Auto Tire & Parts Racepark report 2002-08-18

Crowd pleasing pass puts Ward in victory lane, Baker notches first After trailing the 12x machine of Robbie Standridge for the first 10 laps of the KFVS 12 Winged Sprint car feature, Mike Ward made an bonsai maneuver on the Standridge machine in...

Crowd pleasing pass puts Ward in victory lane, Baker notches first

After trailing the 12x machine of Robbie Standridge for the first 10 laps of the KFVS 12 Winged Sprint car feature, Mike Ward made an bonsai maneuver on the Standridge machine in the first turn on a restart after a caution flag period to take the lead.

The pass put Ward out in front of Standridge, Jimmy Kite and Steve Short. Ward quickly moved out to a large advantage utilizing the high groove working through several lap cars to extend the Memphis racer lead.

The final caution of the event on lap 22 bunched the leaders up but two lapped machine were between the Ward and Standridge cars benefiting Ward's lead.

The 88 car of Ward held onto the final three laps to earn his second feature win on the year with Standridge finishing second and Kite in third.

Steve Short, Jason Evans and Todd Rowland put on an exciting contest for the next three positions for most of the race with the three ending the race in that order.

After enduring four caution flag periods and several late race challenges from Chris Hall and Danny Sissom, Terry Baker was able to hold off the pair to earn his first career Miller Lite Open-Wheel Modified feature win.

Baker shared the front row with Hall with Pat Davidson and Sissom starting behind them in the second row. Baker jumped out to the lead at the drop of the green flag and used the high side to keep distance on the Hall, Sissom and Davidson behind him.

Leading the next 11 laps the caution flag flew on the 11th lap for a three car pileup in turn three. The end result was Baker losing his healthy lead and a three car mad fight for the win. Hall, Sissom and Baker challenged each other on what could have been the best race of the season with Sissom using the bottom grove, Hall maintaining a mid to high groove and Baker settling up on the high side against the wall. The trio made a three-wide exit on the final turn of the 20 lap event with Baker edging Hall and Sissom for the win.

Leo Kiefer moved from his eighth starting position to finish fourth with Jackson High School student Matt James finishing fifth.

Patrick Naeger looked to be on his way to his first pure street feature win on the year when tragedy struck the Perryville driver. After starting from the pole position Naeger led the first eight laps dominating the event with Jeff Beeson and Matt Naeger chasing the leader.

On the eighth circuit, after suffering from apparent tire problems for several laps, the right rear tire came loose on Naeger's car while entering turn one. The result was Naeger barrel rolling several times in the center of the corner coming to a halt on the roof with the 79 car of Derek Despain also involved. Naeger and Despain were both uninjured.

Doug Neuhalfen then inherited the lead after the second place car of Beeson suffered a flat tire and had to leave the track for repairs. Neuhalfen led the final seven laps of the event moving out to a comfortable lead with rookie Jason Mueller passing Danny Hampton for second on the 14th lap. Hampton would fall back to sixth, Beeson battled back to third with Deakon Bragg finishing fourth and Matt Naeger rounded out the top-five.

The Motorsports Unlimited Cruiser feature took an interesting turn of events after the 9k cruiser car of Steve Bailey and Alan Bailey was disqualified after the finish of the 10-lap event. The team of Josh Southard and Shawn Koening inherited the win after the leader was removed from the first place position.

Southard and Koening led the first five laps before being passed on the sixth were the fell into the second position and maintained the spot throughout the race. Paul VanPool and Brian Hahs moved up to second and Wayne Bartels and Jeff Trankler slid up one position to third. Rodney Hurst and Edert Bowen ended the night in fourth with Dana Rowland and Joan Mayberry completing the top-five positions.

KFVS 12 Winged Sprints

1. Mike Ward (88) Memphis, Tenn. 2. Robbie Standridge (12x) Springfield, Ill. 3. Jimmy Kite (12) Stockton, Ga. 4. Steve Short (8) Farmington, Mo. 5. Jason Evans (88) Sikeston, Mo. 6. Todd Rowland (14r) Jackson, Mo. 7. Chad Sauders (12s) Metropolis, Ill. 8. Jimmy Brewer (32) Sikeston, Mo. 9. Kevin Steptor (1c) Metropolis, Ill. 10. Andy Holden (3) Dudley, Mo.

Miller Lite Modifieds

1. Terry Baker (10) Scott City, Mo. 2. Chris Hall (66) Sikeston, Mo. 3. Danny Sissom (95) Cape Girardeau, Mo. 4. Leo Kiefer (62K) Perryville, Mo. 5. Matt James (16) Jackson, Mo. 6. Pat Davidson (51) Jackson, Mo. 7. Karl Adams (21) Perryville, Mo. 8. Ben Gerdes (12c) Marble Hill, Mo. 9. Jonathon Hall (69) Blodgett, Mo. 10. Darrick Bruce (6) Morley, Mo.

Pure Street

1. Doug Neuhalfen (r38) Perryville, Mo. 2. Jason Mueller (72) Perryville, Mo. 3. Jeff Beeson (4) Benton, Mo. 4. Deakon Bragg (22) Cape Girardeau, Mo. 5. Matt Naeger (6) Perryville, Mo. 6. Danny Hampton (84) Morley, Mo. 7. Derek Despain (79) Millersville, Mo. 8. Patrick Naeger (29) Perryville, Mo.

Motorsports Unlimited Cruisers

1. Southard/Koenig (9) Jackson, Mo. 2. VanPool/Hahs (111) Benton, Mo. 3. Bartels/Trankler (30) Cape Girardeau, Mo. 4. Hurst/Bowen (77) Millersville, Mo. 5. Rowland/Mayberry (110) Jackson, Mo. 6. Scheffer/Scheffer (184) Dutchtown, Mo. 7. Kuehe/Kohler (777) Hideaway Hills, Oh. 8. Redden/Calder (74) Clarkton, Mo. 9. Swift/Hazelwood (88jr) Cape Girardeau, Mo. 10. Gaurdian/Hancock (5) Jonesboro, Ill.

- AT&PR -

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint , Stock car
Drivers Chris Hall , Jimmy Kite