ALLSTAR: Sharon results 2005-09-03

HARTFORD, OH -- Mark Smith benefited from the misfortune of Stevie Smith Saturday night at Sharon Speedway to win the Haulmark All Star sprint car 40 lap Sharon Nationals A main feature. S. Smith was leading the race comfortably when he blew his...

HARTFORD, OH -- Mark Smith benefited from the misfortune of Stevie Smith Saturday night at Sharon Speedway to win the Haulmark All Star sprint car 40 lap Sharon Nationals A main feature. S. Smith was leading the race comfortably when he blew his engine on lap 37, handing the win to Pennsylvania's Mark Smith. Smith then held off Randy Hannagan and Chad Kemenah for the 25th annual Sharon Nationals trophy.

"We were bound and determined to win tonight," M. Smith said, standing beside the Zemco Maxim with a Rider engine under the hood. "I told the guys before we came out to wear their best clothes because we were going to stand out here tonight and get our picture taken. What do you know, here we are! I think we had something for Stevie, but you never know."

Stevie Smith and Hannagan started from the front row with Kenny Jacobs and Ryan Coniam in row two. Hannagan grabbed the initial lead in the THR Racing Gaerte-powered No. 1x, with Coniam in tow. S. Smith was running third, in a heated battle with M. Smith for that spot. The Smiths traded that spot several times by the time the first caution flew for a Jeremy Campbell and Cody Geldart spin on lap 11. Hannagan was still on top for the restart, with Coniam looking strong in second. S. Smith began applying pressure on Coniam, and Kemenah and M. Smith battled for fourth.

Another caution flew at the halfway mark with Hannagan on top over Coniam, S. Smith, M. Smith and Kemenah. S. Smith got past Coniam after the restart and set his sights on the leader. The leaders were nose to tail on lap 29 and S. Smith put a slide job move on Hannagan in turns one and two to take the lead on lap 30. From then on Smith pulled out to a big lead until a puff of smoke appeared under the hood and Smith pulled into the infield with an expired power plant.

This handed the lead to Mark Smith, who had just taken over second from Hannagan. M. Smith pulled away from Hannagan to record the win and Kemenah charged hard on the last lap to get past Rod George and finish third.

"I thought we had something but our tires gave up at the end," Hannagan said after finishing second. "The tires were good on the restart but they just wouldn't last. Stevie Smith was definitely the car to beat. We had a third place car tonight. Also congratulations to Mark Smith."

George was fourth after starting 13th, followed by Dale Blaney, Coniam, Danny Smith, Brock Mayes, Greg Wilson and Paul May, who came from the back after changing a tire on lap 10. The Crown Battery heat fell to birthday boy Dean Jacobs, the B&B Products heat went to Scott Bonnell, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Rob Chaney and the TP Wings heat fell to Greg Wilson. Paul May won the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main. Kemenah captured the Haulmark Dash and Mark Smith was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier for the second night in a row.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Mark Smith, Zemco 1, 12.946; 2. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 13.006; 3. Ryan Coniam, Bancon 46, 13.020; 4. Kenny Jacobs, Woodring 19, 13.058; 5. Randy Hannagan, THR 1x, 13.085; 6. Stevie Smith, Smith 19, 13.088; 7. Ed Lynch Jr., Lynch 2L, 13.106; 8. Brock Mayes, Brock Mtspts. 11B, 13.150; 9. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 13.172; 10. Paul May, May 71m, 13.266; 11. Dale Blaney, Fisher 2x, 13.277; 12. Rob Eyler, Eyler 5a, 13.291; 13. Rod George, George 4, 13.304; 14. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 13.305; 15. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 13.316; 16. Craig Keel, Keel 9, 13.364; 17. Dean Jacobs, Pullins 29, 13.372; 18. Tim Hunter, Hunter 0, 13.385; 19. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 13.386; 20. Greg Wilson, Elden 22, 13.387; 21. Cody Geldart, Geldart 6g, 13.422; 22. Scott Bonnell, Bonnell 3b, 13.427; 23. Jarod Larson, Clemson 47, 13.472; 24. Bob Bennett, Acme 3, 13.591; 25. Kevin Schaeffer, Schaeffer 9, 13.602; 26. Andy McKisson, McKisson 0, 13.665; 27. Dan Shetler, Chiappelli 98, 13.693; 28. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 13.801; 29. Brent Matus, Matus 33, 13.914; 30. Carl Bowser, Bowser 10, 14.100; 31. Joe Butera, Matus 33m, 15.589; 32. Paul Kish, VanTassel 49d, 18.535.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. D. Smith 3. Hannagan 4. M. Smith 5. Geldart 6. Schaeffer 7. George 8. Matus.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Bonnell 2. Hunter 3. Campbell 4. S. Smith 5. Kemenah 6. May 7. McKisson 8. Bowser.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. Chaney 2. Larson 3. Lynch 4. Blaney 5. Coniam 6. Shetler 7. Ruble 8. Butera.

TP Wings Heat (8 laps): 1. Wilson 2. Keel 3. K. Jacobs 4. Mayes 5. Bennett 6. Eyler 7. Ellenberger 8. Kish.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Kemenah 2. K. Jacobs 3. M. Smith 4. Hannagan 5. Mayes 6. Lynch.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (12 laps): 1. May 2. Eyler 3. George 4. Ellenberger 5. Schaeffer 6. Shetler 7. Ruble 8. McKisson 9. Butera 10. Matus 11. Kish 12. Bowser (DNS).

A Main (40 laps): 1. Mark Smith 2. Randy Hannagan 3. Chad Kemenah 4. Rod George 5. Dale Blaney 6. Ryan Coniam 7. Danny Smith 8. Brock Mayes 9. Greg Wilson 10. Paul May 11. Jarod Larson 12. Ed Lynch Jr. 13. Craig Keel 14. Rob Eyler 15. Cody Geldart 16. Rob Chaney 17. Stevie Smith 18. Brian Ellenberger 19. Scott Bonnell 20. Jeremy Campbell 21. Tim Hunter 22. Bob Bennett 23. Dean Jacobs 24. Kenny Jacobs.

Lap Leaders: Randy Hannagan 1-30, Stevie Smith 31-37, Mark Smith 38-40. <pre> All Star Sprint Points: 1 Chad Kemenah 2367 2 Dale Blaney 2262 3 Danny Smith 2239 4 Randy Hannagan 2131 5 Jeremy Campbell 1997 6 Greg Wilson 1985 7 Brock Mayes 1944 8 Paul May 1811 9 Cody Geldart 1786 10 Bob Bennett 1619

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Randy Hannagan , Greg Wil , Chad Kemenah , Paul May
Teams HART