ALLSTAR: Macon results 2004-09-10

MACON, IL - Greg Wilson, in the familiar Bob Hampshire No. 63, recorded win number three Friday night at Macon Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car X-1R 40 lap A main feature. The All Stars returned to the 1/5 mile oval for their first ...

MACON, IL - Greg Wilson, in the familiar Bob Hampshire No. 63, recorded win number three Friday night at Macon Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car X-1R 40 lap A main feature. The All Stars returned to the 1/5 mile oval for their first appearance since 1996 with Wilson's win coming over Dean Jacobs and Chad Kemenah.

A.J. Bruns and Wilson brought the field to the green, followed by Danny Smith, Jerrod Hull, Jacobs and Kemenah. Bruns took the early lead, just ahead of Wilson, Smith and Hull as the sprinters navigated the tight confines of the Macon oval. Lap four saw the first caution for Bill Rose and Jon Agan. Bruns led again when action resumed, with Wilson making a move on the leader as they entered lapped traffic. Wilson's move was negated by another Rose spin on lap seven. Bruns stretched his lead following the restart, with Wilson still second and Hull third. Bruns bobbled on lap 12 and Wilson was right on his bumper, but another caution saved Bruns again. Phil Gressman, running seventh, stopped on the track at this point. His car would not refire, eliminating him from the race.

Bruns led again, with Wilson breathing down his neck. Wilson kept up constant pressure in lapped traffic, and he was able to slip by the leader to lead lap 19. Hull also got past Bruns, with Bruns' fine run at the front of the field ending when he had to hit the brakes to avoid the lapped car of Terry Babb who got sideways right in front of him. Bruns was able to restart at the tail of the pack as did Hull, who also stopped on the track. Wilson and Jacobs now led the field back to the green, with Wilson racing ahead of Jacobs through lapped traffic. Smith and Madsen both drove around Kemenah on lap 28, placing Smith third behind Wilson and Jacobs. Madsen kept the pressure on Smith, and tried to dive under the veteran on lap 30. Madsen bumped Smith in the process, with Smith getting sideways and tipping over on his side. This brought out another yellow flag, which eventually became a red flag fuel stop.

With just ten laps to go, it was Wilson ahead of Jacobs, Kemenah and local driver Jimmy Hurley who moved all the way up from 18th starting spot. Another caution allowed Jacobs to restart right on the back bumper of Wilson with only six laps remaining. Jacobs had one shot at the win right after the restart, trying a slide job under Wilson in turn three and again entering turn one a lap later, but Wilson had enough momentum to retain the lead, going on for victory number three on the season. Jacobs was second for the fourth consecutive race in the Webb Racing No. 51, followed by Kemenah, Hurley and 11th starter Tom Busch. Jason Keith, Jim Moughan, Jeremy Campbell, Tim Hunter and Paul May trailed.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Jeremy Campbell, the B&B Products heat went to Paul May, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Hurley and the TP Wings heat fell to Tom Busch. Jim Moughan won the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main. Wilson captured the Haulmark Dash and Kemenah was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier atop the 34 car field with a new track record of 9.399 seconds, snapping Gus Wasson's 9.750 second mark set in 1996.

The All Stars head to Fremont (OH) Speedway tomorrow night (Sept. 11) for a $10,000 to win 50 lap event.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Chad Kemenah, (NTR), 9.399; 2. Dean Jacobs, 9.489; 3. Jerrod Hull, 9.561; 4. Danny Smith, 9.605; 5. Greg Wilson, 9.631; 6. Robbie Standridge, 9.657; 7. AJ Bruns, 9.691; 8. Terry Babb, 9.691; 9. Jon Agan, 9.729; 10. Phil Gressman, 9.735; 11. Kerry Madsen, 9.768; 12. Tom Busch, 9.832; 13. Bill Rose, 9.845; 14. Jason Keith, 9.851; 15. Tim Hunter, 9.884; 16. Khaley Gharst, 9.897; 17. Jeremy Campbell, 9.903; 18. Jeff Davis, 9.928; 19. Jimmy Hurley, 9.941; 20. Brock Mayes, 9.967; 21. Jim Moughan, 9.980; 22. Paul May, 10.006; 23. Joey Moughan, 10.082; 24. Jay Landolt, 10.090; 25. Bill Waite Jr., 10.103; 26. Korey Weyant, 10.147; 27. Eddie Lynch, 10.160; 28. Barry Ruble, 10.173; 29. Tim Engler, 10.199; 30. Joey Montgomery, 10.237; 31. Daniel Adler, 10.283; 32. Jeremy Standridge, 10.430; 33. Patrick Budde, 10.456; 34. Wayne Webb, 10.984.

Crown Battery Heat (10 laps): 1. Jeremy Campbell 2. Bill Rose 3. Greg Wilson 4. Jon Agan 5. Chad Kemenah 6. Tim Engler 7. Bill Waite Jr. 8. Wayne Webb 9. Jim Moughan.

B&B Products Heat (10 laps): 1. Paul May 2. Phil Gressman 3. Jeff Davis 4. Dean Jacobs 5. Jason Keith 6. Cory Weyant 7. Daniel Adler 8. Robbie Standridge.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (10 laps): 1. Jimmy Hurley 2. Kerry Madsen 3. Jerrod Hull 4. AJ Bruns 5. Tim Hunter 6. Joey Moughan 7. Eddie Lynch 8. Jeremy Standridge.

TP Wings Heat (10 laps): 1. Tom Busch 2. Terry Babb 3. Danny Smith 4. Jay Landolt 5. Kaley Gharst 6. Barry Ruble 7. Patrick Budde 8. Brock Mayes.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Wilson 2. Agan 3. Smith 4. Kemenah.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (12 laps): 1-Jim Moughan 2-Mayes 3-Joey Moughan 4-Waite, JR 5-Weyant 6-Adler 7-Jeremy Standridge 8-Lynch 9-Ruble 10-Webb 11-Budde 12-Engler.

X-1R A Main (40 laps): 1. Greg Wilson 2. Dean Jacobs 3. Chad Kemenah 4. Jimmy Hurley 5. Tom Busch 6- Jason Keith 7-Jim Moughan 8- Jeremy Campbell 9-Tim Hunter 10- Paul May 11-Jerrod Hull 12- Kerry Madsen 13- Kaley Gharst 14- Danny Smith 15-Jeff Davis 16-Jon Agan 17-AJ Bruns 18- Brock Mayes 19- Jay Landolt 20-Terry Babb 21-Bill Waite Jr. 22-Joey Moughan 23-Phil Gressman 24-Bill Rose.

Lap Leaders: AJ Bruns 1-18, Greg Wilson 19-40.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Gus Wasson , Dean Jacobs , Kerry Madsen , Joey Moughan , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Daniel Adler , Chad Kemenah , Paul May