ALLSTAR: St. Fair results 2000-08-56

All Star Sprint Race Results - State Fair Speedway - Tue. 8/15/99 By David Smith, Jr. SEDALIA, MO - Mike Goodman has really taken a liking to the month of August. Last year at Tulsa, Mike picked up his first ever Thunder Tour victory which...

All Star Sprint Race Results - State Fair Speedway - Tue. 8/15/99 By David Smith, Jr.

SEDALIA, MO - Mike Goodman has really taken a liking to the month of August. Last year at Tulsa, Mike picked up his first ever Thunder Tour victory which was his first sanctioned victory of any kind. This year has brought lots of good runs and bad runs for the Tulsa driver. But lately it has all been great as Goodman took the lead with ten laps to go and went unchallenged the rest of the way to win the second night of the sixth annual Thunder Through the Plains feature, featuring the O'Reilly Auto Parts National Championship Racing Association against the All-Star Circuit of Champions sprint cars Tuesday night at State Fair Motor Speedway. ButlerBuilt hot seat pole setter Danny Smith took the lead as the green flag fell followed by Goodman and NCRA rookie of the year contender Travis Rilat, Aaron Berryhill and Kenny Jacobs. Rilat and his Chris Archer owned CompUSA sprinter quickly pressured the veteran Smith and raced side by side with the leader on lap two. One lap later Rilat caught Goodman in turn two and then got a run up high coming out of turn four and squeezed in between the front stretch guardrail and Smith to take the lead. Rilat then set sail on the rest of the field and opened up a quick six car length advantage by lap six. Rilat began approaching lapped traffic on lap eight while behind him, Goodman had caught Smith up high coming out of turn two for the runner up position. Goodman quickly closed the gap on the leader and at the races half-way point it was Rilat, Goodman, Smith and Jacobs. While battling in heavy traffic after completing lap fourteen, Rilat got sideways coming out of turn two. Goodman took advantage of the miscue and passed Rilat to take the lead. Goodman quickly opened up a ten car length lead as all eyes were now focused on the runner up position as current All-Star points leader Jacobs began pressuring for the spot, passing Rilat briefly on lap twenty. But the NCRA rookie contender regained the position down the back straightaway and was looking to set his sights back to the top spot. But there was no catching Goodman as he went on to claim the twelve car length victory in his Chevrolet-powered machine. Jacobs settled for third, followed by Smith with Aaron Berryhill rounding out the top five. The feature was caution free and saw all 24 drivers finish the feature. Heat races for the 39 car field were won by Todd Gracey, Larry Neighbors, Billy Vielhauer and Zach Chappell while Kinser won the Commercial Truck and Trailer dash. Current NCRA points leader Gary Wright had his problems start early. The seven time and defending series champion suffered a flat right rear tire in the second heat race causing him to run the Georgia Marketing and Promotions B feature. Wright started on the front row pole and led all twelve laps to take the victory while Ryan Flynn passed Aaron Berryhill with two laps to go for second. Last years NCRA rookie of the year Travis Rilat and Michael Lambert battled the final two laps for the fourth and final transfer position. Coming down for the checked flag both drivers got together with Lambert flipping end over end several times before finally coming to rest entering turn one. Lambert complained of pain in his legs and back and was transported by ambulance to a local hospital. No word on his condition as we go to press. HEAT (8 laps) - Zach Chappell, Chad Kenenah, Steve King, Travis Rilat, Kevin Huntley, Aaron Berryhill, Jason Sides, Tracy Nichols, Barry Ruble.

HEAT (8 laps) - Billy Vielhauer, Brian Grimes, Mike Goodman, Rodney Duncan, Nick Haygood, Jim Moughan, Ty Boyles, Matt Saint, Wayne Johnson, Jessee Hackett.

HEAT (8 laps) - Larry Neighbors, Steve Gennetten, Kelly Kinser, Danny Smith, Jason Johnson, Ted Lee, Ken Stoffus, Dan Oswalt, Gary Wright, Earnest Jennings.

HEAT (8 laps) - Todd Gracy, Jerrod Hull, Travis Whitney, Kenny Jacobs, Calvin Landis, Greg Wilson, Michael Lambert, Kevin Whitesides, Brian Flynn, Kevin Frisbie.

COMMERCIAL TRUCK & TRAILER DASH - 1, Kelly Kinser 2, Kenny Jacobs 3, Rodney Duncan 4, Danny Smith 5, Jerrod Hull 6, Kevin Huntley.

GMP B FEATURE (12 laps) - 1, Gary Wright. 2, Ryan Flynn. 3, Aaron Berryhill. 4, Michael Lambert. 5, Jason Sides. 6, Jim Moughan. 7, Greg Wilson. 8, Ted Lee. 9, Ty Boyles. 10, Kevin Whitesides. 11, Barry Ruble. 12, Tracy Nichols. 13, Don Oswalt. 14, Kevin Frisbie. 15, Jessee Hackett. 16, Matt Saint. 17, Ken Stoffus. 18, Earnest Jennings.

A FEATURE (25 laps) - 1, Mike Goodman. 2, Travis Rilat. 3, Kenny Jacobs. 4, Danny Smith. 5, Aaron Berryhill. 6, Chad Kemanah. 7, Gary Wright. 8, Jerrod Hull. 9, Kevin Huntley. 10, Rodney Duncan. 11, Ryan Flynn. 12, Steve Gennetton. 13, Jason Johnson. 14, Travis Whitney. 15, Brian Grimes. 16, Calvin Landis. 17, Jason Sides. 18, Todd Gracy. 19, Larry Neighbors. 20, Nick Haygood. 21, Billy Vielhauer. 22, Zach Chappell. 23, Steve King. 24, Kelly Kinser.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Larry Neighbors , Aaron Berryhill , Jason Sides , Travis Rilat , Greg Wil , Wayne Johnson , Jason Johnson