ALLSTAR: Volusia Results 2-11-00

BARBERVILLE, FLA. - Danny Lasoski scored his second consecutive All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature win on the half-mile Volusia Speedway Park Friday night. Lasoski, from Dover, Mo., started sixth after being the ...

BARBERVILLE, FLA. - Danny Lasoski scored his second consecutive All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature win on the half-mile Volusia Speedway Park Friday night. Lasoski, from Dover, Mo., started sixth after being the fastest qualifier for the second straight night. He overtook early leader Craig Dollansky of St. Paul, Minn., at the halfway point of the 20-lap feature and led the remaining laps to the finish. The previous night Lasoski and his radically-designed Eagle chassis took nearly the whole race to run to the front. "The driver was a little messed up last night," Lasoski said. "Tonight I found the right line around the track and (crew chief) Jimmy Carr and the rest of the crew set up the car just right for me." Kasey Kahne of Enumclaw, Wash., finished third ahead of Kelly Kinser of Bloomington, Ind., and Frankie Kerr of Fremont, Ohio. Dollansky started on the pole and surged into the lead at the start. Lasoski was up to third by the third circuit, then took second from Kahne three laps later. Lasoski closed in on Dollansky on the eighth lap and took command two rounds later. Lasoski's Chevrolet powered machine, which has a wider cage for safety and to meet a new 1200 lb. weight rule instituted by the All Stars, is co-owned by NASCAR Winston Cup star Tony Stewart and Vern Massey of Jacksonville, Ill. American Compressed Steel, Durst Motorplex, Tom Johnson Camping, Matco Tools, Wesmar Race Engines, Eagle Chassis and Hoosier Tires are the backers of Lasoski's white and orange No. 20 sprint car. Dollansky had his red No. 7 in the front spot early in the previous night's feature, but lost a wheel and overturned. On this night, all four wheels stayed on the track and he brought his racer home second. "We had some bad luck last night, but we came up second tonight," he said. "I can't thank my team enough for the work they are doing. "We're gonna win some races; it just wasn't to be tonight," he added. Kahne had jumped from the third starting spot into second at the beginning of the race, and gave Dollansky a strong challenge before being passed by Lasoski. "The track was slicker tonight on the bottom and I just couldn't get it going on the top," Kahne said. Kinser charged from the 11th starting position and passed Kerr for fourth place with two laps to go. Kerr, who started on the outside of the front row, dropped out of the top five in the early going, but rebounded to place fifth. Completing the top 10 were 12th-place-starter Kenny Jacobs, second-fastest qualifier Todd Gracey, Greg Hodnett, Todd Shaffer and Rodney Duncan. In the companion United Midwestern Promoters open wheel modified feature, Scott Orr of Oakland City, Ind., was also a repeat feature winner, taking the checkered flag ahead of Chad Ogle of Sevierville, Tenn., James Sherreck of St. Charles, Mo., Dan Hamstra of Fair Oaks, Iowa and Gary Clark of Walker, Mo.

Time Trials: 1. Danny Lasoski, Massey 20, 13.726; 2. Todd Gracey, Cooper 25, 13.848; 3. Ed Lynch Jr., Lynch 2L, 13.883; 4. Kasey Kahne, Kahne 23K, 13.889; 5. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 13.922; 6. Craig Dollansky, Karavan 7, 13.950; 7. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 13.958; 8. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 13.964; 9. Greg Hodnett, Zemaitis 1z, 13.979; 10. Joey Saldana, Ashworth 92, 13.985; 11. Todd Shaffer, Beam 88, 13.985; 12. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 13.999; 13. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs/Honaker 6, 14.054; 14. James Chesson, Chesson 22, 14.072; 15. Billy Pauch, J&M 55, 14.096; 16. Lance Dewease, Harz 88, 14.108; 17. Gary Wright, Wright 9, 14.118; 18. Keith Kauffman, Middleswarth 7, 14.178; 19. Paul McMahan, Johnson U2, 14.243; 20. John Bankston, Bankston 8, 14.250; 21. Raymond Hensley, Miller 1r, 14.266; 22. P.J. Chesson, Chesson 76, 14.273; 23. Ricky Logan, Logan 4, 14.274; 24. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 14.337; 25. Terry Babb, Smith 2s, 14.379; 26. Ryan Flynn, Flynn F1, 14.397; 27. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 14.397; 28. Terry McCarl, McCarl 3, 14.409; 29. Mike Hudson, Hudson 1H, 14.425; 30. Ronald Laney, Laney 52, 14.450; 31. Matt Moro, Moro 2m, 14.455; 32. Mike Brecht, Brecht 97, 14.922; 33. Earnest Jennings, Jennings 61, 15.576; 34. Johnny Johnson, Johnson 72J, 15.702; 35. Tom Davies, Davies 44, 18.791.

United Expressline Heat Race: 1. Danny Lasoski, 2. Gary Wright, 3. Greg Hodnett, 4. Kenny Jacobs, 5. Frankie Kerr, 6. Mike Hudson, 7. Terry Babb, 8. Raymond Hensley, 9. Earnest Jennings. Southwest Expressline Heat Race: 1. Keith Kauffman, 2. Craig Dollansky, 3. James Chesson, 4. P.J. Chesson, 5. Todd Gracey, 6. Joey Saldana, 7. Ronald Laney, 8. Johnny Johnson, 9. Ryan Flynn. United Specialties Heat Race: 1. Billy Pauch, 2. Ricky Logan, 3. Paul McMahan, 4. Todd Shaffer, 5. Greg Wilson, 6. Ed Lynch Jr., 7. Matt Moro, 8. Tom Davies, 9. Jerrod Hull. Southwest Glass Heat Race: 1. John Bankston, 2. Kelly Kinser, 3. Kasey Kahne, 4. Rodney Duncan, 5. Brian Ellenberger, 6. Lance Dewease, 7. Terry McCarl, 8. Mike Brecht. United Expressline B Main: 1. Joey Saldana, 2. Lance Dewease, 3. Ed Lynch Jr., 4. Ronald Laney, 5. Matt Moro, 6. Terry McCarl, 7. Terry Babb, 8. Mike Hudson, 9. Earnest Jennings, 10. Jerrod Hull, 11. Johnny Johnson, 12. Tom Davies. DNS: Raymond Hensley, Ryan Flynn, Mike Brecht. A Feature Finish (20 laps): 1. Danny Lasoski, Dover, Mo.; 2. Craig Dollansky, St. Paul, Minn.; 3. Kasey Kahne, Enumclaw, Wash.; 4. Kelly Kinser, Bloomington, Ind.; 5. Frankie Kerr, Fremont, Ohio; 6. Kenny Jacobs, Holmesville, Ohio; 7. Todd Gracey, Brodbecks, Pa., 8. Greg Hodnett, Arlington, Tenn.; 9. Todd Shaffer, Millerstown, Pa.; 10. Rodney Duncan, Lockbourne, Ohio; 11. Billy Pauch, Frenchtown, N.J.; 12. James Chesson, Far Hills, N.J.; 13. Joey Saldana, Brownsburg, Ind.; 14. Keith Kauffman, Mifflintown, Pa.; 15. Ed Lynch Jr., Apollo, Pa.; 16. Paul McMahan, Bristol, Ind.; 17. Lance Dewease, Fayetteville, Pa.; 18. P.J. Chesson, Far Hills, N.J.; 19. Ronald Laney, Huble, Texas; 20. Brian Ellenberger, Butler, Pa.; 21. Ricky Logan, Jefferson City, Mo.; 22. John Bankston, Beaumont, Texas; 23. Gary Wright, Hooks, Texas; 24. Greg Wilson, Benton Ridge, Ohio.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Danny Lasoski , Kasey Kahne , James Chesson , Craig Dollansky , Kenny Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , P.J. Chesson , Billy Pauch , Greg Wil