ASCoT: Sapulpa preview

ASCS Speedweek Round Two at Creek County on Monday Night TULSA, Okla. (July 15, 2007) -- The 15th Annual ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek continues with Round Two on Monday night as the O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National ...

ASCS Speedweek Round Two at Creek County on Monday Night

TULSA, Okla. (July 15, 2007) -- The 15th Annual ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek continues with Round Two on Monday night as the O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National series invades Creek County Speedway in Sapulpa, OK, for the only time this season.

Joining a loaded field of O'Reilly ASCoT National Sprint Cars on the card atop the semi-banked, 0x00bc-mile clay oval will be the 600-cc Multis of the American Small Car Series, ASCS2.

Hooks, TX, ace Gary Wright kicked off the 15th Annual ASCS Speedweek with a win in Saturday night's event at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, AR, which marked the 500th feature in series history.

With the triumph, Wright regained the series points lead in his quest for a fourth consecutive series championship, albeit by a small margin.

After entering the night tied for the points lead in the $50,000 championship chase, Oklahoma City native Wayne Johnson now trails Wright by just four points after finishing second in Saturday night's card.

And staying right in the mix by charging from the tail of the field after an early miscue to finish fourth is Eunice, Louisiana's Jason Johnson. "The Ragin' Cajun" is just eleven points off the lead pace.

Forney, TX, racer Travis Rilat, the 2003 ASCS National champion, holds down the fourth spot, 139 points off the lead pace, with leading Brodix Rookie of the Year contender Foster Landon of Collinsville, OK, rounding out the current top five.

Other top contenders for Monday night's ASCS Speedweek action at Creek County Speedway include sixth-ranked Darren Stewart (Bixby, OK), ninth-ranked Nick Smith (Broken Arrow, OK), tenth-ranked Eric Baldaccini (Keller, TX) and 14th-ranked Kenneth Walker (Sapulpa, OK).

Also expected to vie for victory honors are past ASCS National champions Terry Gray (Bartlett, TN) and Tim Crawley (Benton, AR), with 13-year-old Binghamton, NY, racer Coleman Gulick continuing his first ASCS Speedweek adventure.

Finishing a solid 13th among a field of 35 entries in Saturday night's event at I-30 Speedway, Gulick commented of his first visit to I-30 Speedway, "I liked the track, the corners sure were tight though." Gulick will find even tighter corners on Monday night.

The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region contingent will be well represented as well with current series points leader Cody Branchcomb (Sapulpa, OK), Sherman Davis (Sand Springs, OK), Gavin Punch (Collinsville, OK), Brian McClelland (Tulsa, OK) and Matt Covington (Glenpool, OK) among the contenders. McClelland finished fifth in Saturday night's ASCS Speedweek opener at I-30 Speedway, his best career finish in ASCS National Tour action, while 17-year-old Covington placed a strong seventh in his ASCS National Tour debut and eighth overall Sprint Car start.

Following Monday night's action, the 15th Annual ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek resumes with Round Three on Thursday night at Devil's Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, TX, before moving on to Oklahoma City's State Fair Speedway on Friday night and then wrapping up at Lawton Speedway on Saturday night.

While the topic of the intense O'Reilly ASCoT National championship battle is a hot one all across the country, the battle for ASCS2 Multi bragging rights is a tight one as well with Chris Berreth holding a four-point lead over Ryan Duke. Zach Alley, Zac Millikin and Billy Lawhead round out the current top five in ASCS2 Multi points.

The Series:O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour (ASCoT) and the American Small Car Series (ASCS2)

When & Where:15th Annual ASCS Sizzlin' Summer Speedweek:

Round 2 -- Monday night, July 16 at 7:30 p.m. -- Creek County Speedway (Sapulpa, OK) along with the ASCS2 Multis

Track Information:

Creek County Speedway (Sapulpa, OK) -- 0x00bc-mile semi-banked dirt oval located southwest of Tulsa, OK, off I-44 Exit 211, then 0.3 miles south on State Road 33, then one mile west on State Road 66, then south. For more information, contact the track at 918-247-6675.

O'Reilly ASCoT Creek County Speedway History:

The American Sprint Car Series started out with Creek County Speedway as its home track way back in 1992.

The site of the first ever Speedweek event in 1993, it marks the second consecutive year at Creek County Speedway after returning to the Speedweek slate in 2006 and tenth overall Speedweek event. 2004 Speedweek champ Tim Crawley had won the last three ASCS National Tour events held at Creek County Speedway until last year's return to the bullring in which Jason Johnson stole the win from Darren Stewart with a last-corner pass.

Creek County Speedway ASCS National winners include: Tim Crawley 3, Gary Wright 3, Pete Butler 1, Phil Gressman 1, John Hunt 1, Jason Johnson 1, Wayne Johnson 1, Garry Lee Maier 1, Mike Ward 1, Danny Wood 1.

Past Speedweek Winners at Creek County Speedway: Mike Ward (1993), John Hunt (1993), Garry Lee Maier (1994), Gary Wright (1995), Wayne Johnson (1996), Phil Gressman (1998), Tim Crawley (1999), Tim Crawley (2000), Jason Johnson (2006).


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Cody Branchcomb , Travis Rilat , Nick Smith , Wayne Johnson , Tim Crawley , Matt Covington , Jason Johnson