketed him back into the Pennzoil Cup top ten, he's now seventh.

The All Star Circuit of Champions touring series returns to the fast track on Friday, for Franklin Power Products Night at Bloomington Speedway. They will be led by Brownsburg, Indiana's Joey Saldana, the fastest driver to ever tour Bloomington, and the track record holder with a lap at 9.388 seconds (95.87 mph). Saldana and the Mox Motorsports car has been red hot this summer, recently claiming Ohio Speedweeks with two victories. The second-generation driver has earned an additional win in Michigan, since the Speedweeks.

The All Stars race, originally scheduled for June 4, was washed out after qualifying and heat races. The July 30 event will be a complete new program.

This is the first time the All Stars have competed at Bloomington since 1994. The All Stars bring a strong lineup of racers in addition to Saldana, including the Jacobs brothers, Kenny and Dean. Kenny, who is in his first season with his own team continues to run comfortably at the top of the All Stars points. Hometrack vets Kelly Kinser, Randy Kinser and Kevin Briscoe will be on hand to keep the out-of-state racers honest. The $5,000-to-win event is likely to also attract a competitive field of top sprint car drivers like Danville's Danny Smith, and Ohio's Frankie Kerr. All Star regular Brian Carlson, from Linden, also makes his return to Bloomington. And Pennzoil Cup regulars Derek Scheffel, Kenny Carmichael, Eric Burns and Dick Gaines will have wings on their haulers when they tow in for the night of racing.

Bloomington's UMP modifieds and Indiana Street Stocks will also be in competition. Their purses pay $500 to win in 25 lap feature events. General admission is $20. Youths ages 12 and under are admitted free with an adult. Pit admission is $25. The pit gate opens at 4:30, grandstand gates at 5:30, hot laps and sprint car qualifications start at 6:30, with racing beginning at 7:45.

Bloomington Speedway Points (Through July 23)

Pennzoil Cup Sprint Cars: 1. Derek Scheffel 499, 2. Kenny Carmichael 484, 3. Justin Marvel 409, 4. Eric Burns 408, 5. Lennie Waltz 354, 6. Levi Jones 332, 7. Chris LaFollette 330, 8. Jason Knoke 304, 9. Jonathan Vennard 303, 10. Troy Link 285

UMP Modifieds: 1. Matt Tiller 468, 2. Ray Humphrey 464, 3. Jack Taylor 458, 4. Richie Lex 447, 5. Levi Ray Godsey 420, 6. John DeMoss 379, 7. Charlie Phillips 363, 8. Brian Campbell and Gary Trammell 356 (tie), 10. Kerry Norris

Indiana Street Stocks: 1. Lee Hobbs 495, 2. Jerry Hepworth 442, 3. Cory Brown 420, 4. Steve Hunt 418, 5. Greg O'Neill 417, 6. Perry Bruce 404, 7. Steve Hollars 386, 8. Roy Bruce Jr. 379, 9. Gerald Todd 378, 10. Mel Bigham 369

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Bruce Perry , Jonathan Vennard , Levi Jones , Brian Carlson , Joey Saldana , Kenny Carmichael