ASCS2 Creek County results 2007-06-03

Berreth, Halford and Ray Take ASCS2 Wins at Creek County SAPULPA, Okla. (June 3, 2007) -- The American Small Car Series (ASCS2) staged round two of the 2007 season at Creek County Speedway on Sunday night and it was three new drivers...

Berreth, Halford and Ray Take ASCS2 Wins at Creek County

SAPULPA, Okla. (June 3, 2007) -- The American Small Car Series (ASCS2) staged round two of the 2007 season at Creek County Speedway on Sunday night and it was three new drivers gracing victory lane as 69 Micro Sprint Cars filled the pit area.

Chris Berreth made a late move around Ryan Duke to win the 25-lap 600cc Multi main event, Jonathan Halford paced the final eleven circuits of the 20-lap Non-Wing feature to post the win and Kyler Ray battled into the lead at the midway point of the 20-lap Restricted "A" main en route to victory lane.

After the initial start for the Multi feature was waved off for a turn one spin by Montie Frey, Jr., who won the series season opener on April 29, polesitter Duke outgunned Jerrod Wilson for the early lead.Third-starting Berreth made his way past Wilson for second in the early rounds and set his sights on Duke, as Steven Shebester battled past Wilson for third by the tenth circuit. As the leaders began working lapped traffic, Berreth closed in on Duke and charged into the lead on the 20th lap.

After 23 non-stop laps, the caution flew when fifth-running Zach Alley lost power exiting turn two, setting up a two-lap dash to the checkered flag. Berreth held off his pursuers to post the win, with Duke maintaining the runner-up position. Wilson battled back into third in the final rounds, with Zac Millikin and Kevin Bayer rounding out the top five as Shebester got shuffled back to sixth in the final two laps.

In the Non-Wing feature, April 29 winner Denny Felker gunned into the lead from the pole position and appeared to be on his way to a repeat win until losing power in turn four on the tenth lap.

Halford assumed the point and fought off Josh Toho and Shelby Byrd for several laps until the red flag flew with 12 laps in the books for Frank Flud's turn four flip.

Back under way, Halford slipped away in the final rounds to secure the win, with Alex Decamp earning runner-up honors. Toho took the show position, with Trey Marcham and Harlan Hulsey rounding out the top five.

In the Restricted "A" Class main event, April 29 winner Tanner Mullens outdueled polesitter Blake Edwards on the opening round for the early lead. But third-starter Ray was on the move, quickly taking over second and reeling in Mullens as lapped traffic came into play.

Ray pulled alongside as the pair completed the tenth lap then took command racing down the backstretch a half lap later. Vying to recapture the lead, Mullens nearly spun in turn three but recovered before losing any positions.

Mullens' miscue was all the cushion Ray needed to charge to the checkered flag unabated over the final rounds, with Mullens settling for second. Ronnie Allen claimed third, with Edwards and Blake Hahn rounding out the top five.

The ASCS2 Micro Sprints return to Creek County on Sunday night, July 1.

ASCS2 Results from Creek County Speedway:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 16-Chris Berreth, 2. 91-Kevin Bayer, 3. 12-Montie Frey, Jr., 4. 79-Ryan Duke, 5. 17s-Antony Smith, 6. 11a-Andrew Felker, 7. 23-Jason Lair, 8. 59-Billy Lawhead. DNS: 7-Chris Cochran.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 7J-Jerrod Wilson, 2. 28-Zach Alley, 3. 82-Steven Shebester, 4. 17h-Harlan Hulsey, 5. 51-Matt Ward, 6. 17-Zac Millikin, 7. 67s-Jeremy Scott, 8. 70-Michael Wickham.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 79-Ryan Duke, 2. 7J-Jerrod Wilson, 3. 16-Chris Berreth, 4. 91-Kevin Bayer, 5. 12-Montie Frey, Jr., 6. 28-Zach Alley.

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 16-Chris Berreth, 2. 79-Ryan Duke, 3. 7J-Jerrod Wilson, 4. 17-Zac Millikin, 5. 91-Kevin Bayer, 6. 82-Steven Shebester, 7. 67s-Jeremy Scott, 8. 11a-Andrew Felker, 9. 12-Montie Frey, Jr., 10. 59-Billy Lawhead, 11. 17h-Harlan Hulsey, 12. 7-Chris Cochran, 13. 17s-Antony Smith, 14. 51-Matt Ward, 15. 70-Michael Wickham, 16. 23-Jason Lair, 17. 28-Zach Alley.

Lap Leaders: Ryan Duke 1-19, Chris Berreth 20-25.


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 66-Dalton Cole, 2. 55-Josh Toho, 3. 5-Shelby Byrd, 4. 11-Harlan Hulsey, 5. 88-Dean Drake, 6. 25-Bobby Springer, 7. 15-Andrew Deal, 8. 49s-Kiefer Stelzner.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 1h-Andrew Hulsey, 2. 32-Trey Marcham, 3. 92-Jordan Weaver, 4. 017-Donald Bivens, 5. 43-David McDuffee, 6. 56-Chad Ward, 7. 60-Earl McDoulett, Jr.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 64-Denny Felker, 2. 84-Alex Decamp, 3. 11a-Andrew Felker, 4. 27-Jesse Frazier, 5. 81-Frank Flud, 6. 83w-Jim Woods, 7. 22-Scott Duggan.

Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 83-Jonathan Halford, 2. 49-Joel Smith, 3. 21-Christopher Bell, 4. 96-Randy Crowder, 5. 4-Ben Johnson, 6. 46-Kelly Mahaffey, 7. 1-Mike Ward.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 64-Denny Felker, 2. 55-Josh Toho, 3. 83-Jonathan Halford, 4. 32-Trey Marcham, 5. 1h-Andrew Hulsey, 6. 66-Dalton Cole.

"B" Feature (10 Laps): 1. 83w-Jim Woods, 2. 81-Frank Flud, 3. 25-Bobby Springer, 4. 22-Scott Duggan, 5. 43-David McDuffee, 6. 56-Chad Ward, 7. 15-Andrew Deal, 8. 46-Kelly Mahaffey, 9. 1-Mike Ward, 10. 88-Dean Drake, 11. 4-Ben Johnson, 12. 49s-Kiefer Stelzner. DNS: 60-Earl McDoulett, Jr.

"A" Feature (20 Laps): 1. 83-Jonathan Halford, 2. 84-Alex Decamp, 3. 55-Josh Toho, 4. 32-Trey Marcham, 5. 11-Harlan Hulsey, 6. 96-Randy Crowder, 7. 66-Dalton Cole, 8. 49-Joel Smith, 9. 21-Christopher Bell, 10. 11a-Andrew Felker, 11. 83w-Jim Woods, 12. 22-Scott Duggan, 13. 92-Jordan Weaver, 14. 25-Bobby Springer, 15. 017-Donald Bivens, 16. 81-Frank Flud, 17. 64-Denny Felker, 18. 1h-Andrew Hulsey, 19. 27-Jesse Frazier. Disqualified: 5-Shelby Byrd.

Lap Leaders: Denny Felker 1-9, Jonathan Halford 10-20.

Restricted "A" Class:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 97-Brian Ritter, 2. 17-Blake Edwards, 3. 77-Bailey Dye, 4. 42-Wacey McDuffee, 5. 21-Ty Hulsey, 6. 8-Josh Marcham, 7. 12-Gage Robb, 8. 95-Jake Hilbern.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 02-Tanner Mullens, 2. 77a-Ronnie Allen, 3. 83-Kyler Ray, 4. 15-Gavin Stout, 5. 7-Morgan Moore, 6. 118-Logan Ellis, 7. 71-Kyle Fellers, 8. 84-Caden Ellis.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 52-Blake Hahn, 2. 29-Brandon Hahn, 3. 28-Carley Dobson, 4. 67-Alysan Pearson, 5. 92-Jordan Herrman, 6. 19-Dalton Terrel, 7. 70-Dylan Wickham.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 17-Blake Edwards, 2. 02-Tanner Mullens, 3. 83-Kyler Ray, 4. 97-Brian Ritter, 5. 77a-Ronnie Allen. DNS: 52-Blake Hahn.

"B" Feature (8 Laps): 1. 19-Dalton Terrel, 2. 118-Logan Ellis, 3. 70-Dylan Wickham, 4. 12-Gage Robb, 5. 95-Jake Hilbern, 6. 71-Kyle Fellers, 7. 84-Caden Ellis.

"A" Feature (20 Laps): 1. 83-Kyler Ray, 2. 02-Tanner Mullens, 3. 77a-Ronnie Allen, 4. 17-Blake Edwards, 5. 52-Blake Hahn, 6. 97-Brian Ritter, 7. 42-Wacey McDuffee, 8. 29-Brandon Hahn, 9. 92-Jordan Herrman, 10. 8-Josh Marcham, 11. 67-Alysan Pearson, 12. 77-Bailey Dye, 13. 21-Ty Hulsey, 14. 28-Carley Dobson, 15. 15-Gavin Stout, 16. 7-Morgan Moore, 17. 19-Dalton Terrel, 18. 70-Dylan Wickham, 19. 12-Gage Robb, 20. 118-Logan Ellis.

Lap Leaders: Tanner Mullens 1-10, Kyler Ray 11-20.

-credit: ascs

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Jim Woods , Andrew Felker , Kevin Bayer , Andrew Deal , Blake Hahn , Billy Lawhead , Christopher Bell , Brandon Hahn , Steven Shebester