ASCoT: Saluda results 2006-05-27

Nick Smith Nails Down O'Reilly ASCoT Win at VMS SALUDA, VA (May 27, 2006) -- Broken Arrow, Oklahoma's Nick Smith padded his O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National point lead by racing to victory lane in Saturday night's 30-lap feature...

Nick Smith Nails Down O'Reilly ASCoT Win at VMS

SALUDA, VA (May 27, 2006) -- Broken Arrow, Oklahoma's Nick Smith padded his O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour National point lead by racing to victory lane in Saturday night's 30-lap feature at Virginia Motor Speedway.

Smith prevailed in a torrid mid-race duel for the lead with Jason Johnson and Jesse Hockett, taking command on the 20th round then finally checking out in the final handful of laps to post his second ASCS National Tour victory of the season by nearly a straightaway aboard the Ostrich-powered MPHG Promotions No. 15s J&J.

While Smith gridded the feature field outside the fourth row, it was front row outside starter Jan Howard outgunning polesitter Hockett for the lead at the drop of the green flag. Howard paced the opening rounds in front of Hockett and Sean McClelland, as Smith and ninth-starter Jason Johnson wasted little time moving toward the front of the field.

Johnson needed just two laps to crack the top five, then picked up another position when fourth-running Darren Stewart came to a stop next to the turn two guardrail on the fifth lap, precipitating the race's first caution.

While Smith raced past Dustin Daggett a lap later to crack the top five, Johnson was the one on the march over the first half of the race aboard Lanny Row's Wesmar-powered The Shop Diesel Service No. 41 Eagle. Johnson disposed of McClelland for third by the ninth circuit, then charged past Hockett for second two rounds later before taking the lead on the 12th lap when Howard briefly slipped over the turn four cushion as the leaders began working lapped traffic.

Hockett followed Johnson's lead by racing past Howard for second a lap later, with Smith taking third from Howard following a lap 18 restart.

The lead trio of Johnson, Hockett and Smith diced for the point in furious fashion for several laps before Smith emerged with a lead he wouldn't relinquish. Smith survived several late cautions, then raced away from the field during the final four-lap dash to the checkered flag.

Johnson held on to the runner-up slot, with Howard claiming the show position in the Dale Howard-powered Truck Parts Specialists No. 46 Maxim. Delaware's Justin Collett recorded his second top five finish in as many nights by charging from his 17th-starting position to snare fourth, with Michigan's Daggett posting his top ASCS National Tour finish of the year by rounding out the top five.

Josh Weller crossed the stripe sixth, while McClelland rebounded from an unplanned trip to the work area to finish seventh. Fourteen-year-old Trey Robb raced to an eighth-place finish, with Hockett and Gary Wright completing the top ten. Hockett and Wright both salvaged top ten runs after running out of fuel while among the top five in the closing stages.

Howard, Stewart, Daggett and Hockett topped heat race action, with Collett acing the 12-lap "B" Main.

O'Reilly ASCoT Virginia Motor Speedway Results:

Heats Races (Top 16 in passing points to "A" Main -- Top 6 to Pole Dash; balance "B" Main)

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 46-Jan Howard, 2. 12-Trey Robb, 3. 41-Jason Johnson, 4. 44J-Abe Sherwood, 5. 69-Justin Collett, 6. 7-Lance Moss, 7. 0-Clarence Cox. DNS: 27-Kris Brooks.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 91-Darren Stewart, 2. 25-Jon Eldreth, 3. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 4. 3-Dave Ely, 5. 07-Johnny Bridges, 6. 21-Scott McClaren, 7. 28-Coby Adams.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 85-Dustin Daggett, 2. 1-Sean McClelland, 3. 63-Josh Weller, 4. 28x-Jeff Young, 5. 36-Tim Perry, 6. 06-Bill Moore, 7. 29-Travis Rilat.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 75-Jesse Hockett, 2. 9-Gary Wright, 3. 15s-Nick Smith, 4. 11b-Butch Pendergrass, 5. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 6. 11c-Brian Smith, 7. 17m-Matthew Greene.

Pole Dash (Finishing Order Determines Front Three Rows of "A" Main):

Pole Dash (5 Laps): 1. 75-Jesse Hockett, 2. 46-Jan Howard, 3. 1-Sean McClelland, 4. 85-Dustin Daggett, 5. 12-Trey Robb, 6. 91-Darren Stewart.

"B" Main -- Top 8 Advance to "A" Main

"B" Feature (12 Laps): 1. 69-Justin Collett, 2. 11b-Butch Pendergrass, 3. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 4. 7-Lance Moss, 5. 29-Travis Rilat, 6. 28-Coby Adams, 7. 11c-Brian Smith, 8. 27-Kris Brooks, 9. 17m-Matthew Greene, 10. 36-Tim Perry, 11. 21-Scott McClaren, 12. 0-Clarence Cox, 13. 06-Bill Moore.

O'Reilly ASCoT Virginia Motor Speedway "A" Main Event

"A" Feature (30 Laps): 1. 15s-Nick Smith, 2. 41-Jason Johnson, 3. 46-Jan Howard, 4. 69-Justin Collett, 5. 85-Dustin Daggett, 6. 63-Josh Weller, 7. 1-Sean McClelland, 8. 12-Trey Robb, 9. 75-Jesse Hockett, 10. 9-Gary Wright, 11. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 12. 44J-Abe Sherwood, 13. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 14. 28x-Jeff Young, 15. 25-Jon Eldreth, 16. 28-Coby Adams, 17. 07-Johnny Bridges, 18. 7-Lance Moss, 19. 3-Dave Ely, 20. 11c-Brian Smith, 21. 11b-Butch Pendergrass, 22. 91-Darren Stewart, 23. 29-Travis Rilat, 24. 27-Kris Brooks.

Lap Leaders: Jan Howard 1-11, Jason Johnson 12-20, Nick Smith 21-30.

O'Reilly ASCoT Points (Top Fifteen): 1. Nick Smith 1,186, 2. Gary Wright 1,159, 3. Jesse Hockett 1,116, 4. Travis Rilat 1,091, 5. Jason Johnson 1,083, 6. Jan Howard 1,045, 7. Sean McClelland 1,032, 8. Darren Stewart 1,025, 9. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr. 916, 10. 12-Trey Robb 910, 11. 85-Dustin Daggett 888, 12. 50z-Zach Chappell 849, 13. Tony Bruce, Jr. 847, 14. Jerrod Hull 806, 15. Tim Montgomery 803.

Heintz Performance ASCS Southern Tour Points (Top Ten): 1. Butch Pendergrass 694, 2. Scott McClaren 688, 3. Coby Adams 5676, 4. Lance Moss 664, 5. Johnny Bridges 637, 6. Jeff Young 606, 7. Kris Brooks 568, 8. Brian Smith 552, 9. Jimmy Burns 534, 10. Doug Gold 514.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Darren Stewart , Brian Smith , Matthew Green , Travis Rilat , Jesse Hockett , Nick Smith , Jason Johnson , Sean McClelland