ALLSTAR: Pa. Motor Speedway 1999-06-12

All Star Sprint Race Results - Pa. Motor Speedway - Sat. 6/12/99 By Scott Hall IMPERIAL, PA - It was all Lance Dewease, leading wire-to-wire in the All Star sprint 30-lap feature Saturday night at Pittsburgh’s Pa. Motor Speedway. The...

All Star Sprint Race Results - Pa. Motor Speedway - Sat. 6/12/99 By Scott Hall

IMPERIAL, PA - It was all Lance Dewease, leading wire-to-wire in the All Star sprint 30-lap feature Saturday night at Pittsburgh’s Pa. Motor Speedway. The event was round two of the seventh annual Western Pa. Speedweek series. Dewease, aboard the Joe Harz J&J on Goodyear tires with a Don Ott Chevrolet powerplant under the hood, won $5,000 for his first All Star win of 1999. C&B Mushrooms, Hank’s Performance Parts, Weld and Bailey Racing Products are among the sponsors on the yellow number 88. "This is a lot like a track I run back home, Hagerstown," Dewease recalled. "We were just fortunate to have a great starting spot tonight. I thought we screwed up on tires, we went too hard and the rubber never came back down on the track, but we got away with it. It was just like sitting on ice. I was lucky enough to find the mud on the bottom of the racetrack and ran in there the whole time." Dewease started on the ButlerBuilt Motorsports Equipment Hot Seat pole position with Friday night’s winner Dean Jacobs alongside. With the track black with rubber and slicked over, passing was at a premium and tire choice very important. Dewease jumped out to an immediate lead, hugging the inside of the half-mile with Dean Jacobs second and Hull third in Guy Webb’s Eagle chassis. K. Jacobs moved from fourth, under Hull and began challenging his brother for second. With Dewease into lapped traffic on lap seven, Kenny was still challenging his younger brother. Hull moved back in on the Jacobs battle, and Kenny moved under Dean for second on lap 11, with Hull following him by a circuit later. Dewease still held an almost full straightaway advantage at the halfway point over K. Jacobs, Hull, D. Jacobs, Greg Hodnett, Brad Furr, Byron Reed and Dale Blaney. Reed and Blaney battled for position and the front of the pack continued single file in freight train fashion. Reed moved up from the bottom to the middle groove to look for some traction, but his car broke, stopping on the backstretch for the only caution of the 15 mile run on lap 20. Hull moved under Kenny for second on the front stretch just before the caution flew to snare second. Dewease pulled away on the restart as Blaney made a nice move on the restart to get fifth behind Dewease, Hull, Kenny and Dean. But Dewease continued his mastery, leading by a half straight when the checkered flew. "We ran third at Limaland earlier this year," runner-up Hull recalled. "Then we ran good last night and tonight was just tremendous. I though we might have a chance at Lance after that last restart when we got around those two lapped cars on the bottom but he pulled away from us about 10 car lengths and we couldn’t reel him in." Third place Jacobs said, "The track got really slick and when we were in the open racetrack Lance was just better than us. Lance was pretty quick, he ran a good race." Dean Jacobs held on for fourth with Blaney fifth and Ed Lynch Jr. making a last lap pass of Hodnett for sixth. Hodnett finished seventh, earning the "Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven" award with Furr eighth, Danny Smith ninth after starting 13th and Greg Wilson tenth.. The United Expressline heat fell to Danny Smith, the Southwest Expressline heat to Mike Wagner and the Southwest Glass heat was won by Craig Rankin. Jerrod Hull won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash with Daryl Stimeling the United Expressline B Main winner. Lou Bradich won the late model main with Wayne Tessean the UMP modified victor. Time Trials: 1. Greg Hodnett, Stewart 12, 16.533; 2. Ed Lynch, Jr., Lynch 2L, 16.671; 3. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs 6, 16.830; 4. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 16.832; 5. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 16.864; 6. Lance Dewease, Harz 88, 16.885; 7. Brad Furr, Furr 2F, 16.971; 8. Butch Schroeder, Johnson U2, 17.290; 9. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 17.437; 10. Dale Blaney, Hughes 94, 17.461; 11. Dave Freed, Freed 8F, 17.547; 12. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 17.585; 13. Danny Smith, Ashworth 92, 17.623; 14. Mike Wagner, Wagner 55, 17.688; 15. Craig Rankin, Guzzo 77, 17.738; 16. Chris Strait, Strait 46, 17.805; 17. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 17.856; 18. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 17.916; 19. Brad Ellenberger, Ellenberger 87, 17.956; 20. Sean Keen, Purple Reign 53, 17.999; 21. Daryl Stimeling, Stimeling 30, 18.095; 22. Brian Carlson, SC Motorsports 18, 18.241; 23. Matt Wingard, Wingard 49, 18.264; 24. Jamie Smith, Smith 5, 18.964; 25. John Stickley, Stickley L7, 19.342; 26. Bill Kiley, Kiley 4K, 19.354; 27. Brent Matus, Matus 33, 19.489. United Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. D. Smith 2. Furr 3. Blaney 4. Hodnett 5. Hull 6. Strait 7. Brad Ellenberger 8. Carlson 9. Stickley. Southwest Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Wagner 2. Brian Ellenberger 3. Lynch 4. Schroeder 5. D. Jacobs 6. Wingard 7. Freed 8. Keen 9. Kiley. Southwest Glass Heat (8 laps): 1. Rankin 2. Duncan 3. Dewease 4. K. Jacobs 5. Reed 6. Wilson 7. Stimeling 8. Matus 9. J. Smith - DNS. Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash: (4 laps): 1. Hull 2. Hodnett 3. K. Jacobs 4. Lynch 5. Dewease 6. D. Jacobs. United Expressline B Main (8 laps): 1. Stimeling 2. Keen 3. Freed 4. Carlson 5. Brad Ellenberger 6. Matus 7. Stickley 8. Kiley. A Main (30 laps): 1. Lance Dewease 2. Jerrod Hull 3. Kenny Jacobs 4. Dean Jacobs 5. Dale Blaney 6. Ed Lynch Jr. 7. Greg Hodnett 8. Brad Furr 9. Danny Smith 10. Greg Wilson 11. Brian Ellenberger 12. Craig Rankin 13. Butch Schroeder 14. Shawn Keen 15. Rodney Duncan 16. Mike Wagner 17. Dave Freed 18. Daryl Stimeling 19. Brian Carlson 20. Brent Matus 21. Byron Reed 22. Chris Strait 23. Matt Wingard 24. Brad Ellenberger.

- -

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brad Furr , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Dean Jacobs , Greg Wil