ASCoT: Spaulpa results 2008-07-14

Jason Johnson Tops ASCS Speedweek Round Three at Creek County SAPULPA, Okla. (July 14, 2008) -- Jason Johnson became the third different winner in as many rounds of the 16th Annual Toyota Tundra ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek by topping...

Jason Johnson Tops ASCS Speedweek Round Three at Creek County

SAPULPA, Okla. (July 14, 2008) -- Jason Johnson became the third different winner in as many rounds of the 16th Annual Toyota Tundra ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek by topping Monday night's 30-lap feature event atop the 0x00bc-mile Creek County Speedway clay oval.

Johnson fended off Tim Crawley over the latter portion of the race to secure his eighth O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National feature win of the season aboard Lanny Row's Wesmar-powered The Shop Motorsports/Custom Equipment Design No. 41 Eagle, in the process padding his lead in the Speedweek title chase as well as the season's $50,000 championship chase.

After a pair of early cautions, the lead trio of Johnson, Nick Smith and Crawley slipped away from the rest of the field. By the time lapped traffic came into play at the midway point, Crawley turned up the heat on Smith and finally took the second spot on the 18th round.

Two laps later, Crawley began pressuring Johnson for the point, poking his nose underneath on several occasions. Johnson was up to the task each time and found open track when the caution flew for Gavin Punch, who coasted to a stop on the backstretch with overheating problems just five laps from the end.

"I kept seeing Tim's nose under me there and I was wondering if the track was taking some rubber just below the cushion," Johnson explained. "I went down and tried it a time or two and realized there wasn't anything there, I just needed to get back on the cushion."

Trailing a hint of smoke over the final handful of laps, Johnson charged to the stripe undeterred. "We were running a little hot, it was up to about 250," Johnson explained of the smoke.

Crawley held second to the stripe in Mike Ward's McCarver-powered Boater Sports No. 88 Maxim, while 13th-starter Wayne Johnson wrestled the third position away from Nick Smith on the 27th lap and kept Mike and Tim Hammers' H&H Enterprises No. 94 Maxim there the rest of the way.

Smith settled for fourth in the Wesmar-powered Sooner Network Solutions No. 15s J&J, while Zach Chappell charged from 17th to round out the top five in the Wesmar-powered Legend's Bar-B-Que and Steak Joint No. 50z Maxim.

Jamie Passmore crossed the stripe sixth, with 16th-starter Brian McClelland, 19th-starter Kyle Bellm, Travis Rilat and 15th-starter Brad Bowden completing the top ten.

The initial attempt to start the feature event was waved off when front row outside starter Channin Tankersley looped it entering turn one, collecting Rilat and Gary Taylor in the process. Rilat rebounded for a top ten finish while Tankersley and Taylor were done.

The next caution appeared with six laps in the books for Kathryne Minter's turn four spin, with Kenneth Walker and Eric Baldaccini tangling in turn two on the ensuing restart.

Gary Wright's championship hopes took a severe hit when he suffered a sheared distributor gear pin in his heat race. Unable to successfully fix it for the "B" Main, Wright took a provisional to start the main event.

Tankersley, Baldaccini, Crawley and Walker topped heat race action for the 29-car field, with Chappell winning the 10-lap "B" Main.

16th Annual Toyota Tundra ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek Results from Creek County Speedway:

Heat Races (Top 16 in Passing Points to "A" Main; Balance to "B" Main):

Brodix Heat One (8 Laps): 1. 71-Channin Tankersley, 2. 29-Travis Rilat, 3. 41-Jason Johnson, 4. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 5. 50z-Zach Chappell, 6. 5$-Danny Smith, 7. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 8. 4am-Toby Brown.

Wesmar-Shaver Heat Two (8 Laps): 1. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 81au-Gavin Punch, 3. 13-Kathryne Minter, 4. 15-Brad Bowden, 5. 22-Koby Barksdale, 6. 7-J.J. Hickle, 7. 91-Sean McClelland.

Brodix Heat Three (8 Laps): 1. 88-Tim Crawley, 2. 5*-Gary Taylor, 3. 74-Claud Estes, 4. 94-Wayne Johnson, 5. 72-Sherman Davis, 6. 95-Matt Covington, 7. 52-Frank Sudduth.

Wesmar-Shaver Heat Four (8 Laps): 1. 2-Kenneth Walker, 2. 15s-Nick Smith, 3. 4J-Jamie Passmore, 4. 87-Brian McClelland, 5. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 6. 26-Rafe Essary, 7. 9-Gary Wright.

"B" Main (Top 6 Advance to "A" Main):

"B" Feature (10 Laps): 1. 50z-Zach Chappell, 2. 22-Koby Barksdale, 3. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 4. 95-Matt Covington, 5. 7-J.J. Hickle, 6. 91-Sean McClelland, 7. 52-Frank Sudduth, 8. 85s-Forrest Sutherland, 9. 4am-Toby Brown, 10. 72-Sherman Davis, 11. 5$-Danny Smith, 12. 9-Gary Wright. DNS: 26-Rafe Essary.

O'Reilly ASCoT "A" Main Event:

"A" Feature (30 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 88-Tim Crawley, 3. 94-Wayne Johnson, 4. 15s-Nick Smith, 5. 50z-Zach Chappell, 6. 4J-Jamie Passmore, 7. 87-Brian McClelland, 8. 14k-Kyle Bellm, 9. 29-Travis Rilat, 10. 15-Brad Bowden, 11. 91-Sean McClelland, 12. 74-Claud Estes, 13. 7-J.J. Hickle, 14. 13-Kathryne Minter, 15. 81au-Gavin Punch, 16. 95-Matt Covington, 17. 22-Koby Barksdale, 18. 2-Kenneth Walker, 19. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 20. 11x-Garry Lee Maier, 21. 71-Channin Tankersley, 22. 5*-Gary Taylor, 23. 9-Gary Wright.

Lap Leaders: Jason Johnson 1-30.

Note: Gary Wright utilized an ASCoT provisional to start the "A" Main.

O'Reilly ASCoT Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Jason Johnson 2,681, 2. Wayne Johnson 2,609, 3. Gary Wright 2,584, 4. Zach Chappell 2,521, 5. Garry Lee Maier 2,342, 6. Eric Baldaccini 2,187, 7. Nick Smith 2,072, 8. Kenneth Walker 1,969, 9. Travis Rilat 1,770, 10. Kathryne Minter 1,656, 11. Gary Taylor 1,651, 12. Jack Dover 1,648, 13. Aaron Berryhill 1,174, 14. Jason Sides 1,130, 15. Matt Covington 1,044.

16th Annual Toyota Tundra ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek Points (Top Ten -- Through Round Three of Six): 1. Jason Johnson 440, 2. Wayne Johnson 432, 3. Zach Chappell 414, 4. Travis Rilat 406, 5. Gary Taylor 388, 6. Jamie Passmore 386, 7. Brad Bowden 382, 8. (tie) Sean McClelland and Claud Estes 376, 10. Garry Lee Maier 374.

-credit: ascs

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Aaron Berryhill , Jason Sides , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Wayne Johnson , Gary Taylor , Tim Crawley , Matt Covington , Jason Johnson , Koby Barksdale , Sean McClelland