ALLSTAR: Sharon report 96-08-31

UNITED EXPRESSLINE ALL STAR SPRINT RESULTS - SAT. 08/31/96 - Sharon Speedway, Hartford, Ohio HARTFORD, OH - In a race that was survival of the fittest, Frankie Kerr outlasted the field to win his third series main of the year Saturday night...

UNITED EXPRESSLINE ALL STAR SPRINT RESULTS - SAT. 08/31/96 - Sharon Speedway, Hartford, Ohio

HARTFORD, OH - In a race that was survival of the fittest, Frankie Kerr outlasted the field to win his third series main of the year Saturday night at Sharon Speedway in the United Expressline All Star sprint feature. Round one of the 12th annual Sharon Nationals paid $5,000 to win. Kerr took over the lead when race leader Jeff Shepard ran out of fuel just before a red flag fuel stop, and he led the last four laps to win. Behind Kerr was Kevin Huntley, with Rocky Hodges third, Keith Kauffman fourth and Kenny Jacobs fifth. "I was never so nervous in my life," Kerr said afterward about waiting for the race to restart under the red. "The longer the race went on the better we got," he added. "This is a new Chevrolet motor from Davey Brown, it's just incredible. We just kept changing torsion bars all night long until we got something I liked. We actually went back to a setup I used here about two years ago. It was pretty good." Kerr drives the Stan Shoff J&J and rode on Goodyear Tires. Todd Shaffer started on the pole and grabbed an immediate lead followed by front row mate Ed Lynch, Jr. Shaffer began pulling away from the pack, followed by Lynch, Bobby Allen and Jeff Shepard. As Shaffer entered lapped traffic on lap 11, Lynch closed up to Shaffer's tail and was poised to pass when Dean Jacobs stopped on the track with a mud packed wheel for a lap 13 caution. With the restart order Shaffer, Lynch, Shepard, Lance Dewease and Kevin Huntley, Shaffer took off again when the green reappeared. Then Shepard moved under Lynch for second on lap 15, with Huntley fourth and Bobby Allen fifth. Dewease was sixth followed by seventh starting Kerr. Allen was really on the move now and was challenging Lynch for third, and Lynch and Allen ran side-by-side for three laps when disaster hit the leader. Shaffer blew a right rear tire on Gary and Patty Beam's Gambler, brushing the third turn wall. He was out for the evening with suspension damage, handing the lead to Shepard. Lynch lost second to Allen on the restart behind Shepard, and Allen began challenging for the lead. Allen and Shepard ran side by side, with Allen low and Shepard high. Allen actually led lap 25, but he blew an engine a lap later and dropped pitside. Then more strange things happened. Third place Lynch lost a tire on lap 26, bringing out the caution. Leader Shepard, at the same time, ran out of fuel. After a lap of circling under yellow, the race was red flagged for a fuel stop. This put Kerr in the lead over Huntley, Hodges, Kauffman and Dewease. Kerr ran low and Huntley high, with Hodges right there as it was a three way battle for the lead. Kerr stretched it out a bit over Huntley and won by two car lengths. "I had a rough race," Huntley, out of breath, said of second. "I got a little bit impatient and slammed the cushion hard and bent some stuff on the race car and it was real hard to drive. We fixed most of it on the red," he added. "I have to thank United Expressline for sponsoring both the series and my racecar, Doemelt Chassis, Racing USA, Goodyear tires, Pro-shocks and Gaerte engines and my crew Mike Cool and Adam." Hodges said of third, "We were just waiting for the car to burn off some fuel and free up then we began coming. You gotta finish," he concluded, summing up the feelings of everyone watching the event. Eighth starter Danny Lasoski finished sixth, ahead of Dewease, Fred Rahmer, Dean Jacobs and Kevin Gobrecht. Dewease was the fast qualifier over the 44 car field with the Southwest Expressline heat to Dale Blaney, the ButlerBuilt heat to Fred Rahmer and the other heats to Kenny Jacobs and Kelly Kinser. Andy McKisson and Ed Lynch Jr. won the twin dashes with Rocky Hodges the Outerwears Pre-filters B Main winner. Bob Felmlee won the Action Sportswear-Indy C Main. Van Gurley Jr. flipped his Maxim in hot laps and Tim Shaffer banged the wall hard in time trials. Both were okay. In the 20-lap Russ King Memorial modified race, Lou Blaney led every lap to pocket $2,000. He held off Scott Gurdak in a photo finish with Gurdak using the high groove to try to get around Blaney at the stripe. With his second place finish, Gurdak claimed the preferred qualifying spot for the October Fay's 200 Syracuse modified race. Kevin Bolland was third ahead of Leonard Ripper and Jim Weller. Time Trials: 1. Lance Dewease, Dyer 461, 16.306; 2. Kevin Huntley, Johnson U2, 16.362; 3. Bobby Allen, Allen 1a, 16.368; 4. Jeff Shepard, Wahlie 1w, 16.379; 5. Ed Lynch, Jr., Lynch 2L, 16.390; 6. Todd Shaffer, Beam 88, 16.407; 7. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 16.449; 8. Danny Lasoski, Forbrook/Cole 5, 16.452; 9. Kevin Gobrecht, Gobrecht 92x, 16.461; 10. Van Gurley Jr., Gurley 3B, 16.477; 11. Dean Jacobs, Jacobs 1F, 16.484; 12. Rocky Hodges, Holbrook 8H, 16.489; 13. Daniel Coggeshell, Coggeshell 3, 16.503; 14. Craig Dollansky, Lindsey 2D, 16.513; 15. Kenny Jacobs, Ashworth 92, 16.513; 16. Keith Kauffman, Apple 12, 16.514; 17. Dale Blaney, Hughes 94, 16.591; 18. Fred Rahmer, Hamilton 77, 16.612; 19. Danny Smith, Bodkins 00, 16.755; 20. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4K, 16.808; 21. Bob Felmlee, Felmlee 6, 16.975; 22. Sarah Fisher, Fisher 9, 17.013; 23. Brian Carlson, SC Motorsports 18, 17.078; 24. Tim Shaffer , Reidling 50, 17.144; 25. Jamie Smith, Smith 5, 17.193; 26. Tom Burns, Burns 7c, 17.254; 27. Tom Quarterson, Brest 16, 17.293; 28. Mark Murphy, Murphy 98, 17.361; 29. Doug Zucco, Zucco 69z, 17.388; 30. Marshall Shunk, Caden 17, 17.438; 31. Bill Bailey, Crawford c3, 17.451; 32. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 17.506; 33. Frank Stella, Stella 19, 17.539; 34. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63, 17.599; 35. Jarod Larson, Clemson 47, 17.698; 36. Brian Kaltredier, Kaltreider 22, 17.773; 37. Andy McKisson, McKisson 0, 17.816; 38. Bill Kiley, Kiley 4K, 17.946; 39. Steve Pedley, Pedley 210, 18.231; 40. Mike Zeiter, Zeiter 4Z, 18.253; 41. Buddy Cochran, Cochran 30, 18.615; 42. Matt Henninger, Preston 1p, 19.700; 43. Brent Matus, Matus 33, 20.465; 44. Bob Whitacre, Whitacre 101, 20.895. Southwest Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Blaney 2. Gobrecht 3. Dewease 4. Lynch 5. J. Smith 6. Zucco 7. Stella 8. McKisson 9. Felmlee 10. Coggeshell 11. Cochran. ButlerBuilt Heat (8 laps): 1. Rahmer 2. Todd Shaffer 3. Dollansky 4. Huntley 5. Fisher 6. Gurley 7. Ruble 8. Burns 9. Shunk 10. Kiley 11. Henninger. Heat (8 laps): 1. K. Jacobs 2. D. Jacobs 3. Kerr 4. D. Smith 5. Allen 6. Quarterson 7. Carlson 8. Larson 9. Bailey 10. Pedley 11. Matus. Heat (8 laps): 1. Kinser 2. Kauffman 3. Lasoski 4. Shepard 5. Hodges 6. Ellenberger 7. Zeiter 8. Kaltreider 9. Murphy. United Expresslines Dash (4 laps): 1. Lynch 2. Quarterson 3. Blaney 4. Zeiter 5. Ellenberger. Bazell Oil Dash: (4 laps): 1. McKisson 2. Kiley 3. Pedley 4. Zeiter 5. Matus 6. Henninger. Action Sportswear-Indy C Main (10 laps): 1. Felmlee 2. Bailey 3. Troy Preston 4. Murphy 5. Shunk 6. Pedley 7. Kiley 8. Matus 9. Coggeshell. Outerwears Pre-filters B Main (12 laps): 1. Hodges 2. Allen 3. Quarterson 4. J. Smith 5. Gurley 6. Felmlee 7. Burns 8. Carlson 9. Fisher 10. Larson 11. Bailey 12. Ellenberger 13. Zeiter 14. Shunk 15. Stella 16. Zucco 17. Ruble 18. Kaltreider 19. Murphy 20. McKisson. A Main (30 laps): 1. Kerr 2. Huntley 3. Hodges 4. Kauffman 5. K. Jacobs 6. Lasoski 7. Dewease 8. Rahmer 9. D. Jacobs 10. Gobrecht 11. D. Smith 12. Dollansky 13. Gurley 14. Shepard 15. Lynch 16. Blaney 17. Allen 18. Todd Shaffer 19. Kinser 20. Quarterson 21. J. Smith 22. Felmlee.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Craig Dollansky , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Dean Jacobs
Teams HART