ALLSTAR: Mercer Raceway Results 98-09-25

All Star Sprint Race Results - Mercer Raceway Park (PA) - Fri. 9/25/98 - By Scott Hall MERCER, PA - On a day when an earthquake measuring 5.2 on the Richter scale hit Western Pa., Jeff Shepard made the ground shake Friday night at Mercer ...

All Star Sprint Race Results - Mercer Raceway Park (PA) - Fri. 9/25/98 - By Scott Hall

MERCER, PA - On a day when an earthquake measuring 5.2 on the Richter scale hit Western Pa., Jeff Shepard made the ground shake Friday night at Mercer Raceway Park. His ninth All Star win of the season came in the All Star sprint 30-lap feature, worth $5,000 for the opening night of the second annual North Street Auto Supply Mercer Fall Nationals. In his first career visit to Mercer, Shepard’s win came over Greg Hodnett and Joey Saldana.

With his fourth place finish, Kenny Jacobs has locked up the 1998 All Star points title for the Tim Hughes Motorsports team.

"We have a whole new complete pit crew tonight, we just hired two new crew chiefs." Shepard revealed. "We were fortunate enough that when we got into lapped traffic those guys got held up and we had momentum coming up behind them and got by them and we’re here. I have a big sponsor from Clarion, Jim Mayes and his motor’s in the car tonight, and I’d like to also thank York Excavating and Cat Construction." Shepard’s ride is owned by Les and Lynda Stewart, powered by a Kriner-Chevrolet engine and rode Goodyear tires. His new crew members are Scott Benic and former Lance Blevins crewman Adam Strausser.

"Jeff’s team just did a better job than we did tonight," Hodnett said of second. "We were kind of skating, we picked a bit softer tire and I thought there would be more restarts. But we only had one and by that time Jeff had gone by." Hodnett also drove a Maxim, with a Garrett-Stauffer engine.

Jacobs started on the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole position with Frankie Kerr’s Stan Shoff Maxim alongside. Jacobs led with third starter Hodnett second, Kerr third and Saldana fourth. Saldana took third on lap three in the Steve Mox Stealth, and Jacobs hit lapped traffic on lap six on the tricky third-mile. Hodnett and Saldana began closing in traffic, with fifth starter Shepard running fourth by lap seven. Hodnett ducked under Jacobs going low down the backstretch to lead lap nine, and Shepard got Saldana for third at the same time, then picked off Jacobs for second a straightaway later. Hodnett went high and Shepard low off turn four at lap 13, but Shepard’s pass didn’t stick until he went low under Hodnett exiting turn two to take command a lap later.

At the half-way mark of the ten mile run it was Shepard leading Hodnett, Jacobs, Saldana, Dean Jacobs, Keith Kauffman and Kerr. Shepard stretched his advantage in the open, but Hodnett was able to close in heavy lapped traffic on lap 18. Then on lap 19, Scott Jones spun in turn four for the only caution of the race. Shepard pulled away again on the restart, and built up a half straightaway advantage before he got into traffic again.

Meanwhile, Saldana was looking for a way past K. Jacobs, and he moved high around Jacobs to take third on lap 25. Shepard was back in heavy traffic on lap 27, and Hodnett trailed in second, with Saldana and Jacobs putting on a show the last three laps, side-by-side for third. Saldana got past Jacobs on the white flag lap for third, with Jacobs ending fourth.

Kerr rode home fifth, with Kauffman’s United Expressline Doemelt sixth, D. Jacobs seventh in the Jr. Holbrook Eagle, Ed Lynch, Jr. eighth in a J&J, Tom Burns ninth and Bob Felmlee tenth.

The United Expressline heat fell to Jim Nier, the Southwest Expressline heat to Jimmy Hawley, the Southwest Glass heat was won by Sarah Fisher and the United Specialties heat went to Greg Hodnett. Terry Young won the Mercer Forge slow car dash with Jamie Smith the United Expressline B Main winner. Gary Robinson was the pure stock feature winner.

Time Trials: 1. Joey Saldana, Mox 17, 13.756; 2. Jeff Shepard, Double L 4J, 13.830; 3. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 13.922; 4. Greg Hodnett, Stewart 12, 13.933; 5. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 13.978; 6. Kenny Jacobs, Hughes 94, 14.018; 7. Keith Kauffman, Johnson U2, 14.027; 8. Bob Felmlee, Felmlee 6, 14.112; 9. Tom Burns, Burns 7c, 14.173; 10. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 14.264; 11. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 14.335; 12. Ed Lynch, Jr., Lynch 2L, 14.348; 13. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 14.351; 14. Jamie Smith, Smith 5, 14.351; 15. Scott Jones, Jones 8J. 14.395; 16. Johnathan Stevens, Stevens 4j, 14.404; 17. Jarod Larson, Clemson 47, 14.405; 18. Jimmy Hawley, Crawford C3, 14.438; 19. Scott Bonnell, Bonnell 3, 14.517; 20. Arnie Kent, Kent 18, 14.613; 21. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 14.762; 22. Jamie McKinney, McKinney 95, 14.800; 23. Sarah Fisher, Fisher 9, 14.839; 24. Brad Ellenberger, Ellenberger 87, 14.855; 25. Steve Suever, Suever 36s, 14.895; 26. Rod Jones, Jones 36, 14.901; 27. Brian Smith, Smith 2+, 14.965; 28. Scott Priester, Priester 11x, 15.104; 29. Gary Edwards, Schuller 61, 15.128; 30. Eric Hysong, Hysong 72, 15.275; 31. Skip Dougherty, Dougherty 27, 15.373; 32. Brent Covell, Covell 81, 15.455; 33. Dave Penezich, Penezich 34, 15.659; 34. Terry Young, Young 98, 15.662; 35. Staple Nash, Nash 56, 15.835; 36. Bob Walters, Walters 42, 16.031; 37. Randy Kriegisch, Kriegisch 63, 16.062; 38. Buddy Cochran, Cochran 9, 16.137;

United Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Nier 2. Kerr 3. Duncan 4. Burns 5. Saldana 6. Larson 7. Suever 8. Edwards 9. Penezich 10. Kriegisch.

Southwest Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Hawley 2. K. Jacobs 3. Shepard 4. McKinney 5. Reed 6. J. Smith 7. Young 8. R. Jones 9. Hysong 10. Cochran.

Southwest Glass Heat (8 laps): 1. Fisher 2. Brian Ellenberger 3. Bonnell 4. Kauffman 5. D. Jacobs 6. S. Jones 7. B. Smith 8. Nash 9. Dougherty.

United Specialties Heat (8 laps): 1. Hodnett 2. Felmlee 3. Lynch 4. Brad Ellenberger 5. Kent 6. Priester 7. Walters 8. Stevens 9. Covell.

Mercer Forge Dash: (4 laps): 1. Young 2. Penezich 3. Edwards 4. Walters 5. Cochran 6. Nash.

United Expressline B Main (12 laps): 1. J. Smith 2. Larson 3. S. Jones 4. R. Jones 5. Hysong 6. B. Smith 7. Priester 8. Edwards 9. Penezich 10. Young 11. Walters 12. Dougherty 13. Kriegisch 14. Cochran 15. Stevens 16. Suever.

A Main (30 laps): 1. Shepard 2. Hodnett 3. Saldana 4. K. Jacobs 5. Kerr 6. Kauffman 7. D. Jacobs 8. Lynch 9. Burns 10. Felmlee 11. Reed 12. Duncan13. J. Smith 14. Hawley 15. Fisher 16. Bonnell 17. Brian Ellenberger 18. Brad Ellenberger 19. Kent 20. R. Jones 21. S. Jones 22. Nier 23. McKinney 24. Larson.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Sarah Fisher , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Smith , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana