ALLSTAR: Spoon River results

CANTON, IL -- It was win number three on the Haulmark All Star sprint season for Danny Smith Friday night at Spoon River Speedway. It was the first visit by the series to the 3/8 mile oval and a huge crowd was on hand to see Smith's 27th career...

CANTON, IL -- It was win number three on the Haulmark All Star sprint season for Danny Smith Friday night at Spoon River Speedway. It was the first visit by the series to the 3/8 mile oval and a huge crowd was on hand to see Smith's 27th career All Star win in the Pence GMC-Olds Doug Williams Trucking Maxim. Smith passed Jeremy Campbell to lead the final six laps for the win.

Dean Jacobs and Campbell led the field to the green flag for the 30 lap contest with Jacobs using the low groove to grab the top spot from Campbell in turn three to lead the first lap. Campbell went high the next lap to grab the lead back from Jacobs. Once in front, Campbell, in the G-Force Racing, Penske Racing Shocks, Benic Enterprises, K&N Filters Maxim-Gaerte began pulling away from Jacobs. Fourth starting Smith took second with four laps in the books, and Smith began catching the leader once he was in lapped traffic.

Jacobs spun the Webb No. 51 on lap 11, bringing out the caution. This dropped Jacobs from third and he restarted at the back of the pack.

Kemenah moved into third for the restart, followed by Kerry Madsen and Randy Hannagan. Campbell held a nice lead over Smith and Kemenah, but Campbell jumped the cushion in turn two just past the halfway mark of the event. This miscue allowed Smith to pull right up to the back push bar of Campbell, and the race for the lead was on. Heavy lapped traffic came into play as Smith looked for a way around Campbell, but yet had to repel the advances of Kemenah.

With 23 laps in the books, Smith finally moved off the bottom groove to get through lapped traffic. Campbell went low with a lapped car in the middle groove and Smith drove around the top of the speedway to lead lap 24. Two laps later, Terry McCarl, running eighth, spun to bring out another caution. McCarl was forced to exit the event. The lineup was now Smith, Campbell, Kemenah, Hannagan and Madsen. Kemenah applied heavy pressure to Campbell following the restart as Madsen and Hannagan also raced side by side.

At the finish it was Smith over Kemenah, who got past Campbell for second at the end. Hannagan held on for fourth, just ahead of an amazing drive by Jerrod Hull. Hull started 20th and earned the Fisher Performance Hard Charger award for his methodical race into fifth. Madsen was sixth ahead of Wayne Johnson, Scott Young's brand new car, Cameron Dodson (who started 16th) and veteran Jim Moughan.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Phil Gressman, the B&B Products heat went to Jerrod Hull, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Paul May and the TP Wings heat fell to Greg Wilson. Terry McCarl won the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main and Campbell captured the Haulmark Dash. Wayne Johnson was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier with a new track record of 11.383 seconds, topping a 43 car field. Bill Rose flipped in heat race number two and he emerged uninjured but was through for the evening.

The All Stars return to action Saturday night July 31 at Hartford (MI) Speedway Park and also on Sunday Aug. 1 at the South Buxton (ON, Canada) Raceway.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: Fast Time Wayne Johnson 11.383 (NTR). 43 cars.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. Phil Gressman 2. Jeremy Campbell 3. Ricky Logan 4. Ryan Bunton 5. Terry Babb 6. Bobby Hawks 7. Randy Hannagan 8. Matt Rogerson 9. Brian Kristian 10. Mike Deavers 11. Johnson.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Jerrod Hull 2. Dean Jacobs 3. Chad Kemenah 4. Cameron Dodson 5. Jon Agan 6. Terry McCarl 7. Robbie Standridge 8. Eddie Lynch 9. Patrick Haynes 10. A.J. Bruns 11. Adam Jones.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. Paul May 2. Jim Moughan 3. Brock Mayes 4. Kerry Madsen 5. Bill Waite Jr. 6. Joey Moughan 7. Matt Sutton 8. Ryan Jamison 9. Barry Ruble 10. Jimmy Hurley 11. Bill Rose.

TP Wings Heat (8 laps): 1. Greg Wilson 2. Jason Sowold 3. Derek O'Dell 4. Manny Rockhold 5. Danny Smith 6. Tim Hunter 7. Scott Young 8. Jeff Davis 9. Pat Bruns 10. Kaley Gharst.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Campbell 2. Wilson 3. Kemenah 4. Smith.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (12 laps): 1. McCarl 2. Hannagan 3. Johnson 4. Young 5. Hurley.

Haulmark A Main (30 laps): 1. Danny Smith 2. Chad Kemenah 3. Jeremy Campbell 4. Randy Hannagan 5. Jerrod Hull 6. Kerry Madsen 7. Wayne Johnson 8. Scott Young 9. Cameron Dodson 10. Jim Moughan 11. Terry Babb 12. Dean Jacobs 13. Jason Sowold 14. Phil Gressman 15. Jon Agan 16. Manny Rockhold 17. Ricky Logan 18. Paul May 19. Ryan Bunton 20. Derek O'Dell 21. Bill Waite Jr. 22. Terry McCarl 23. Greg Wilson 24. Brock Mayes.

Lap Leaders: Dean Jacobs 1, Jeremy Campbell 2-23, Danny Smith 24-30.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Dean Jacobs , Jason Solwood , Kerry Madsen , Randy Hannagan , Adam Jones , Cameron Dodson , Joey Moughan , Greg Wil , Scott Young , Bill Rose , Wayne Johnson , Chad Kemenah , Paul May
Teams Williams , Team Penske