ALLSTAR: Thunderhill results 2008-08-01

Night 2 of The Thunder Through the Plains to Hannagan With temperatures reaching almost 100 degrees and heat-indexes well above, Randy "The Hurricane" Hannagan brought home the $5,000 winner's fee for night ...

Night 2 of The Thunder Through the Plains to Hannagan

With temperatures reaching almost 100 degrees and heat-indexes well above, Randy "The Hurricane" Hannagan brought home the $5,000 winner's fee for night #2 of the 2008 Thunder Through the Plains. The annual O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions event stayed one more night in Kansas as America's Series visited the famed Thunderhill Speedway in Mayetta, Kansas.

Hannagan, driving the Penthouse/ #1x, drove a hard race which found many drivers rides dealing with the elements and high speed surface. Danny Lasoski was the event's onset leader, but his mount was found to have mechanical woes. Brandon Martin then took over the top honors, which soured after Martin got too high in turns one and two. Martin would come back from repairs to finish 8^th .

Once Hannagan took the lead, there was no looking back, jumping out to huge leads after a number of caution flags. The victory for Hannagan tightens up an already close points battle for 2008. Greg Wilson in the All Star Plumbing #w20 machine would improve position by taking home 2^nd on the racy surface. Pole Sitter Brian Ellenberger would come home 3^rd in his CarMate #20E. Rounding out the top 5, Dale Blaney finished 4^th , and Jeremy Campbell would charge forward from the back to take home 5^th , after an onset mishap with another car.

Dale Blaney in the George Fisher Owned/Wrenched #2 car made haste in the Member Only Dash affair. Blaney would show the way over the fastest 6 qualifying fellow O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champion members. The Dash has become a very valuable tool for the drivers and an additional incentive for members as the fastest 6 get the final run of the track before the evenings feature.

The first heat race of the night belonged to Kim Kennedy in the Moyle Engines #1K. Kennedy, who finds himself on a limited schedule due to the lack of 410 events in the area did very well by holding off a very stout set of competitors. Mike Chadd in the Carpetland #4 would take his second heat race victory of the weekend. The third heat race went to Bob Schaffer in the Och #93 car.

Greg Wilson would set quick time on the night. Wilson, in the All Star Plumbing #W20 was followed in qualifying with Danny Lasoski in the American Compressed Steel #33 as second quick. Brandon Martin would qualify 3^rd in the Level Performance #11M mount.

The O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions are set to take on the 1/3 mile Eagle Raceway for night #3 of the 2008 Thunder Through the Plains on Saturday, August 2. Eagle Raceway is located just off US Highway 34 near Eagle, Nebraska and features some of the fastest short track racing in the area. Often known for it's high banked surface, many drivers will find themselves testing the limits of their sprinters on one of Nebraska's premiere facilities.

Official Results

1) Greg Wilson -- W20
2) Danny Lasoski -- 33
3) Brandon Martin -- 11M
4) Randy Hannagan -- 1X
5) Dale Blaney -- 2
6) Brian Ellenberger -- 20E
7) Tim Shaffer -- 83
8) Lance Dewease -- 30C
9) Chad Blonde -- 5B
10) Ryan Meyer -- 56R
11) Brad Greer -- 3B
12) Bruce White -- 96AU
13) Lee Stark -- 16
14) Mike Chadd -- 4
15) JR Topper -- 92J
16) Kim Kennedy -- 1K
17) Stu Snyder -- 21
18) Bob Schaffer -- 93
19) Zach Davis -- 3Z
20) Randy Hibbs -- 2A
21) Chris Morgan -- 7C
22) Miranda Throckmorton -- 22T
23) Dusty Murray -- 46
24) Jeremy Campbell -- 0

Heat Race 1 Finish
1) Kim Kennedy
2) Tim Shaffer
3) Greg Wilson
4) Lee Stark
5) Ryan Meyer
6) Randy Hannagan
7) Miranda Throckmorton
8) Zach Davis (DNS)

Heat Race 2 Finish
1) Mike Chadd
2) Lance Dewease
3) Danny Lasoski
4) Dale Blaney
5) Stu Snyder
6) Brad Greer
7) Dusty Murray
8) Randy Hibbs

Heat Race 3 Finish
1) Bob Schaffer
2) Chad Blonde
3) Bruce White
4) Brian Ellenberger
5) Jeremy Campbell
6) Brandon Martin
7) Chris Morgan
8) JR Topper

Dash Finish
1) Dale Blaney
2) Greg Wilson
3) Randy Hannagan
4) Brian Ellenberger
5) Lance Dewease
6) Tim Shaffer

Feature Finish
1) Randy Hannagan
2) Greg Wilson
3) Brian Ellenberger
4) Dale Blaney
5) Jeremy Campbell
6) Ryan Meyer
7) Brad Greer
8) Brandon Martin
9) Stu Snyder
10) Bob Schaffer
11) Lee Stark
12) Dusty Murray
13) Bruce White
14) Tim Shaffer
15) Miranda Throckmorton
16) Kim Kennedy
17) Lance Dewease
18) JR Topper
19) Danny Lasoski
20) Zach Davis
21) Chris Morgan
22) Randy Hibbs
23) Chad Blonde
24) Mike Chadd

-credit: allstarsprint

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Randy Hannagan , Greg Wil , Chris Morgan , Bruce White