ALLSTAR: Wayne County results

ORRVILLE, OH -- Dale Blaney scored his second win of the season Wednesday night at Wayne Co. Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 40 lap feature. The Pete Jacobs Memorial paid the Hartford, Ohio driver $5,000 to win. Kelly Kinser made a...

ORRVILLE, OH -- Dale Blaney scored his second win of the season Wednesday night at Wayne Co. Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 40 lap feature. The Pete Jacobs Memorial paid the Hartford, Ohio driver $5,000 to win. Kelly Kinser made a late charge at the end but came up two car lengths short at the finish line.

"The guys had the car really good all night. We put a pretty hard tire on and it wore down pretty good," Blaney recalled. "It was hard to get through lapped traffic. I felt like I was slowing down quite a bit at the end and I knew someone (Kelly Kinser) was coming near the end," Blaney added, standing alongside his Andrews Motorsports Maxim-Fisher in victory lane.

Dean Jacobs and Andrew Palker led the field to the green flag, with Phil Gressman and Blaney in row two. Jacobs pushed out to the immediate lead, with Palker falling in behind. Blaney was in third and began challenging Palker as Jacobs motored away from the battle for second. Blaney got past Palker for second with a low backstretch pass on lap nine, and he began closing on Jacobs as the leader entered lapped traffic.

With a dozen laps in the books, Blaney was within striking distance of Jacobs. Two laps later the pair were side by side off turn four and Blaney slid under Jacobs exiting turn four to lead lap 14. Lap 16 saw the first caution, with Palker spinning in turn three, ending his fine third place effort. This put Jacobs, fifth starter Kinser and Chad Kemenah behind Blaney for the restart. Blaney pulled out to a nice lead when action stopped for a Jon Agan flip on lap 19. Once the mess was cleaned up, Blaney pushed out to another half straightaway lead over Jacobs, with Kinser stalking the Wooster, Ohio driver for third. With 11 circuits remaining, Kinser ducked under Jacobs for the runnerup spot. Blaney was now in lapped traffic, his lead evaporating every lap. Kinser moved closer and closer, but once Blaney cleared the lapped car of Caleb Griffith on lap 36, he had some breathing room. Once Kinser got past Griffith, he reeled Blaney in, but ran out of laps as the checkered flew, with Kinser finishing second by two car lengths.

"We were gaining on Dale but he was going pretty good. We just ran out of time," Kinser said of his late race second place charge.

"The car was awesome at the beginning of the race. But Dale and Kelly were going good. We just ran third and that's not bad for the first night out in this car. So we're happy," Jacobs said after finishing third. He utilized a Don Ott engine borrowed from former All Star racer Brian Ellenberger. Fourth was Kemenah, regaining the series points lead he lost to Danny Smith one race ago. "Super" Dave Harrison was fifth, followed by 11th starter John Ivy, Phil Gressman, Bill Rose, Jac Haudenschild (up from 20th starting spot) and Danny Smith.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Smith, the B&B Products heat went to Byron Reed, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Dean Jacobs in his brand new No. 27 and the TP Wings heat fell to Chad Blonde. Jason Dolick won the Outerwears Pre-filters C Main. The University of Northwestern Ohio B Main winner was David Harrison and Dale Blaney captured the Haulmark Dash. David Harrison was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier with a new track record of 16.047 seconds, snapping Shane Stewart's mark of 16.167 set in 2002.


Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. David Harrison, Ludwig 10, 16.047; 2. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 16.087; 3. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 16.134; 4. Ryan Coniam, Grove 70, 16.149; 5. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 16.197; 6. Dale Blaney, Andrews 72, 16.216; 7. Lee Jacobs, Burmeister 16, 16.221; 8. Phil Gressman, Robenalt 98, 16.236; 9. Jon Agan, Agan 4J, 16.281; 10. Andrew Palker, Palker 57x, 16.295; 11. Dean Jacobs, DJR 27, 16.338; 12. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 16.375; 13. John Ivy, Carousel 20, 16.379; 14. Randy Hannagan, THR 1x, 16.394; 15. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 16.404; 16. Mark Keegan, Keegan X, 16.407; 17. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 16.442; 18. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 16.461; 19. Brock Mayes, Mayes 11B, 16.472; 20. Chad Blonde, Blonde 5, 16.521; 21. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 16.531; 22. Matt Lucius, Lucius & Ludwig 1a, 16.561; 23. Jac Haudenschild, Miller 6m, 16.565; 24. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 16.613; 25. Tim Hunter, Hunter 2H, 16.667; 26. Kenny Jacobs, Kline 22, 16.670; 27. Scott Bonnell, Bonnell 3, 16.673; 28. Brandon Martin, Martin 11m, 16.694; 29. Todd Kane, Kane 78, 16.720; 30. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 16.771; 31. Caleb Griffith, Ludwig 12, 16.863; 32. Eddie Lynch, Lynch 29, 16.870; 33. Kyle Sauder, Kirian K, 16.883; 34. Paul May, May 71m, 16.884; 35. Duffy Smith, Mulheim 38k, 17.030; 36. Jamie Martin, Martin 15m, 17.033; 37. Jason Dolick, Dolick 70x, 17.135; 38. Aaron Middaugh, Middaugh 91, 17.251; 39. Nick Patterson, Patterson 33, 17.264; 40. Jac Neville, Haudenschild 2, 17.568; 41. Danny Mumaw, Mumaw 16m, 17.695; 42. Bill Ault, Ault 27, 17.721; 43. Butch Beasley, Beasley 1, 18.298; 44. Scott Groves, Groves X1, 18.535.

Crown Battery Heat (10 laps): 1. Da. Smith 2. Wilson 3. Ivy 4. Kinser 5. Hunter 6. Harrison 7. Kane 8. Sauder 9. Dolick 10. Agan 11. Mumaw.

B&B Products Heat (10 laps): 1. Reed 2. Kemenah 3. Hannagan 4. Palker 5. Blaney 6. K. Jacobs 7. Baxter 8. May 9. Middaugh 10. Lucius 11. Ault.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (10 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. Haudenschild 3. Mayes 4. Campbell 5. Griffith 6. Bonnell 7. Patterson 8. Du. Smith 9. Beasley 10. L. Jacobs 11. Chaney.

TP Wings Heat (10 laps): 1. Blonde 2. Gressman 3. Keegan 4. Ruble 5. Rose 6. B. Martin 7. Coniam 8. J. Martin 9. Lynch 10. Neville.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Blaney 2. Gressman 3. Kemenah 4. Kinser.

Outerwear Pre-filters C Main (10 laps): 1. Dolick 2. Middaugh 3. Patterson 4. Neville 5. Ault 6. Mumaw 7. Groves 8. Beasley.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (15 laps): 1. Harrison 2. Chaney 3. Kane 4. Agan 5. May 6. L. Jacobs 7. Sauder 8. B. Martin 9. J. Martin 10. Lucius 11. Neville 12. Baxter 13. Middaugh 14. Patterson 15. K. Jacobs 16. Coniam 17. Bonnell 18. Lynch 19. Dolick 20. Du. Smith.

Haulmark A Main (40 laps): 1. Dale Blaney 2. Kelly Kinser 3. Dean Jacobs 4. Chad Kemenah 5. David Harrison 6. John Ivy 7. Phil Gressman 8. Bill Rose 9. Jac Haudenschild 10. Danny Smith 11. Randy Hannagan 12. Rob Chaney 13. Tim Hunter 14. Mark Keegan 15. Byron Reed 16. Jeremy Campbell 17. Caleb Griffith 18. Andrew Palker 19. Greg Wilson 20. Brock Mayes 21. John Agan 22. Barry Ruble 23. Chad Blonde 24. Todd Kane.

Lap Leaders: Dean Jacobs 1-13, Dale Blaney 14-40.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Randy Hannagan , Shane Stewart , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Jac Haudenschild , Chad Kemenah , Paul May