ALLSTAR: New 96 Speedway Results 1999-07-23

All Star Sprint Race Results - New 96 Speedway - Fri. 7/23/99 By TJ Buffenbarger LAKE ODESSA, MI - Kenny Jacobs was able to lead every lap to win Friday night’s All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature event at the New 96 Speedway.

All Star Sprint Race Results - New 96 Speedway - Fri. 7/23/99 By TJ Buffenbarger

LAKE ODESSA, MI - Kenny Jacobs was able to lead every lap to win Friday night’s All Star Circuit of Champions sprint car feature event at the New 96 Speedway. Jacobs took off from the front row in his Kriner Chevy powered Eagle Chassis and was never headed in the 20-lap contest. The victory was Jacobs’ third straight win at the Lake Odessa oval, and made it three seasons since Kenny finished a feature out of the top five at New 96. The event was delayed by a rain shower during the heat races that made the track lightning fast for the second part of the program. Jacobs was excited to pick up the win as driver and car owner of the Jacobs Motorsports team.

"New 96 has been one of my favorite race tracks. I like all the big fast tracks, and Bob Kriner builds us one great motor so we always like the fast tracks", said Jacobs in victory lane. "Aaron Hammer and I came up here by ourselves tonight and the car operated good all night long." Jacobs also thanked Eagle Chassis; Goodyear tire, Pro Shocks, Frankland rear ends and York Co. Excavating.

The Jacobs brothers were on the front row for the 20-lap feature event with Dean in the Holbrook Gaerte/Chevy powered Eagle and Kenny on the outside. After the first start was called back, the second one was a charm as Kenny Jacobs got the jump down the frontstretch. During the start Joey Saldana made contact with another car and got very sideways down the front stretch. The rest of the field avoided contact, and Saldana was able to continue without a caution.

Kenny, Dean, and Paul McMahan hooked up on the ultra-fast track and distanced themselves from the rest of the field. Behind them the battle was raging between Frankie Kerr, Joey Saldana, and Byron Reed for the remainder of the top five. Reed was able to pass Saldana for fifth on lap eight. One lap later the caution appeared for Van Gurley, Jr., who stopped on the backstretch. Gurley retired from the event with mechanical problems.

On the restart Dean was able to close on Kenny into turns one and two, but down the backstretch Kenny was able to pull six car lengths into turn three. Dean as able to close in on lapped traffic to about three car lengths with five laps to go, but Kenny made a nifty move to lap Todd Wohlford and Steve Suever to put enough distance between himself and the rest of the field to cruse to the victory. Dean, McMahan, Kerr, Reed, Saldana, Danny Smith, Rodney Duncan who picked up the Simpson Lucky Seven award, Brett Mann, Dewease, and Kasey Kahne rounded out the top ten.

Steve Suever won the United Expressline Heat Race, Greg Wilson won the Southwest Expressline Heat, Rookie driver Drew Bible won the Southwest Glass Heat Race, and Greg Wheeler won the United Specialties heat race. Wohlford won the United Expressline B-Main event.

In the Street Stock companion event, Mark Anderson and Jim Brown battled for the victory. When the race ended, Anderson came over the stripe first. Brown, Matt Seeley, and Brian Nelson rounded out the top five.

Time Trials: 1. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 15.569; 2. Byron Reed, B&R 5, 15.643; 3. Paul McMahan, Johnson U2, 15.658; 4. Joey Saldana, Mox 17, 15.705; 5. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs 6, 15.755; 6. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 15.805; 7. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 15.896; 8. Danny Smith, Ashworth 92, 15.902; 9. Van Gurley, Jr., Johnson U2, 15.954; 10. Brett Mann, Mann 19, 16.044; 11. Kasey Kahne, Kahne 23, 16.069; 12. Todd Wohlford, Wohlford 0, 16.071; 13. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 16.115; 14. Lance Dewease, Harz 88, 16.125; 15. Mike Daggett, Daggett 88, 16.152; 16. Jarrod Hull, Webb 51, 16.327; 17. Jimmy Carter, Carter 14c, 16.341; 18. Charlie Baker, Baker 1C, 16.451; 19. Joe Conway, Conway 11C, 16.545; 20. Robert Huisken, Huisken 46, 16.552; 21. Steve Suever, Suever 36s, 16.554; 22. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 16.627; 23. Drew Bible, Bible 22B, 16.664; 24. Greg Wheeler, Wheeler 16c, 16.698; 25. Chad Blonde, Blonde 5, 16.729; 26. Jason Blonde, Blonde 10, 16.783; 27. Norman Carpenter, Carpenter C49, 16.940; 28. Brian Carlson, SC Motorsports 18, 17.080; 29. Mike Stemler, Stemler 22, 17.146; 30. Mason Robertson, Robertson 19R, 17.476; 31. Jim Damon, Damon 50, 17.493; 32. Graying Call, Duffy 2, 17.527; 33. Danny Krauss, Krauss 3, 17.795; 34. Greg Dalman, Dalman 49T, 17.852; 35. Don Daggett, Daggett 14D, 17.869; 36. Keith Love, Love 77L, 17.911; 37. Eric Ely, Ely 5, 19.337; 38. Jason Statler, Statler 00, NT.

United Expressline Heat Race: Suever, Ellenberger, Kerr, Jacobs, Gurley, C. Blonde, Carter, Gurley, Krauss, Ely Southwest Expressline Heat Race: Wilson, DeWease, Reed, D. Jacobs, Mann, Baker, BLonde, Robertson, Dalman Southwest Glass Heat Race: Bible, Kahne, McMahan, Conway, Duncan, M. Daggett, D. Daggett, Damon, Capenter United Specialties Heat Race: Wheeler, Hull, Smith, Saldana, Huisken, Wohlford, Statler, Carlson, Love, Call United Expressline B-Main: Wohlford, M. Daggett, Carter, J. Blonde, Statler, C. Blonde, Baker, Carlson, Robertson, Stemler, Call, Damon, Love, D. Daggett, Dalman, Krauss A-Main: K. Jacobs, D. Jacobs, McMahan, Kerr, Reed, Saldana, Smith, Duncan, Mann, Dewease, Kahne, Hull, Wilson, Ellenberger, M. Daggett, Carter, Huisken, Wohlford, Suever, Conway, Bible, Wheeler, Gurley, J. Blonde

- -

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kasey Kahne , Mark Anderson , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Jim Brown , Greg Wil , Greg Wheeler , Jason Statler