ALLSTAR: Sharon Results 4/28

All Star Sprint Race Results - Sharon (OH) Speedway - Fri. 4/28/00 By Scott Hall HARTFORD, OH - Kenny Jacobs used his years of experience at Sharon Speedway and passed Kasey Kahne Friday night to win the All Star sprint 30-lap ...

All Star Sprint Race Results - Sharon (OH) Speedway - Fri. 4/28/00 By Scott Hall

HARTFORD, OH - Kenny Jacobs used his years of experience at Sharon Speedway and passed Kasey Kahne Friday night to win the All Star sprint 30-lap feature, thrilling a packed grandstand of Sharon race fans. He earned $5,000 for his first win of the season aboard the Jacobs/Honaker Motorsports Kriner-Chevrolet powered Eagle chassis. "Barry Jackson and Aaron Hammer worked hard tonight," Jacobs said of his crew from victory lane. "Goodyear went to work and built us a new tire and I got lucky and got one of them tonight and it made a heck of a difference. I could run inside or outside, it was fun tonight." Kahne started on the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole position, with Chad Kemenah alongside and Rodney Duncan and Jacobs in row two. Dave Calaman and Frankie Kerr made up row three for the start. Following an aborted start after Jarod Larson spun following contact with Danny Smith, Kahne grabbed the lead on the restart of the event with Smith restarting on the rear after changing a flat tire. Kahne led over Kemenah, Jacobs and Kerr. Into lapped traffic on lap five, Jacobs closed on Kemenah and made the pass for second on lap seven exiting turn four. Now Jacobs set his sights on the leader Kahne, and the duo were nose to tail on lap 11 with Kemenah third and Kerr fourth with Dean Jacobs fifth. Lap 13 saw Kenny try a slide job on Kahne in turn four, but the move did not stick. A lap later, Jacobs dove under Kahne in turn three and this time the move worked and he assumed the lead over Kahne, Kemenah, Kerr, D. Jacobs and Rodney Duncan. Jacobs began pulling away slightly from Kahne, steadily increasing his lead until a caution flew on lap 24 when D. Jacobs flattened a right rear tire and spun, ending up against the wall with Byron Reed also stopping against the wall. K. Jacobs pulled away to a full straightaway lead over Kahne as the green reappeared and the laps wound down before another stoppage on lap 27 for a red flag. The accident started when Tommy Quarterson flipped, with Brad Ellenberger and Craig Rankin were also involved. Kenny pulled away easily from Kahne for the final three circuits, winning by a quarter of a lap. Kahne was second at the finish with Kerr, who got around Kemenah on lap 21 third, and Kemenah's Gambler fourth. Duncan was fifth with eighth starting Jimmy Hawley a consistent sixth. Kahne, after his runner-up finish, said, "Once Kenny got by me our car started going away a liltle. We tightened it up under the red and we were pretty good again, but we had to get by those lapped cars and that took a little time." Kelly Kinser finished seventh, winning the Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven award and the TW Metals $100 nightly bonus after starting 11th in a rare Sharon appearance. Dean Jacobs, Byron Reed and Greg Wilson finished out the top ten. The heats went to Phil Gressman, Smith, Kinser and Dean Jacobs with Dave Calaman the B Main winner. Greg Wilson captured the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash and Kerr set quick time over the 36 car field with a 15.764 clocking. Time Trials: 1. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 15.764; 2. Dave Calaman, Ashworth 92, 15.790; 3. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs/Honecker 6, 15.831; 4. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 15.890; 5. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 16.035; 6. Kasey Kahne, Kahne 23K, 16.035; 7. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 16.048; 8. Jimmy Hawley, Crawford C3, 16.066; 9. Jarod Larson, Clemson 47, 16.070; 10. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 16.086; 11. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4K, 16.087; 12. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 18, 16.122; 13. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 16.166; 14. Tom Quarterson, Sloss 00, 16.227; 15. Ed Lynch, Jr., Lynch 2L, 16.205; 16. Marty Ling, Ling 47, 16.275; 17. Todd Gracey, Cooper 25, 16.280; 18. Tom Burns, Brest 16, 16.285; 19. Brad Ellenberger, Ellenberger 87, 16.309; 20. Craig Rankin, Guzzo 77, 16.312; 21. Phil Gressman, Reidling 9, 16.409; 22. Danny Smith, Baker 4, 16.435; 23. Mike Kekich, Kekich 5k, 16.464; 24. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 16.550; 25. Gary Edwards, Schuller 61, 16.641; 26. Daryl Stimeling, Stimeling 30, 16.962; 27. Gary McCann, McCann 94, 17.113; 28. Doug Kekich, Kekich 19, 17.157; 29. Mike Marano II, M&M 34, 17.318; 30. Jeff Schrum, Minor 2m, 17.347; 31. Bruce Powell, Powell 35, 17.456; 32. Gary McCollum, McCollum 17, 17.732; 33. C. W. Harshman, Harshman 53, 18.017; 34. Dan Taylor, Taylor 22, 18.084; 35. Jerry Frew, Frew 4f, 19.812; 36. Jamie McKinney, McKinney 95, 34.919. Heat (8 laps): 1. Gressman 2. Gracey 3. Kemenah 4. Reed 5. Kerr 6. Larson 7. Edwards 8. Marano 9. Harshman. Heat (8 laps): 1. Smith 2. Brian Ellenberger 3. Kahne 4. Quarterson 5. Burns 6. Calaman 7. Stimeling 8. Schrum 9. Taylor. Heat (8 laps): 1. Kinser 2. K. Jacobs 3. Wilson 4. Lynch 5. Brad Ellenberger 6. Powell 7. McCann 8. Frew 9. M. Kekich. Heat (8 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. Hull 3. Rankin 4. Duncan 5. Hawley 6. Ling 7. D. Kekich 8. McCollum 9. McKinney. Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash (4 laps): 1. Wilson 2. Kahne 3. Kemenah 4. Duncan 5. Kerr 6. K. Jacobs. B Main (12 laps): 1. Calaman 2. Larson 3. Stimeling 4. Edwards 5. Ling 6. D. Kekich 7. McCann 8. McKinney 9. McCollum 10. Powell 11. Harshman 12. Marano 13. Taylor 14. Frew. A Main (30 laps): 1. Kenny Jacobs 2. Kasey Kahne 3. Frankie Kerr 4. Chad Kemenah 5. Rodney Duncan 6. Jimmy Hawley 7. Kelly Kinser 8. Dean Jacobs 9. Byron Reed 10. Greg Wilson 11. Brian Ellenberger 12. Dave Calaman 13. Jerrod Hull 14. Danny Smith 15. Ed Lynch Jr. 16. Todd Gracey 17. Phil Gressman 18. Tom Burns 19. Brad Ellenberger 20. Gary Edwards 21. Tom Quarterson 22. Craig Rankin 23. Daryl Stimeling 24. Jarod Larson.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kasey Kahne , Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Greg Wil , Chad Kemenah
Teams HART