ALLSTAR: South Buxton rain makeup results 2004-08-01

MERLIN, ON, CN -- Chad Kemenah stretched out his points lead Sunday night at South Buxton Raceway with a win in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. It was the first visit by the series to a track outside of the United States. Kemenah...

MERLIN, ON, CN -- Chad Kemenah stretched out his points lead Sunday night at South Buxton Raceway with a win in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. It was the first visit by the series to a track outside of the United States. Kemenah started sixth and led the final ten circuits en route to the win.

"It's great to be in Canada, Isn't it?" Kemenah asked after the win. "We were hoping the track would come in better for us halfway through the race. You really have to hit your marks at this place or somebody is probably going to get by you," Kemenah said of the unique track D shape. His win came in the familiar Jim Harble owned Kistler powered Eagle Chassis.

"This is a neat place," runnerup Greg Wilson stated. "It got racy near the end of the feature."

Jeremy Campbell and Tim Hunter led the field to the green flag, with Campbell jumping out to a strong lead over Phil Gressman. Gressman met with disaster on lap seven when he ran up on a lapped car and turned sideways, tipping over on the back stretch. The red was thrown to clean up Gressman's incident. He was able to restart. This put Kemenah in second behind Campbell, with Tim Hunter third. Campbell led through two more restarts and by lap 10 the order was Campbell, Kemenah, Hunter, Greg Wilson, Dean Jacobs, Danny Smith, Bill Rose and Paul May, who started 15th.

Wilson got past Hunter for third and began putting pressure on Kemenah. Lap 17 saw Kemenah dive low under Campbell, but Campbell kept control at the stripe, and a lap later the lead duo were nose to tail. Kemenah drove around Campbell to lead lap 20, and from then on he pushed out to a big lead on the 3/8 mile oval. Wilson went into second around Campbell on lap 27, with Campbell third, Jacobs fourth and Hunter now fifth.

A tangle between Barry Ruble and eighth place Brock Mayes brought out the caution on lap 28, which became a red flag fuel stop due to excessive caution laps.

Kemenah led the final two circuits for his fourth win of the season. Wilson ended up second with Campbell third and Jacobs fourth. Hunter held on for fifth with Danny Smith sixth followed by Paul may, Bill Rose, Gressman and the 360 powered machine of Keith Dempster.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Kyle Patrick, the B&B Products heat went to Eddie Lynch, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won May by and Phil Gressman captured the Haulmark Dash. Chad Kemenah was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier with a new track record of 14.923 seconds.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 14.923 (NTR); 2. Dean Jacobs, Webb 51, 15.535; 3. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 15.708; 4. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 15.764; 5. Phil Gressman, Grove 70, 15.843; 6. Tim Hunter, Hunter 2, 15.947; 7. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 16.055; 8. Jon Agan, Agan 4J, 16.144; 9. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 16.182; 10. Steve Irwin, Irwin 0, 16.250; 11. Keith Dempster, Dempster 5, 16.423; 12. Brock Mayes, Mayes 11B, 16.609; 13. Warren Mahoney, Mahoney 25, 16.718; 14. Eddie Lynch, Lynch 29, 16.814; 15. Paul May, May 71m, 16.825; 16. Kyle Patrick, Patrick 33k, 16.855; 17. Adam West, West 30, 16.883; 18. John Riegling, Riegling 1a, 16.964; 19. Willy Northcott, Northcott 12, 16.974; 20. Les MacMillan, MacMillan 77, 17.111; 21. Jack Pillon, Pillon 18J, 17.319; 22. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 17.499; 23. Daryl Turford, Turford 93, 17.627; 24. Cody Geldart, Geldart 6, 17.639; 25. Jason Haskell, Haskell 21H, NT.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. Patrick 2. Wilson 3. Campbell 4. Kemenah 5. Mahoney 6. Irwin 7. Ruble 8. Northcott 9. Haskell.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Lynch 2. Agan 3. Gressman 4. Dempster 5. West 6. Turford 7. MacMillan 8. Jacobs.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. May 2. Rose 3. Smith 4. Mayes 5. Geldart 6. Hunter 7. Riegling 8. Pillon.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Gressman 2. Wilson 3. Kemenah 4. Smith.

Haulmark A Main (30 laps): 1. Chad Kemenah 2. Greg Wilson 3. Jeremy Campbell 4. Dean Jacobs 5. Tim Hunter 6. Danny Smith 7. Paul May 8. Bill Rose 9. Phil Gressman 10. Keith Dempster 11. Steve Irwin 12. Warren Mahoney 13. Eddie Lynch 14. Kyle Patrick 15. Cody Geldart 16. Adam West 17. John Riegling 18. Barry Ruble 19. Brock Mayes 20. Jack Pillon 21. Jon Agan 22. Willy Norcott 23. Daryl Turford 24. Les MacMillian 25. Jason Haskell.

Lap Leaders: Jeremy Campbell 1-19, Chad Kemenah 20-30.

<pre> All Star Sprint Points: 1 Chad Kemenah 2291 2 Danny Smith 2154 3 Greg Wilson 2080 4 Jeremy Campbell 1936 5 Tim Hunter 1757 6 Brock Mayes 1722 7 Paul May 1655 8 Bill Rose 1619 9 Jon Agan 1609 10 Eddie Lynch 1546

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Dean Jacobs , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Chad Kemenah , Paul May