Batesville race report

Shane Stewart Storms to O'Reilly ASCS Victory Lane at Batesville BATESVILLE, Ark. (September 5, 2003) - When Darren Stewart poked his nose underneath race long leader Shane Stewart on the 18th round, Shane responded by moving to the low side and...

Shane Stewart Storms to O'Reilly ASCS Victory Lane at Batesville

BATESVILLE, Ark. (September 5, 2003) - When Darren Stewart poked his nose underneath race long leader Shane Stewart on the 18th round, Shane responded by moving to the low side and checking out on the field over the final rounds en route to winning Friday night's 25-lap O'Reilly American Sprint Car Series National Tour feature presented by Love's Travel Stops & Country Stores and United Trailers at Batesville Speedway.

"I knew I was probably gonna have to go to the bottom eventually, but I was kind of hesitant to do it as long as we were ahead. When I saw Darren underneath me though, I knew it was time to get down there and the car worked great," commented Stewart following his fifth O'Reilly ASCS National Tour triumph of the season.

After they both won their heat races, the Stewart siblings led the feature field to the green flag with Shane on the pole and Darren to his outside. The initial attempt to start the race was waved off when Rick Behr tagged the wall entering turn one and flipped wildly. Behr escaped the hard ride uninjured.

On the restart, the Stewarts battled wheel-to-wheel into turn one, with Shane gaining the advantage as the field raced off turn two. Only one lap was in the books when fourth-running Jan Howard spun his machine in turn four, bringing out the caution.

Shane Stewart led the way on the restart in front of Darren Stewart, Dale Howard and Jason Martin, as Gary Wright quickly moved up from his ninth starting slot. Wright had raced into fourth by the eighth round when he and Dale Howard tangled in turn two, bringing out the caution. Wright and Howard were both done for the night, while nose wing damage for Martin, who was nearly collected in the incident, would eventually send Martin to the tail when then wing flew off the car after eleven rounds.

Shane Stewart continued to lead the way as action resumed, holding a four car-length lead over Darren Stewart as the laps wound down. As the leaders approached lapped traffic, Darren closed the gap and ducked underneath Shane to challenge for the lead in turns one and two on the 18th round.

Shane quickly moved to the low side, sliced through several lapped machines and charged to the checkered flag with nearly a straightway advantage in the Wesmar-powered Visit Australia "Down & Dirty Down Under Tour" Maxim.

After starting twelfth, Zach Chappell took over fourth following the Wright-Howard tangle on the eighth round, slipped past Martin a lap later, then passed Darren Stewart for the runner-up slot on the 22nd circuit. Travis Rilat completed his Hard Charger of the race effort by snaring the show position on the white flag lap after starting 17th.

Lewis Jenkins, Jr., edged Darren Stewart at the line for fourth, as Stewart sputtered across the finish line with fuel pickup problems to round out the top five. Toby Brown claimed sixth, with Aaron Berryhill, Jan Howard, A.G. Rains and 18th-starter Garry Bell completing the top ten.

Dale Howard, Shane Stewart and Darren Stewart topped heat race action, with Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., winning the 10-lap B Main. Brian Bell returned from a flip in the second heat race to compete in the B Feature.


First Heat (8 Laps): 1. Dale Howard, 2. Rick Behr, 3. Gary Wright, 4. Zach Chappell, 5. Cody Branchcomb, 6. Garry Bell, 7. Stephen Chevallier, 8. Jimmy Taylor.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Lewis Jenkins, Jr., 3. Toby Brown, 4. Aaron Berryhill, 5. A.G. Rains, 6. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 7. Brian Bell, 8. Tony Higgins.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. Darren Stewart, 2. Jason Martin, 3. Jan Howard, 4. Mike Trent, 5. Justin Sturch, 6. Bryce Vowan, 7. Josh Howard, 8. Travis Rilat.

B Feature (10 Laps): 1. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 2. Justin Sturch, 3. Travis Rilat, 4. Garry Bell, 5. Josh Howard, 6. Stephen Chevallier, 7. Bryce Vowan, 8. Brian Bell, 9. Tony Higgins. DNS: Jimmy Taylor.

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. Shane Stewart, 2. Zach Chappell, 3. Travis Rilat, 4. Lewis Jenkins, Jr., 5. Darren Stewart, 6. Toby Brown, 7. Aaron Berryhill, 8. Jan Howard, 9. A.G. Rains, 10. Garry Bell, 11. Ricky Stenhouse, Jr., 12. Cody Branchcomb, 13. Jason Martin, 14. Josh Howard, 15. Stephen Chevallier, 16. Justin Sturch, 17. Mike Trent, 18. Dale Howard, 19. Gary Wright, 20. Jimmy Taylor, 21. Rick Behr.

O'Reilly ASCS Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Travis Rilat 4,754, 2. Zach Chappell 4,730, 3. Gary Wright 4,708, 4. Darren Stewart 4,696, 5. Cody Branchcomb 4,436, 6. Toby Brown 4,289, 7. Shane Stewart 2,362, 8. Jimmy Taylor 2,279, 9. Rick Behr 2,241, 10. Tim Crawley 1,982, 11. Kevin Ramey 1,768, 12. Nick Smith 1,656, 13. Matt Clevenger 1,642, 14. A.G. Rains 1,503, 15. Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 1,471.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Aaron Berryhill , Cody Branchcomb , Shane Stewart , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Kevin Ramey , Tim Crawley