ASCS2: Creek County summary 2007-04-29

Frey, Felker & Mullens are ASCS2 Winners at Creek County SAPULPA, Okla. (April 29, 2007) -- Montie Frey, Jr., Denny Felker and Tanner Mullens each graced victory lane as the American Small Car Series (ASCS2) opened up with the first of five ...

Frey, Felker & Mullens are ASCS2 Winners at Creek County

SAPULPA, Okla. (April 29, 2007) -- Montie Frey, Jr., Denny Felker and Tanner Mullens each graced victory lane as the American Small Car Series (ASCS2) opened up with the first of five scheduled Sunday night Micro Sprint racing events atop Creek County Speedway's 0x00bc-mile clay oval.

Frey battled into the lead shortly after Scott Sawyer flipped out of the lead 14 laps into the 25-lap 600cc Multi headliner, Felker made a white-flag lap move around Jerrod Wilson to snare victory honors in the 20-lap Non-Wing feature and Mullens wired the field in the 20-lap Restricted "A" Class main event.

In the Multi feature, Jeremy Scott gunned into the early lead from the pole position. But it was Sawyer taking command on the second lap after starting third. Sawyer set the pace in front of Scott and Frey until tangling with a lapped car entering turn three on the 15th round and getting turned over.

Scott assumed the lead on the restart but held the points for just two rounds before Frey charged by. Chris Berreth followed suit and tried to mount a challenge on Frey for the lead, but to no avail. Frey flashed underneath the checkered flag, with Zach Alley making a last-corner pass of Berreth for second. Berreth settled for third, with Jonathan Halford and Billy Lawhead rounding out the top five.

In the Non-Wing feature, polesitter Wilson shot into the early lead with fourth-starter Felker giving chase as the lead duo distanced themselves from the rest of the pack. Felker tried to mount a challenge eight laps into the feature, but Wilson successfully fought off the bid and began to slip away.

Felker closed back in on Wilson's tailtank when the caution flew after 14 laps for a turn four spin by third-runner Trey Marcham. Felker challenged on the low side on the restart, but Wilson was once again up to the task.

Felker got one more chance when the race's final caution set up a four-lap dash to the checkered flag. The pair diced for the lead for a pair of laps before Wilson moved to the low side. Felker took quick advantage by taking to the cushion and charging into the lead exiting turn four with the white flag in sight.

The Joplin, Missouri racer held strong over the final lap to take the win in front of Wilson, Joel Smith, Kiefer Stelzner and Harlan Hulsey.

After topping both his heat race and the Pole Dash, Kansas racer Mullens completed the night's only clean sweep with a wire-to-wire triumph in the Restricted "A" Class feature event. Starting from the pole, Mullens outgunned fellow front row starter Blake Hahn for the lead at the drop of the green and cruised the distance virtually unchallenged.

After weathering a lap 14 red flag, Mullens was chased to the stripe by Ronnie Allen, who made a last-lap pass of Kyler Ray for runner-up honors. Ray took the show position, with Hahn and Karley Dobson rounding out the top five.

Sixty-six entries filled the Creek County Speedway pit area on Sunday night, with the night's final checkered flag falling at 9:40 p.m.

The ASCS2 Micro Sprints will return to Creek County on Sunday night, June 2, with ensuing events on July 1, August 5 and September 2.

ASCS2 Results from Creek County Speedway:


Heat One (6 Laps): 1. 67s-Jeremy Scott, 2. 79-Ryan Duke, 3. 14-Harley Hollan, 4. 95-Matt Covington, 5. 2-Riley Adair, 6. 91-Tay Milton, 7. 17T-Billy Tobey.

Heat Two (6 Laps): 1. 29-Scott Sawyer, 2. 92-Jake Rosario, 3. 28-Zach Alley, 4. 83-Jonathan Halford, 5. 22-Curtis Jones, 6. 17s-Antony Smith, 7. 29R-Isaac Rosario.

Heat Three (6 Laps): 1. 12-Montie Frey, Jr., 2. 59-Billy Lawhead, 3. 16-Chris Berreth, 4. 17-Zach Millikin, 5. 25-Bobby Springer, 6. 4-Kirby Bedford. DNS: 11a-Andrew Felker.

Pole Dash (4 Laps): 1. 67s-Jeremy Scott, 2. 59-Billy Lawhead, 3. 29-Scott Sawyer, 4. 12-Montie Frey, Jr., 5. 79-Ryan Duke, 6. 92-Jake Rosario.

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 12-Montie Frey, Jr., 2. 28-Zach Alley, 3. 16-Chris Berreth, 4. 83-Jonathan Halford, 5. 59-Billy Lawhead, 6. 92-Jake Rosario, 7. 79-Ryan Duke, 8. 14-Harley Hollan, 9. 95-Matt Covington, 10. 22-Curtis Jones, 11. 17T-Billy Tobey, 12. 17-Zach Millikin, 13. 25s-Bobby Springer, 14. 17s-Antony Smith, 15. 91-Tay Milton, 16. 67s-Jeremy Scott, 17. 29-Scott Sawyer, 18. 2-Riley Adair.JDNS: 4-Kirby Bedford, 29R-Isaac Rosario, 11a-Andrew Felker.

Lap Leaders: Jeremy Scott 1, Scott Sawyer, 2-14, Jeremy Scott 15-16, Montie Frey, Jr. 17-25.


Heat One (6 Laps): 1. 66-Dalton Cole, 2. 49-Joel Smith, 3. 21-Christopher Bell, 4. 82-Steven Shebester, 5. 60-Earl McDoulett, Jr., 6. 43-David McDuffee, 7. 12-Brent Bates, 8. 83-Jim Woods, Jr. DNS: 14-Harley Hollan.

Heat Two (6 Laps): 1. 32-Trey Marcham, 2. 64-Denny Felker, 3. 22-Scott Duggan, 4. 49k-Kiefer Stelzner, 5. 96-Randy Crowder, 6. 84-Alex Decamp, 7. 35-Craig Hagin, 8. 017-Donald Bivens. Disqualified: 11a-Andrew Felker (weighed in below the 750 lb. minimum after taking the checkered flag in first).

Heat Three (6 Laps): 1. 7J-Jerrod Wilson, 2. 27-Jesse Frazier, 3. 1-Mike Ward, 4. 11-Harlan Hulsey, 5. 17-Billy Tobey, 6. 88-Dean Drake, 7. 42-Dean Franklin, 8. 29-Matt Ward.

"B" Feature (10 Laps): 1. 83-Jim Woods, Jr., 2. 84-Alex Decamp, 3. 88-Dean Drake, 4. 11a-Andrew Felker, 5. 42-Dean Franklin, 6. 14-Haley Hollan, 7. 12-Brent Bates, 8. 35-Craig Hagin, 9. 017-Donald Bivens. DNS: 29-Matt Ward.

Pole Dash (4 Laps): 1. 7J-Jerrod Wilson, 2. 32-Trey Marcham, 3. 49k-Kiefer Stelzner, 4. 64-Denny Felker, 5. 66-Dalton Cole, 6. 49-Joel Smith.

"A" Feature (20 Laps): 1. 64-Denny Felker, 2. 7J-Jerrod Wilson, 3. 49-Joel Smith, 4. 49k-Kiefer Stelzner, 5. 11-Harlan Hulsey, 6. 82-Steven Shebester, 7. 83-Jim Woods, Jr., 8. 60-Earl McDoulett, Jr., 9. 84-Alex Decamp, 10. 32-Trey Marcham, 11. 27-Jesse Frazier, 12. 88-Dean Drake, 13. 66-Dalton Cole, 14. 43-David McDuffee, 15. 21-Christopher Bell, 16. 1-Mike Ward, 17. 96-Randy Crowder, 18. 17-Billy Tobey, 19. 11a-Andrew Felker. DNS: 22-Scott Duggan.

Lap Leaders: Jerrod Wilson 1-18, Denny Felker 19-20.

Restricted "A" Class

Heat One (6 Laps): 1. 02-Tanner Mullens, 2. 8m-Kade Morton, 3. 83-Kyler Ray, 4. 28-Karley Dobson, 5. 35-Cameron Hagin, 6. 38-Geoffrey Burk, 7. 21-Ty Hulsey, 8. 95-Jake Hilbern, 9. 84-Caden Ellis, 10. 18-Justin Fletcher.

Heat Two (6 Laps): 1. 52-Blake Hahn, 2. 77-Ronnie Allen, 3. 17-Blake Edwards, 4. 97-Brian Ritter, 5. 42-Wacey McDuffee, 6. 99-Shane Fletcher, 7. 29-Brandon Hahn, 8. 7-Morgan Moore, 9. 118-Logan Ellis.

Pole Dash (4 Laps): 1. 02-Tanner Mullens, 2. 52-Blake Hahn, 3. 83-Kyler Ray, 4. 28-Karley Dobson, 5. 77-Ronnie Allen, 6. 8m-Kade Morton.

b^0x001cA" Feature (20 Laps): 1. 02-Tanner Mullens, 2. 77-Ronnie Allen, 3. 83-Kyler Ray, 4. 52-Blake Hahn, 5. 28-Karley Dobson, 6. 8m-Kade Morton, 7. 97-Brian Ritter, 8. 17-Blake Edwards, 9. 99-Shane Fletcher, 10. 29-Brandon Hahn, 11. 38-Geoffrey Burk, 12. 7-Morgan Moore, 13. 95-Jake Hilbern, 14. 118-Logan Ellis, 15. 35-Cameron Hagin, 16. 42-Wacey McDuffee, 17. 21-Ty Hulsey, 18. 84-Caden Ellis. DNS: 18-Justin Fletcher.

Lap Leaders: Tanner Mullens 1-20.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Dean Franklin , Jim Wood , Andrew Felker , Blake Hahn , Cameron Hagin , Billy Lawhead , Christopher Bell , Brandon Hahn , Matt Covington , Harley Hollan , Steven Shebester