ASCoT: Devil's Bowl Spring makeup results

Ramey Romps in Belated O'Reilly ASCoT Devil's Bowl Spring Nationals MESQUITE, Tex. (June 24, 2006) -- More than three months after earning the pole position for the 33rd Annual Devil's Bowl Speedway Spring Nationals, Kevin Ramey put the ...

Ramey Romps in Belated O'Reilly ASCoT Devil's Bowl Spring Nationals

MESQUITE, Tex. (June 24, 2006) -- More than three months after earning the pole position for the 33rd Annual Devil's Bowl Speedway Spring Nationals, Kevin Ramey put the finishing touches on in grand style by wiring the field in Saturday night's 25-lap O'Reilly American Sprint Cars on Tour feature event that kicked off a rare night of double features for the series.

In the culmination of the rain-postponed card from March 17, Ramey took command from the outset and charged to victory lane aboard Tom Willis' Wells-powered Commercial Music/Urban Nissan No. 7m Maxim to post his sixth career ASCS National Tour victory and first ASCS win of the 2006 season.

"Back in March, my guys gave me a good car and we were good in both our heat and qualifying race to earn the pole," Ramey explained in victory lane. "They gave me a good car again tonight and it's nice to finally win one. We've got a good starting position in our heat for the second show, so hopefully we can get another one later tonight."

Twenty-four of the 47 entries from March 17 returned for Saturday's card, with all starting the main event as another nine watched the action unfold as they readied for the Summer Nationals, which kicked off immediately after the Spring Nationals makeup feature.

After the initial start was waved off for a turn three tangle involving Trey Robb and Abe Sherwood, Ramey outdragged fellow front row starter Jesse Hockett for the point at the drop of the green flag with third-starter Gary Wright moving into second on the opening round.

Ramey set the pace with Wright and Hockett in tow, surviving a lap three caution for Brandon Erwin's disabled mount and then a lap 14 interruption for Jan Howard, who came to a stop on the front straightaway with a blown lower radiator hose.

On the ensuing restart, Natalie Sather bicycled entering turn one. After nearly making the save, the mount jumped again and Sather flipped over the turn two embankment. Sather was uninjured but done for the night.

"It doesn't matter how many laps you run around this place, when you're an overweight guy like me you'll take a breather any chance you get," Ramey kidded when asked by announcer Randy Ward if he felt the caution worked to his advantage.

Back under way, Ramey checked out and despite encountering a pair of lapped cars in the final five rounds, was virtually unchallenged in his charge to the checkered flag.

Wright settled for second aboard the Wesmar-powered Southwest Express/The Shop/Richwood Construction No. 9 Maxim, with Hockett taking the show position in the Wesmar-powered VKCC Motorsports No. 75 DRC. Nick Smith advanced four positions to snare fourth in the Ostrich-powered MPHG Promtions No. 15s J&J, maintaining his point lead in the process, with Danny Jennings rounding out the top five in the Wesmar-powered Goodyear Tire Company No. 61J Maxim.

After putting together a new car following a Friday night flip, Sean McClelland earned Hard Charger honors by racing from 16th to sixth, with Tony Bruce, Jr., Johnny Miller, 18th-starter Darren Stewart and Jason Johnson completing the top ten.

O'Reilly ASCoT 33rd Annual Devil's Bowl Spring Nationals Preliminary Results:

Heat Races and Qualifying Races Run on March 17 prior to Balance of Program Being Postponed by Rain:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 12-Trey Robb, 2. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 3. 61J-Danny Jennings, 4. 41-Jason Johnson, 5. 46-Jan Howard, 6. 91-Darren Stewart, 7. 55L-Dustin Lindquist, 8. 88-Steven King, 9. 21T-Daryn Pittman, 10. 7c-Josh Close.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 44J-Abe Sherwood, 2. 15s-Nick Smith, 3. 94h-Jerrod Hull, 4. 85-Dustin Daggett, 5. 4-Mike Chadd, 6. 12m-James Mosher, 7. 14w-Sean Walden, 8. 5h-Bobby Hawks, 9. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 10. d12-Doc Sloan.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 2. 1-Sean McClelland, 3. 21-Brian Brown, 4. 27-Andy Shouse, 5. 65-Skip Wilson, 6. 01-Tim Montgomery, 7. 94s-Natalie Sather, 8. 21c-Joey Montgomery, 9. 35-Brad Best.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 75-Jesse Hockett, 2. 84-Toby Chapman, 3. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 4. 36-Rob Chaney, 5. 64J-Johnny Miller, 6. 59-Dex Eaton, 7. 51-Lee Sowell, 8. 6L-Justin Zimmerman, 9. 11p-Preston Peebles II.

Fifth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 29-Travis Rilat, 2. 9-Gary Wright, 3. 5e-Brandon Erwin, 4. 10-Jeff Mitrisin, 5. 50z-Zach Chappell, 6. 97-Aaron Berryhill, 7. 57x-Jake Peters, 8. 75-Jesse Hockett, 9. 11-Tyler Thompson.

First Qualifying Race (8 Laps): 1. 64J-Johnny Miller, 2. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 3. 15s-Nick Smith, 4. 57x-Jake Peters, 5. 21T-Daryn Pittman, 6. 65-Skip Wilson, 7. 29-Travis Rilat, 8. 1-Sean McClelland, 9. 7c-Josh Close, 10. 55L-Dustin Lindquist.

Second Qualifying Race (8 Laps): 1. 10-Jeff Mitrisin, 2. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 3. 21-Brian Brown, 4. 12m-James Mosher, 5. 5e-Brandon Erwin, 6. 12-Trey Robb, 7. 51-Lee Sowell, 8. 88-Steven King, 9. b4-Eric Baldaccini, 10. d12-Doc Sloan.

Third Qualifying Race (8 Laps): 1. 46-Jan Howard, 2. 61J-Danny Jennings, 3. 01-Tim Montgomery, 4. 4-Mike Chadd, 5. 44J-Abe Sherwood, 6. 84-Toby Chapman, 7. 35-Brad Best, 8. 14w-Sean Walden, 9. 21c-Joey Montgomery.

Fourth Qualifying Race (8 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson, 2. 97-Aaron Berryhill, 3. 9-Gary Wright, 4. 91-Darren Stewart, 5. 94h-Jerrod Hull, 6. 5h-Bobby Hawks, 7. 6L-Justin Zimmerman, 8. 11p-Preston Peebles II, 9. 94-Cody Branchcomb.

Fifth Qualifying Race (8 Laps): 1. 50z-Zach Chappell, 2. 27-Andy Shouse, 3. 75-Jesse Hockett, 4. 59-Dex Eaton, 5. 36-Rob Chaney, 6. 85-Dustin Daggett, 7. 94s-Natalie Sather, 8. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 9. 11-Tyler Thompson.

June 24 Makeup Feature Results:

24 Cars Returned from March 17 Card; All Start June 24 Devil's Bowl Spring Nationals "A" Main

"A" Feature (25 Laps): 1. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 2. 9-Gary Wright, 3. 75-Jesse Hockett, 4. 15s-Nick Smith, 5. 61J-Danny Jennings, 6. 1-Sean McClelland, 7. 18-Tony Bruce, Jr., 8. 64J-Johnny Miller, 9. 91-Darren Stewart, 10. 41-Jason Johnson, 11. 65-Skip Wilson, 12. 10-Jeff Mitrisin, 13. 44J-Abe Sherwood, 14. 12-Trey Robb, 15. 29-Travis Rilat, 16. 85-Dustin Daggett, 17. d12-Doc Sloan, 18. 94s-Natalie Sather, 19. 46-Jan Howard, 20. 94-Cody Branchcomb, 21. 50z-Zach Chappell, 22. 15-Sam Hafertepe, Jr., 23. 5e-Brandon Erwin, 24. 4-Mike Chadd.

Lap Leaders: Kevin Ramey 1-25.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brandon Erwin , Darren Stewart , Johnny Miller , Preston Peebles , Jeff Mitrisin , Aaron Berryhill , Brian Brown , Cody Branchcomb , Daryn Pittman , Travis Rilat , Jesse Hockett , Nick Smith , Dex Eaton , Danny Jennings , Kevin Ramey , Jason Johnson , Andy Shouse , Sean McClelland