ALLSTAR: Port Royal Results 1999-09-10

All Star Sprint Race Results - Port Royal Speedway - Fri. 9/10/99 By Scott Hall PORT ROYAL, PA - Dave Ely picked the right time to win his first career 410 sprint car main in the All Star sprint 25-lap feature Friday night at Port Royal...

All Star Sprint Race Results - Port Royal Speedway - Fri. 9/10/99 By Scott Hall

PORT ROYAL, PA - Dave Ely picked the right time to win his first career 410 sprint car main in the All Star sprint 25-lap feature Friday night at Port Royal Speedway in the Tuscarora 50 preliminary event. Ely, two days short of his 22nd birthday, led the entire distance from the pole after earning his way into the A main by winning the B Main.

"Man, I just can't believe it," Ely exclaimed from victory lane. "Lapped traffic's usually my downfall, and I made that one move there, and I guess we just got lucky." He drove a perfect race to hold off Kenny Jacobs and Lance Dewease in heavy lapped traffic and became the 19th different All Star winner this season in 51 events.

Ely's machine is a J&J Chassis, with Davey Brown-Chevrolet power and rode on American Racer tires. "Whenever you can beat these guys, you can go home feeling pretty good," Ely concluded.

Ely started on the ButlerBuilt Motorsports Equipment Hot Seat pole position with Paul McMahan alongside. Ely took the immediate lead and kept it through the only caution of the event on lap three for a 360 degree spin by Danny Jones. Jacobs, who started fourth, pressured McMahan, who was making his first career Port Royal start, through laps three and four before he dove under McMahan going down the backstretch for second. Ely had amassed a nice lead until he hit lapped traffic on lap 11, and all eyes were focused on Jacobs as the veteran seemed poised to pass the youngster in lapped traffic. Dewease was up to third after starting sixth, and it was a three car freight train through traffic as the leaders hugged the inside guardrail whenever possible.

On lap 17, Jacobs was right on Ely's back bumper, but once they cleared a lapped car, he stretched out his margin a bit. Meanwhile, Dewease moved in on Jacobs several times, but Jacobs, the All Star points leader, did not bobble, thus Dewease could not move by.

With three laps remaining, Ely pulled out another car length in the clear, and flashed under the checkered to win by two car lengths over Jacobs and Dewease.

"Dave drove his butt off, he just wouldn't make a mistake," Jacobs said of his second place run. "It was real tough to pass tonight, at the end we were running right on the inside guardrail." Jacob's machine is an Eagle Chassis, and rode on Goodyears with Kriner power and sponsorship from Les and Lynda Stewart.

"We had a brand new Don Ott motor in and set fast time," Dewease revealed. "Dave drove a heck of a race and he deserved to win."

Joey Saldana started tenth and moved into fourth on lap nine and ran there the rest of the event. Jeff Shepard pressured Saldana the whole second half of the race and finished fifth, with McMahan sixth in the United Expressline Eagle. Donnie Kreitz Jr. finished seventh, earning the "Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven" award, ahead of Greg Hodnett, Fred Rahmer and 14th starting Todd Shaffer.

The United Expressline heat fell to Rodney Duncan, the Southwest Expressline heat to Sean Keen, the Southwest Glass heat was won by Rahmer and the United Specialties heat went to Jeff Shepard. Paul McMahan won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash with Ely the United Expressline B Main winner and Dewease was the fast qualifier over 44 entries.

In the KARS 358 sprint main make-up from Labor Day, 11th starter Darren Eash, subbing for his injured brother Cris, took the lead following a lap 11 restart to win, despite a collapsed wing sideboard. Kevin Drury was second with early leader Stiles Mader third. Completing the top ten were Mark Richard, Rusty Pressly, Scott Ausherman, Mike Lehman, Dale Hammaker, Greg Leiby and Tim Hershey. Bob Beidelman was uninjured in a nasty lap one flip.

Time Trials: 1. Lance Dewease, Harz 88, 16.271; 2. Greg Hodnett, Apple 12, 16.286; 3. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs 6, 16.302; 4. Jeff Shepard, Zemco 1, 16.353; 5. Paul McMahan, Johnson U2, 16.478; 6. Dave Ely, Ely 77e, 16.511; 7. Donnie Kreitz, Jr., Kreitz 69, 16.526; 8. Keith Kauffman, Middleswarth 7, 16.560; 9. Todd Hestor, Middleswarth 7m, 16.610; 10. Joey Saldana, Mox 17, 16.628; 11. Fred Rahmer, Hamilton 77, 16.630; 12. Danny Jones, Creasy 8, 16.678; 13. Cliff Brian, Dyer 61, 16.724; 14. Todd Shaffer, Beam 88, 16.736; 15. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 16.801; 16. Mike Wagner, Wagner 55, 16.846; 17. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 16.857; 18. Sean Keen, Purple Reign 53, 16.876; 19. Curt Michael, Tanger 07, 16.896; 20. Johnny Mackison, Jr., Swope 65, 16.920; 21. Jimmy Carr, Dyer 461, 16.927; 22. Todd Gracey, Cooper 25, 16.962; 23. Brian Gobrecht, KG 92, 17.016; 24. Alan Cole, Cole 17, 17.130; 25. Brian Paulus, P&P 28, 17.169; 26. Brook Weibley, Weibley 32, 17.173; 27. Dave Haight, Neiderer 10n, 17.182; 28. Len Thompson, Thompson 10t, 17.241; 29. Will Cramer, Chub 8c, 17.297; 30. Judi Bates, Mourar 121, 17.422; 31. Mike Erdley, Erdley 117, 17.476; 32. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 17.680; 33. Von McGee, Weikert 29, 17.694; 34. Jess Thomas, Thomas 77t, 17.700; 35. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 17.728; 36. Pierron Reasner, Reasner 15p, 17.810; 37. Dave Hahn, Hahn 2H, 17.913; 38. Daryl Stimeling, Stimeling 30, 18.350; 39. Troy Fraker, Fraker 12w, 18.421; 40. Troy Camp, B&C 14, 18.451; 41. Bob Beidelman, Beidelman 81, 18.477; 42. Mike Walter, Walter 8w, 18.770; 43. Vince Snyder, Snyder 15, 19.443; 44. Mike Lehman, Lehman 59, NT.

United Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Duncan 2. Dewease 3. Hestor 4. Carr 5. McMahan 6. Paulus 7. Brian 8. Cramer 9. McGee 10. Hahn 11. Beidelman DNS.

Southwest Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Keen 2. Hodnett 3. Saldana 4. Shaffer 5. Gracey 6. Ely 7. Weibly 8. Bates 9. Stimeling10. Walter 11. Thomas.

Southwest Glass Heat (8 laps): 1. Rahmer 2. K. Jacobs 3. Michael 4. D. Jacobs 5. Kreitz 6. Haight 7. Erdley 8. Fraker 9. Snyder 10. Wilson 11. Gobrecht.

United Specialties Heat (8 laps): 1. Shepard 2. Mackison 3. Cole 4. Kauffman 5. Jones 6. Hull 7. Thompson 8. Wagner 9. Reasner 10. Camp 11. Lehman.

Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash (4 laps): 1. McMahan 2. K. Jacobs 3. Dewease 4. Hodnett 5. Saldana 6. Kreitz.

United Expressline B Main (12 laps): 1. Ely 2. Brian 3. Wagner 4. Paulus 5. Thompson 6. Erdley 7. Weibly 8. Hull 9. Gobrecht 10. McGee 11. Haight 12. Bates 13. Thomas 14. Reasner 15. Walter 16. Fraker 17. Cramer 18. Stimeling 19. Snyder 20. Hahn 21. Camp.

A Main (25 laps): 1. Dave Ely 2. Kenny Jacobs 3. Lance Dewease 4. Joey Saldana 5. Jeff Shepard 6. Paul McMahan 7. Don Kreitz Jr. 8. Greg Hodnett 9. Fred Rahmer 10. Todd Shaffer 11. Keith Kauffman 12. Sean Keen 13. Cliff Brian 14. Johnny Mackison Jr. 15. Danny Jones 16. Jim Carr 17. Dean Jacobs 18. Rodney Duncan 19. Todd Gracey 20. Curt Michael 21. Brian Paulus 22. Todd Hestor 23. Alan Cole 24. Mike Wagner. - -

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Brian Paulus , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Greg Wil , Danny Jones , Von McGee