ALLSTAR: Wichita 81 Speedway Report

All Star Sprint Race Results - 81 Speedway - Fri. 8/20/99 By David Smith, Jr. WICHITA, KS - Gary Wright took the lead early then went virtually unchallenged the rest of the way as he won his second O'Reilly Auto Parts National Championship...

All Star Sprint Race Results - 81 Speedway - Fri. 8/20/99 By David Smith, Jr.

WICHITA, KS - Gary Wright took the lead early then went virtually unchallenged the rest of the way as he won his second O'Reilly Auto Parts National Championship Racing Association and All Star Circuit of Champions challenge race on the third stop of the fifth annual Thunder Through the Plains tour Friday night at 81 Speedway. The win also earned Wright his sixth consecutive NCRA sprint car championship. Current All Star points leader Kenny Jacobs started on the pole of the thirty lap feature but it was outside front row starter Kasey Kahne and his Maxim/Don Ott sprinter taking the lead as the green flag waved. Kahne opened up to a quick eight car length advantage over Jacobs, fourth starting Wright and Joey Saldana after the first completed lap. Kahne led the next two laps before he spun in turn two, doing a complete 360 spin, but fell back to sixth. Jacobs was behind the leader and had nowhere to go and fell back three positions to fifth. This gave the lead to Wright as he opened up a ten car length advantage over Saldana, who inherited the runner up position after the incident involving the two front runners. The night's first of three caution lags waved on lap seven when Shane Stewart and Danny Smith got together on the front stretch sending Stewart hard into the front stretch wall causing major front end damage to his Melton Truckline sprinter. The restart saw Saldana, eighth starting Aaron Berryhill and Jacobs all give chase to the leader with hopes of closing Wright's advantage as he entered lapped traffic for the first time on lap twelve. But he worked lapped cars to perfection and had built up to a quarter of a lap lead over Saldana at the midway point and was up to a full straightaway advantage on lap twenty-six when the night's second caution flag waved for Brian Paulus who came to a stop in turn one with a blown right rear tire. The caution waved for the final time on the attempted restart for Brian Carlson who spun in turn one. On the final restart Saldana and his Steve Mox owned Stealth/Fisher-Chevrolet powered sprinter quickly got by the two lapped cars placed in front of him and the leader but there was no catching Wright as he and his F&J Construction/ CompUSA sponsored sprinter picked up his sixty-second career NCRA victory and his sixth of the season. Saldana was ten car lengths behind to finish second with Berryhill and his Court Grandstaff owned Trop Artic 66 sprinter finishing third. Jacobs brought his Eagle/Kriner sprinter home fourth while fifth starting Danny Wood and his Donnie Woodburn owned Pepsi sprinter rounded out the top five. Kelly Kinser bested the field of thirty-six sprinters to earn the Red Devil Brakes fast time award with a lap of 14.114 on the three-eights mile oval. The United Expressline first heat race went to Mike Goodman with Larry Neighbors taking the Southwest Expressline second heat race. Wright won the Southwest Glass third heat race while Paulus took the United Specialties fourth and final heat race. Shane Carson took the twelve lap United Expressline B feature followed by Brian Ellenberger, Carlson and Jerry Stone.

Time Trials: 1) 4k Kelly Kinser 14.114 2) 21w Danny Wood 14.170 3) 9 Gary Wright 14.271 4) 17 Joey Saldana 14.367 5) 23k Kasey Kahne 14.374 6) 6 Kenny Jacobs 14.384 7) U2 Paul McMahan 14.518 8) 66 Aaron Berryhill 14.527 9) 23s Frankie Kerr 14.556 10) 9s Shane Stewart 14.618 11) 8h Dean Jacobs 14.642 12) 92 Danny Smith 14.670 13) 3 Mike Goodman 14.685 14) 20 Brian Ellenberger 14.834 15) 51 Jerrod Hull 14.836 16) 63 Greg Wilson 14.876 17) 22 Rodeny Duncan 14.881 18) 29n Larry Neighbors 14.883 19) 12x Billy Vielhauer 14.889 20) 28 Brian Paulus 14.930 21) 18 Brian Carlson 14.968 22) 88 Steve King 14.973 23) 49 John Blurton 14.984 24) 12s Shane Carson 15.105 25) 7Jason Sides 15.122 26) 85 Bob Ewell 15.126 27) 75 Jerry Stone 15.172 28) 1 Dennis Parks 15.221 29) 45x C.J. Johnson 15.381 30) 92j J.R. Topper 15.389 31) 19 John Ewell 15.622 32) d1 Dan Oswalt 15.682 33) 61 Earnest Jennings 15.792 34) 79 Jack Moulton 16.003 35) 6s Tony Steenson 16.430 36) 92 Jimmy Lambert NT. UNITED EXPRESSLINE HEAT 1 (8 laps) - Mike Goodman, Rodney Duncan, Frankie Kerr, Kasey Kahne, Kelly Kinser, Brian Carlson, Jason Sides, C.J. Johnson, Earnest Jennings. SOUTHWEST EXPRESSLINE HEAT 2 (8 Laps) - Larry Neighbors, Danny Wood, Shane Stewart, Steve King, Kenny Jacobs, Brian Ellenberger, Bob Ewell, J.R. Topper, Jack Moulton. UNITED SPECIALTIES HEAT 3 (8 laps) - Gary Wright, Dean Jacobs, John Blurton, Paul McMahan, Jerrod Hull, Jerry Stone, Billy Vielhauer, John Ewell, Tony Steenson. SOUTHWEST GLASS HEAT 4 (8 laps) - Brian Paulus, Joey Saldana, Aaron Berryhill, Danny Smith, Greg Wilson, Shane Carson, Dennis Park, Jimmy Lambert, Dan Oswalt. UNITED EXPRESSLINE B FEATURE (12 laps) - 1, Shane Carson. 2, Brian Ellenberger. 3, Brian Carlson. 4, Jerry Stone. 5, Jason Sides. 6, Dennis Park. 7, C.J. Johnson. 8, J.R. Topper. 9, John Ewell. 10, Earnest Jennings. 11, Jack Moulton. 12, Tony Steenson. 13, Billy Vielhauer. 14, Bob Ewell. 15, Jimmy Lambert. A MAIN (30 laps) - 1, Gary Wright. 2, Joey Saldana. 3, Aaron Berryhill. 4, Kenny Jacobs. 5, Danny Wood. 6, Kelly Kinser. 7, Frankie Kerr. 8, Danny Smith. 9, Paul McMahan. 10, Kasey Kahne. 11, Rodney Duncan. 12, Dean Jacobs. 13, Greg Wilson. 14, Mike Goodman. 15, Jerrod Hull. 16, Brian Ellenberger. 17, Steve King. 18, John Blurton. 19, Brian Paulus. 20, Larry Neighbors. 21, Shane Carson. 22, Brian Carlson. 23, Jerry Stone. 24, Shane Stewart.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kasey Kahne , Kenny Jacobs , David Smith , Larry Neighbors , Aaron Berryhill , Brian Carlson , Brian Paulus , Dean Jacobs , Jason Sides , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Shane Stewart , Greg Wil , C.J. Johnson