ALLSTAR: Ohio Speedweek - Lima Friday Results

All Star Sprint Ohio Speedweek Race Results Limaland Motorsports Park - Fri. 7/01/99 By Scott Hall ALLENTOWN, OH - It was a real barnburner in the All Star sprint Ohio Speedweek 30-lap feature Friday night at Limaland Motorsports Park. At...

All Star Sprint Ohio Speedweek Race Results Limaland Motorsports Park - Fri. 7/01/99 By Scott Hall

ALLENTOWN, OH - It was a real barnburner in the All Star sprint Ohio Speedweek 30-lap feature Friday night at Limaland Motorsports Park. At the end, Joey Saldana survived to win over Paul McMahan and Byron Reed. Saldana’s win, his second of the week in the Steve Mox-owned, Fisher-Chevrolet powered Stealth chassis, was worth $6,000. A standing room only crowd was on hand, as well as 46 race cars. With a lap to go, McMahan was leading the race with Saldana second when he lost power on the backstretch due to a broken fuel line. Saldana ran into McMahan trying to avoid the slowing United Expressline No. U20, but reeled in his car and drove into victory lane just ahead of McMahan’s machine. "I ran out of brakes about 10 laps to go. Paul McMahan showed us how to get around real good. He’s tore up real good and to see him come out and run like this is unbelievable," Saldana said in victory lane. "This is a demanding track and Paul deserved to win it. A fuel line fell off his car and I just got lucky. It’s a shame, he was pretty tough tonight." "I just ran in the holes and it got everything jarred loose. The main line going to the fuel pump came loose. It wasn’t running but I was staying up front," McMahan said. "On that yellow flag I reached down and tightened it up with my hand the best I could. It worked for a couple laps but on the backstretch it just died," McMahan concluded. "It’s great to finish 1-2 with Joey." McMahan is still recovering from a shoulder injury. When asked about how it felt after 30 rough laps, he replied, "I’m about to cry any minute now." Jason Statler started on the ButlerBuilt Motorsports Equipment Hot Seat pole position with Saldana alongside. Saldana shot into the lead in the high groove, with fifth starting McMahan grabbing second and Statler third. McMahan closed in on Saldana in lapped traffic and glanced off the backstretch wall once, but a lap eight restart gave Saldana a clear track for the restart. Saldana rocked off to a quarter lap lead, but again lapped traffic allowed McMahan to close in right on Saldana’s back bumper. Meanwhile, eighth starter Greg Wilson was on the move, running the highest groove of the speedway to third under Statler on lap 12. With Saldana still leading, McMahan moved back to a car length behind on lap 18 with Wilson right on the back bumper of McMahan. Lap 26 saw Wilson go low under both McMahan and Saldana to take over the lead exiting turn two, but after taking over the top spot he tagged the backstretch wall, breaking his right front wheel, causing him to stop on the track, bringing out a yellow, putting McMahan in the lead over Saldana. It was now a one-mile shootout to the end. McMahan kept the lead, running the high groove with Saldana right behind him As fuel was spewing out the side of McMahan’s machine and Saldana’s front wing came loose and flipped up on his hood, McMahan slowed as his engine sputtered, Saldana ran into and over his front wheel, but kept control to win. Byron Reed was third behind McMahan. "We’re just glad to roll her into the trailer in one piece tonight, "Reed said after starting sixth. "I just tried to keep it out of the fence and pass a car or two and run a decent third." Statler held on for fourth with Danny Smith coming from 16th to pass Kelly Kinser at the flagstand for fifth. Rocky Hodges finished seventh, earning the "Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven" award ahead of Frankie Kerr, Joe Gaerte and Butch Schroeder. The United Expressline heat fell to Chad Kemenah, the Southwest Expressline heat to Paul McMahan, the Southwest Glass heat was won by Kelly Kinser and the United Specialties heat went to Phil Gressman. Saldana won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash with Shane Stewart the United Expressline B Main winner. Paul Weaver won the Georgia Marketing & Promotions C Main and Byron Reed was the fast qualifier. Canadian driver Jimmy Carter was a heat race flip victim and also tagged the wall and flipped while running second in the B main. Time Trials: 1. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 11.308; 2. Paul McMahan, Johnson U20, 11.446; 3. Joe Gaerte, Johnson U2, 11.465; 4. Shane Stewart, Stewart 9s, 11.472; 5. Joey Saldana, Mox 17, 11.501; 6. Jason Statler, Statler 00, 11.578; 7. Jim Carter, Rudeen14c, 11.587; 8. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 11.600; 9. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 11.603; 10. Rocky Hodges, Holbrook 88, 11.605; 11. Kevin Huntley, Daugherty 7, 11.625; 12. Tim Kern, HDK 28, 11.695; 13. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 11.709; 14. Butch Schroeder, Schroeder 17, 11.720; 15. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4K, 11.720; 16. Phil Gressman, Holbrook 18, 11.731; 17. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15, 11.792; 18. Danny Smith, Ashworth 92, 11.795; 19. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 11.806; 20. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 11.807; 21. Greg Litten, Litten 12, 11.841; 22. Alvin Roepke, R&F 99, 11.844; 23. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick X, 11.867; 24. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 11.886; 25. Randy Kinser, Kinser 14, 11.910; 26. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs 6, 11.920; 27. Marty Ling, Ling 47, 11.955; 28. Jason Dukes, Dukes 3, 11.975; 29. Dale Blaney, Sabo 8s, 12.044; 30. Boston Reid, Keppel 9, 12.071; 31. Kent Wolters, Wolters 12, 12.083; 32. Nick Naber, G&N 6, 12.092; 33. Brian Carlson, SC Motorsports 18, 12.112; 34. Todd Kelley, Kelley 21k, 12.148; 35. Tim Allison, Lotz 11x, 12.192; 36. Jimmy Stinson, Brown 99, 12.220; 37. Jim Damon, Damon 50x, 12.255; 38. Dave Freed, Freed 8F, 12.302; 39. James Fisher, Fisher 48, 12.324; 40. Paul Weaver, Adkins 1a, 12.370; 41. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 12.377; 42. Steve Suever, Suever 36s, 12.512; 43. Jeff Williams, McCullough 10, 12.672; 44. Barney Westler, Westler 3w, 12.937; 45. Eric Hysong, Andrews 72, 13.068; 46. Jim Burgoon, Burgoon 2B, 13.137. United Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. Kemenah 2. Kerr 3. Reed 4. Saldana 5. Wilson 6. R. Kinser 7. Blaney 8. Hysong 9. Carlson 10. Neumeister 11. Litten 12. Damon. Southwest Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. McMahan 2. Statler 3. K. Jacobs 4. Smith 5. Hodges 6. Schroeder 7. Reid 8. Roepke 9. Kelley 10. Suever 11. Burgoon 12. Freed (DNS). Southwest Glass Heat (10 laps): 1. K. Kinser 2. Huntley 3. Gaerte 4. Keegan 5. Ellenberger 6. Allison 7. Ling 8. Wolters 9. Williams 10. Fisher 11. Carter. United Specialties Heat (10 laps): 1. Gressman 2. Duncan 3. Hull 4. D. Jacobs 5. Stinson 6. Weaver 7. Naber 8. Westler 9. Stewart 10. Kern 11. Dukes. Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash (4 laps): 1. Saldana 2. D. Jacobs 3. Reed 4. Wilson 5. Hodges 6. Gaerte. Georgia Marketing & Promotions C Main (12 laps): 1. Weaver 2. Fisher 3. Neumeister 4. Westler 5. Suever 6. Burgoon 7. Hysong 8. Damon 9. Williams 10. Freed (DNS). United Expressline B Main (15 laps): 1. Stewart 2. Schroeder 3. R. Kinser 4. Roepke 5. Allison 6. Weaver 7. Litten 8. Westler 9. Reid 10. Wolters 11. Kern 12. Carlson 13. Neumeister 14. Ling 15. Blaney 16. Carter 17. Dukes 18. Kelley 19. Fisher 20. Naber. A Main (30 laps): 1. Joey Saldana 2. Paul McMahan 3. Byron Reed 4. Jason Statler 5. Danny Smith 6. Kelly Kinser 7. Rocky Hodges 8. Frankie Kerr 9. Joe Gaerte 10. Butch Schroeder 11. Chad Kemenah 12. Kevin Huntley 13. Phil Gressman 14. Rodney Duncan 15. Kenny Jacobs 16. Jerrod Hull 17. Tim Allison 18. Brian Ellenberger 19. Mark Keegan 20. Greg Wilson 21. Dean Jacobs 22. Alvin Roepke 23. Jimmy Stinson 24. Randy Kinser. - -

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Shane Stewart , Boston Reid , Greg Wil , Chad Kemenah , Jason Statler
Teams Williams