ALLSTAR: Ohio Speedweek Eldora results 2008-06-28

Blaney Wins the Battle; Hannagan Wins the War The O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions finally got a break from Mother Nature on the Ohio Speedweek finale at Tony Stewart;s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, OH. For the first time this week --...

Blaney Wins the Battle; Hannagan Wins the War

The O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions finally got a break from Mother Nature on the Ohio Speedweek finale at Tony Stewart;s Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, OH. For the first time this week -- there was sunshine! There were 36 cars who made the tow to the monster ½ mile in Western Ohio, some of which had not seen a lap here in a very long time.

Western PA star Ed Lynch Jr. set the Kistler Engines quick time for the evening. Lynch picked up the Speedweek finale win in 2007 and returned to try to repeat that feat over a very stellar All Star field.

Heat races were won by Greg Wilson, Lance Dewease, Kenny Jacobs, and Butch Schroeder. Dale Blaney took the checkers in the O'Reilly All Star Dash. With the Eldora track crew doing a phenomenal job in prepping the track surface despite a week of constant rain passing over the Buckeye State, the dust was down, the speeds were up, and the racing was as exciting as I have ever seen at The Big E.

B-main action was as intense as any racing that has taken place all week long. Brian Ellenberger diced it out with Aussie Troy Little until Jeremy Campbell made his way to second place in the Rick Ferkel #0. Paul may finished 3rd as Mike Dussel edged out Little on the final lap to transfer to the A-main.

The 30 lap A-main went wire to wire as Ed Lunch Jr. jumped out to an early lead as Blaney chased him through the high banks and Brock Mayes hot on Blaney's tail. Mayes took the second spot away from Blaney and eventually put a slider on Lynch to lead on lap six. Mayes ran a masterful race trhough traffic as he held off several challenges from Blaney who got past Lynch early on. Mayes and Blaney checked out, but the two put on a show as the were nose to tail or side by side for 20 laps.

Mayes bobbled a bit in turn two on lap 24 and that was all Blaney needed to get around the 11b. Mayes stayed on him to the checkers, but never mounted a final challenge before Blaney crossed the line $10,000 richer.

Randy Hannagan came home in 5th place, which was just enough to give him the 2008 Ohio Speedweek championship for being one of the most consistent finisher of the week.

Eldora Speedway (6-27-08) O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions

Qualifying - Kistler Engines
1. 2L-Ed Lynch Jr., 13.656; 2. W20-Greg Wilson, 13.803; 3. 2-Dale Blaney, 13.942; 4. 11B-Brock Mayes, 13.945; 5. 20AU-Troy Little, 14.009; 6. 6X-Todd Kane, 14.077; 7. 20E-Brian Ellenberger, 14.106; 8. 20X-Brian Smith, 14.197; 9. 45-Tim Shaffer, 14.241; 10. 71-Paul May, 14.270; 11. 55-Dean Jacobs, 14.346; 12. O9-Craig Mintz, 14.373; 13. 30C-Lance Dewease, 14.432; 14. 1X-Randy Hannagan, 14.453; 15. 7K-Blake Feese, 14.474; 16. B20-Butch Schroeder, 14.491; 17. 96AU-Bruce White, 14.509; 18. 5B-Chad Blonde, 14.518; 19. 59-Kenny Jacobs, 14.537; 20. 2H-Tim Hunter, 14.560; 21. 84-Jimmy Stinson, 14.582; 22. 9X-Jesse Hockett, 14.637; 23. 11M-Brandon Martin, 14.693; 24. 97-Todd King, 14.712; 25. 24H-Rob Chaney, 14.736; 26. 15C-Chris Andrews, 14.826; 27. 0-Jeremy Campbell, 14.857; 28. 96X-Ian Louden, 14.884; 29. 6D-Mike Dussell, 14.889; 30. 34-Luke Hall, 14.893; 31. 56R-Ryan Myers, 15.045; 32. 16-Lee Jacobs, 15.169; 33. 16S-Lee Stark, 15.233; 34. 82-Mike Miller, 15.469; 35. 10-David Harrison, 15.650; 36. 4M-Jamie Miller, nt;

Heat 1 - All Pro Heads
1. 30C-Lance Dewease; 2. 2L-Ed Lynch Jr.; 3. 84-Jimmy Stinson; 4. 45-Tim Shaffer; 5. 24H-Rob Chaney; 6. 20AU-Troy Little; 7. 6D-Mike Dussell; 8. 96AU-Bruce White; 9. 16S-Lee Stark;

Heat 2 - Engler Machine & Tool
1. W20-Greg Wilson; 2. 1X-Randy Hannagan; 3. 5B-Chad Blonde; 4. 9X-Jesse Hockett; 5. 6X-Todd Kane; 6. 71-Paul May; 7. 34-Luke Hall; 8. 15C-Chris Andrews; 9. 82-Mike Miller;

Heat 3 - Hoosier Tire
1. 59-Kenny Jacobs; 2. 55-Dean Jacobs; 3. 7K-Blake Feese; 4. 2-Dale Blaney; 5. 11M-Brandon Martin; 6. 20E-Brian Ellenberger; 7. 0-Jeremy Campbell; 8. 56R-Ryan Myers;

Heat 4 - Hank's Performance Products
1. B20-Butch Schroeder; 2. 11B-Brock Mayes; 3. 20X-Brian Smith; 4. 97-Todd King; 5. 16-Lee Jacobs; 6. O9-Craig Mintz; 7. 96X-Ian Louden; 8. 2H-Tim Hunter;

Dash - O'Reilly Auto Parts
1. 2-Dale Blaney; 2. 11B-Brock Mayes; 3. W20-Greg Wilson; 4. 55-Dean Jacobs; 5. 1X-Randy Hannagan; 6. 30C-Lance Dewease;

B-main - University of Northwestern Ohio
1. 20E-Brian Ellenberger; 2. 0-Jeremy Campbell; 3. 71-Paul May; 4. 6D-Mike Dussell; 5. 20AU-Troy Little; 6. 2H-Tim Hunter; 7. O9-Craig Mintz; 8. 96X-Ian Louden; 9. 82-Mike Miller; 10. 16S-Lee Stark; 11. 34-Luke Hall; 12. 15C-Chris Andrews; 13. 96AU-Bruce White; 14. 56R-Ryan Myers;

A-main - MSD Ignition Starting Position [x]
1. 2-Dale Blaney[2]; 2. 11B-Brock Mayes[4]; 3. W20-Greg Wilson[5]; 4. 55-Dean Jacobs[8]; 5. 1X-Randy Hannagan[10]; 6. 59-Kenny Jacobs[16]; 7. 20X-Brian Smith[6]; 8. 24H-Rob Chaney[21]; 9. 6X-Todd Kane[3]; 10. 0-Jeremy Campbell[22]; 11. 5B-Chad Blonde[15]; 12. 2L-Ed Lynch Jr.[1]; 13. 30C-Lance Dewease[9]; 14. B20-Butch Schroeder[14]; 15. 71-Paul May[12]; 16. 9X-Jesse Hockett[18]; 17. 6D-Mike Dussell[23]; 18. 16-Lee Jacobs[24]; 19. 7K-Blake Feese[13]; 20. 20E-Brian Ellenberger[11]; 21. 11M-Brandon Martin[19]; 22. 84-Jimmy Stinson[17]; 23. 97-Todd King[20]; 24. 45-Tim Shaffer[7];

-credit: allstarsprints

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tony Stewart , Tim Shaffer , Blake Feese , Mike Miller , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Smith , Dean Jacobs , Randy Hannagan , Jesse Hockett , Greg Wil , Bruce White , Paul May