ASCS2 Claremore results 2007-07-08

Sawyer, Decamp and Hahn in ASCS2 Action at Will Rogers Raceway CLAREMORE, Okla. (July 8, 2007) -- The American Small Car Series, ASCS2, greeted three more first-time winners to victory lane as the series invaded Will Rogers Raceway for...

Sawyer, Decamp and Hahn in ASCS2 Action at Will Rogers Raceway

CLAREMORE, Okla. (July 8, 2007) -- The American Small Car Series, ASCS2, greeted three more first-time winners to victory lane as the series invaded Will Rogers Raceway for the first time on Sunday night.

Scott Sawyer proved to be in the right place at the right time to win the 30-lap ASCS2 Multi feature, Alex Decamp padded his ASCS2 Non-Wing point lead by wiring the field in the division's 25-lap feature and Brandon Hahn battled past Karley Dobson on the sixth round en route to topping the 25-lap Restricted "A" Class main event.

Subbing for an ill Montie Frey, Jr., in the No. 12 Multi, Sawyer started the feature event from the pole position. But it was outside front row starter Jerrod Wilson gunning into the early lead. Wilson held a substantial lead over Sawyer and Donnie Ray Crawford until reaching lapped traffic on the 12th round.

Following a lap 19 restart, Crawford battled past Sawyer for second and set his sights on Wilson. After Matt Ward spun in turn one with 23 laps in the books, Crawford challenged Wilson for the lead. Slipping underneath Wilson as the pair exited turn two on the 24th lap, the duo raced down the backstretch for the lead.

But as the pair wrestled for the same piece of real estate entering turn three, they tangled and spun to a stop, handing the lead to Sawyer.JSawyer capitalized by racing to victory lane in front of Ryan Duke, tenth-starter Zach Alley, Jason Lair and Zac Millikin.

After winning the Pole Dash in the Non-Wing division, Alex Decamp outgunned Frank Flud for the early lead. Weathering a pair of cautions in the opening four rounds, the final 21 circuits ran off in non-stop fashion with Decamp racing to nearly a straightaway lead over Flud, Jim Woods, Alex Harris and Andrew Deal.

Blake Hahn started the Restricted "A" main event from the pole, but it was outside front row starter Karley Dobson jumping into the early lead. Third-starting Brandon Hahn quickly took second from Blake Hahn and kept the leader within striking distance until slipping underneath Dobson entering turn three on the sixth lap to take over for keeps.

Blake Hahn battled past Dobson for second on the 17th lap and chased his cousin to the line, with Dobson settling for third in front of current ASCS2 Restricted "A" Class point leader Tanner Mullens and Gavin Stout.

A total of sixty-five entries took part in Sunday night's ASCS2 event at Will Rogers Raceway.

The ASCS2 Multis will join in on the Monday night, July 16, ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek card at Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, OK. Then on Sunday night, July 22, all three ASCS2 divisions will be in action at Caney Valley Speedway in Caney, KS.

ASCS2 Results from Creek County Speedway:


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 59-Billy Lawhead, 2. 7J-Jerrod Wilson, 3. 17-Zac Millikin, 4. 12-Scott Sawyer, 5. 28-Zach Alley, 6. 14-Harley Hollan, 7. 16-Chris Berreth, 8. 51-Matt Ward, 9. 17h-Harlan Hulsey.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 2. 70-Michael Wickham, 3. 79-Ryan Duke, 4. 23-Jason Lair, 5. 4-Kirby Bedford, 6. 11a-Andrew Felker, 7. 17s-Antony Smith, 8. 67s-Jeremy Scott, 9. 92-Jake Rosario.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 12-Scott Sawyer, 2. 7J-Jerrod Wilson, 3. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 4. 59-Billy Lawhead, 5. 79-Ryan Duke, 6. 70-Michael Wickham.

b^0x001cA" Feature (30 Laps): 1. 12-Scott Sawyer, 2. 79-Ryan Duke, 3. 28-Zach Alley, 4. 23-Jason Lair, 5. 17-Zac Millikin, 6. 16-Chris Berreth, 7. 11a-Andrew Felker, 8. 17h-Harlan Hulsey, 9. 14-Harley Hollan, 10. 51-Matt Ward, 11. 70-Michael Wickham, 12. 59-Billy Lawhead, 13. 4-Kirby Bedford, 14. 67s-Jeremy Scott, 15. 7J-Jerrod Wilson, 16. 55-Donnie Ray Crawford, 17. 92-Jake Rosario, 18. 17s-Antony Smith.

Lap Leaders: Jerrod Wilson 1-23, Scott Sawyer 24-30.


Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 4-BenJohnson, 2. 81-Frank Flud, 3. 60-Earl McDoulett, Jr., 4. 29-Isaac Rosario, 5. 22-Frank Taft, 6. 16-Kody Conley, 7. 49-Joel Smith, 8. 42-Dean Franklin, 9. 96-Randy Crowder.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 66-Dalton Cole, 2. 84-Alex Decamp, 3. 15-Andrew Deal, 4. 11a-Andrew Felker, 5. 2-Riley Adair, 6. 55T-Josh Toho, 7. 14-Harley Hollan, 8. 21-Christopher Bell.

Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 83-Jim Woods, 2. 17x-Travis Harris, 3. 11-Harlan Hulsey, 4. 25-Bobby Springer, 5. 98-Tyler Edwards, 6. 55-Colton Bradshaw, 7. 1-Mike Ward, 8. 71-Danny Clum.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 84-Alex Decamp, 2. 81-Frank Flud, 3. 66-Dalton Cole, 4. 83-Jim Woods, 5. 4-Ben Johnson, 6. 17x-Travis Harris.

"B" Feature (10 Laps): 1. 2-Riley Adair, 2. 49-Joel Smith, 3. 16-Kody Conley, 4. 55T-Josh Toho, 5. 42-Dean Franklin, 6. 55-Colton Bradshaw, 7. 14-Harley Hollan, 8. 21-Christopher Bell, 9. 1-Mike Ward, 10. 96-Randy Crowder, 11. 71-Danny Clum.

b^0x001cA" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 84-Alex Decamp, 2. 81-Frank Flud, 3. 83-Jim Woods, 4. 17x-Alex Harris, 5. 15-Andrew Deal, 6. 60-Earl McDoulett, Jr., 7. 98-Tyler Edwards, 8. 55T-Josh Toho, 9. 16-Kody Conley, 10. 2-Riley Adair, 11. 11-Harlan Hulsey, 12. 49-Joel Smith, 13. 42-Dean Franklin, 14. 11a-Andrew Felker, 15. 66-Dalton Cole, 16. 55-Colton Bradshaw, 17. 25-Bobby Springer, 18. 22-Frank Taft, 19. 29-Isaac Rosario, 20. 4-Ben Johnson.

Lap Leaders: Alex Decamp 1-25.

Restricted "A" Class:

Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 97-Brian Ritter, 2. 52-Blake Hahn, 3. 02-Tanner Mullens, 4. 38-Jeffrey Burk, 5. 8m-Kade Morton, 6. 83-Kyler Ray, 7. 71-Kyle Fellers, 8. 94-Austin Crowder.

Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. 28-Karley Dobson, 2. 17e-Blake Edwards, 3. 118-Logan Ellis, 4. 95-Jake Hilbern, 5. 7-Morgan Moore, 6. 92-Jordan Herrman, 7. 84-Caden Ellis.

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 15-Gavin Stout, 2. 29-Brandon Hahn, 3. 21-Ty Hulsey, 4. 35-Cameron Hagin, 5. 72-Andy Rousselot, 6. 70-Dylan Wickham. DNS: 29b-Blake Dewberry.

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 52-Blake Hahn, 2. 28-Karley Dobson, 3. 29-Brandon Hahn, 4. 97-Brian Ritter, 5. 15-Gavin Stout, 6. 17e-Blake Edwards.

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 29-Brandon Hahn, 2. 52-Blake Hahn, 3. 28-Karley Dobson, 4. 02-Tanner Mullens, 5. 15-Gavin Stout, 6. 17e-Blake Edwards, 7. 97-Brian Ritter, 8. 83-Kyler Ray, 9. 35-Cameron Hagin, 10. 21-Ty Hulsey, 11. 92-Jordan Herrman, 12. 38-Jeffrey Burk, 13. 7-Morgan Moore, 14. 118-Logan Ellis, 15. 8m-Kade Morton, 16. 94-Austin Crowder, 17. 72-Andy Rousselot, 18. 70-Dylan Wickham, 19. 71-Kyle Fellers, 20. 95-Jake Hilbern, 21. 84-Caden Ellis. DNS: 29b-Blake Dewberry.

Lap Leaders: Karley Dobson 1-5, Brandon Hahn 6-25.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Jim Woods , Travis Harris , Dean Franklin , Andrew Felker , Andrew Deal , Blake Hahn , Cameron Hagin , Billy Lawhead , Christopher Bell , Tyler Edwards , Donnie Ray Crawford , Brandon Hahn , Harley Hollan