ALLSTAR: Tri State results 2004-06-13

HAUBSTADT, IN -- Chad Kemenah took advantage of a late race restart to pass Lee Dunn Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway to win the caution plagued Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. Early leader Jac Haudenschild looked strong initially,...

HAUBSTADT, IN -- Chad Kemenah took advantage of a late race restart to pass Lee Dunn Sunday night at Tri-State Speedway to win the caution plagued Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. Early leader Jac Haudenschild looked strong initially, but a spin all by himself on lap four sent him to the rear, dropping him from contention for the win. But Haudenschild did not give up, racing his way back to eighth place at the finish.

Missouri's Dunn and Ohio's Haudenschild brought the 24 car field down for the green flag with Haudenschild grabbing the lead over Dunn, Greg Wilson and Tim Hunter. After a restart with a single lap in the books, Haudenschild led over Dunn and Wilson with Dunn moving up to the high groove to challenge the Wild Child for the lead. Another caution thwarted Dunn's move, allowing Haudenschild to retain the lead.

Bad luck hit when Haudenschild lost the handle on the Jamie Miller No. 6m in turn three, executing a 360 degree spin which brought out the yellow. This sent Haudenschild to the rear for the restart on lap four and handed the lead to Dunn, with Wilson in second and Danny Smith third. Smith tried to get past Wilson in the low groove, but Wilson slammed the door to keep the spot. Kyle Cummins hit the turn four wall and flipped with six laps complete, slowing action again.

Dunn was still on top for the restart, and led before a crash between Wilson and Smith sent them both to the pits for repairs. Wilson put a huge slide job on Dunn for the lead, but ended up hitting the fence, collecting Smith in the process. Only Smith was able to make front end repairs and rejoin the back of the field.

Dunn now led over fifth starting Kemenah, Kelly Kinser, Hunter and Randy Hannagan. Dunn was able to stretch his advantage over Kemenah and the leaders narrowly avoided disaster on lap 10 when Curt Trainer spun right in front of second place Kemenah just after being lapped by Dunn. Kemenah was able to just miss Trainer as the caution flew again. Haudenschild was the man on the move, passing Kevin Briscoe for tenth on lap 13. He moved to ninth two circuits later.

As the leaders entered heavy lapped traffic, Kemenah tried a slide job on lap 16, but Dunn repelled the charge. Heavy traffic slowed Dunn again on lap 24 with Kemenah trying another slide job. Just as Kemenah dove alongside Dunn, Tim Montgomery spun, bringing out a caution.

This was a break for Dunn, who now had a clear track ahead of him. Dunn led again, but a caution flag with three laps to go was his undoing. Kemenah charged past Dunn on the restart, leading the final few circuits for his third win of the season in the Jim Harble No. 15K Kistler powered Eagle .

Kinser and Hunter also got past Dunn, who ended up fourth. Hunter's third place run was the best All Star finish of his career. Randy Hannagan held on for fifth, followed by Jerrod Hull and Bill Rose. Haudenschild was the man on the move all night, ending up eighth, ahead of Jeremy Campbell and Smith, nursing home a badly bent and damaged sprinter.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Jerrod Hull, the B&B Products heat went to Cummins and the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Jan Howard. Ryan Coniam won the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main. Kemenah captured the Haulmark Dash and Smith was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Danny Smith 11.481.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. Jerrod Hull 2. Randy Hannagan 3. Jeremy Campbell 4. Danny Smith 5. Tim Hunter 6. Tim Montgomery 7. Tom Busch 8. Barry Ruble 9. Brock Mayes 10. Jeff Davis.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Kyle Cummins 2. Chad Kemenah 3. Paul May 4. Jac Haudenschild 5. Alex Shanks 6. Kelly Kinser 7. Ryan Coniam 8. Curt Trainer 9. Eddie Lynch.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. Jan Howard 2. Greg Wilson 3. Kaley Gharst 4. Lee Dunn 5. Bill Rose 6. Jon Agan 7. Jason Evans 8. Donnie Brackett 9. Kevin Briscoe.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Kemenah 2. Wilson 3. Smith 4. Hunter.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (10 laps): 1. Coniam 2. Briscoe 3. Busch 4. Mayes 5. Trainer 6. Evans 7. Lynch 8. Ruble 9. Brackett.

Haulmark A Main (30 laps): 1. Chad Kemenah 2. Kelly Kinser 3. Tim Hunter 4. Lee Dunn 5. Randy Hannagan 6. Jerrod Hull 7. Bill Rose 8. Jac Haudenschild 9. Jeremy Campbell 10. Danny Smith 11. Kevin Briscoe 12. Paul May 13. Jan Howard 14. Tom Busch 15. Brock Mayes 16. Jon Agan 17. Tim Montgomery 18. Jason Evans 19. Curt Trainer 20. Greg Wilson 21. Kyle Cummins 22. Ryan Coniam 23. Alex Shanks 24. Kaley Gharst.

Lap Leaders: Jac Haudenschild 1-4, Lee Dunn 5-27, Chad Kemenah 28-30.

All Star Sprint Points:
1 Chad Kemenah 1042
2 Danny Smith 985
3 Greg Wilson 935
4 Jeremy Campbell 877
5 Jac Haudenschild 773
6 Tim Hunter 771
7 Brock Mayes 762
8 Ryan Coniam 752
9 Paul May 732
10 Jon Agan 707

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Randy Hannagan , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Jac Haudenschild , Chad Kemenah , Paul May