ALLSTAR: Lincoln results 2006-06-03

HODNETT HANDLES ALL STAR INVADERS AT LINCOLN ABBOTTSTOWN, PA (6-3-06) -- The All Star Circuit of Champions invaded Posse territory again this weekend to take on the ever so tough Central PA drivers at Williams Grove and Lincoln. Mother Nature...


ABBOTTSTOWN, PA (6-3-06) -- The All Star Circuit of Champions invaded Posse territory again this weekend to take on the ever so tough Central PA drivers at Williams Grove and Lincoln. Mother Nature had other plans on Friday night as the event at Williams Grove was rained out and rescheduled for later this season.

Saturday's weather was much more cooperative, and the All Stars pulled into Lincoln Speedway with their game faces on, ready to get some racing in with so many events rained out around the mid-west over the past month.

In the end it was Posse veteran Greg Hodnett who dominated the race, holding off Doug Esh in heavy lapped traffic to win his second race of the year. Thirty-five 410 sprint cars signed into the pits to run for the increased purse brought by the traveling series and once again the Posse pocketed the All Star's $5000 to win paycheck.

Hodnett, who started on the front row, ran away from the field with a comfortable lead before hitting lapped traffic 8 laps into the event. Doug Esh began to close on the leader in traffic as Dewease moved into the 3rd spot on lap 17.

Brian Monteith brushed the wall in turn 3 bringing out the 2nd caution of the event. On the restart, Esh had 4 lapped cars between him and the leader. He navigated around the lapped cars as Hodnett built another comfortable lead, but as he got into lapped traffic again Esh put the pressure on. Hodnett crossed the line on lap 30 just a car length ahead of Esh for the win.

"We got pretty lucky with our starting spot and took advantage of it," said Hodnett. "I tried not to stop and go...I just wanted to keep up my momentum and that's how I caught and passed a lot of those guys. It got to where I kind of needed to be on the bottom, but we weren't good on the bottom, so I kind of kept moving and moving and struggled a lot there over the last five laps...but I hung on for the win."

Rounding out the Top 10 was Dewease Nikki Young, Eric Stambaugh, All Star points leader Greg Wilson, Jeff Shepard, Todd Shaffer, Montieth, and Michael Carber. Other All Stars making the A-main event were Brock Mayes (11th), Chad Blonde (12th), Brandon Martin (14th), and Paul May (20th).

"Those guys did a great job," said Hodnett about the All Stars. "They have to bust ass and get over to Terre Haute, IN, for tomorrow night's show...we appreciate them guys coming out and always enjoy having them, but we always enjoy beating them too!"

The All Stars are the only national traveling series to visit Lincoln Speedway over the years and the fan support and driver turnout is always top notch, as is the level of competition. The All Stars enjoy coming to Lincoln Speedway and racing with some of the best drivers in the country in Central Pennsylvania and look forward to coming back again in 2007.

Todd Shaffer won the Outerwears Pre-filters Heat #1. Fred Rahmer won the B&B Oval Track Products Heat #2. Josh Wells won the Engler Machine & Tool Heat #3. Scott Geesey won the TP Wings Heat #4.

Jeff Shepard won the All Star Haulmark Dash while Jimmy Siegel won the University of Northwest Ohio B-Main.

Huggins Cams Fast Time in qualifying was set by Lance Dewease with a one-lap time of 13.904 seconds (97.094 MPH).

All Star Circuit of Champions - Statistical Report -- Lincoln Speedway 6-3-06

MSD Ignitions A-Main (30 Laps) - 1. 77-Greg Hodnett; 2. 30-Doug Esh; 3. 25-Lance Dewease; 4. 10N-Niki Young; 5. 4-Eric Stambaugh; 6. W20-Greg Wilson; 7. 4J-Jeff Shepard; 8. 5W-Todd Shaffer; 9. 21-Brian Montieth; 10. 69-Michael Carber; 11. 11B-Brock Mays; 12. 5B-Chad Blonde; 13. 6W-Josh Wells; 14. 11M-Brandon Martin; 15. 4-Danny Smith; 16. 87-Alan Krimes; 17. 14-Glenndon Forsythe; 18. 93-Chris Knopp; 19. 41-Scott Geesey; 20. 71M-Paul May; 21. 55-Kenny Jacobs (DNF); 22. 22-Fred Rahmer (DNF); 23. X-Bobby Weaver (DNF); 24. 59-Jimmy Siegel (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders - Greg Hodnett (1-30)

Outerwears Pre-Filters Heat #1 (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 5W-Todd Shaffer; 2. 69-Michael Carber; 3. 30-Doug Esh; 4. 25-Lance Dewease; 5. 14-Glenndon Forsythe; 6. 4-Danny Smith; 7. 3J-Judd Shepard (DNF); DNS - 22Z-Kyle Pruitt, 7E-Jonathon Ericksen. No Time

B&B Oval Track Products Heat #2 (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 22-Fred Rahmer; 2. 10N-Niki Young; 3. 11M-Brandon Martin; 4. X-Bobby Weaver; 5. 93-Chris Knopp; 6. W20-Greg Wilson; 7. 47J-Jeff Busby; 8. 30C-Steve Clabaugh; 9. 71-Brian Leppo (DNF). No Time

Engler Machine & Tool Heat #3 (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 6W-Josh Wells; 2. 21-Brian Montieth; 3. 11B-Brock Mays; 4. 4J-Jeff Shepard; 5. 4X-Eric Stambaugh; 6. 87-Alan Krimes; 7. 9-Craig Keel (DNF); 8. 70-Sam Schlosberg (DNF); 9. 63-Barry Ruble (DNF). Time - 2:33.69

TP Wings Heat #4 (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 41-Scott Geesey; 2. 71M-Paul May; 3. 5B-Chad Blonde; 4. 55-Kenny Jacobs; 5. 77-Greg Hodnett; 6. 59-Jim Siegel; 7. 11C-Cory Haas; 8. 79-Davey Sammons. No Time

Haulmark Dash (5 Laps) - 1. 4J-Jeff Shepard; 2. 77-Greg Hodnett; 3. 5B-Chad Blonde; 4. 25-Lance Dewease; 5. 71M-Paul May; 6. 11B-Brock Mayes. Time - 1:18.09

Unversity of Northwest Ohio B-Main (15 Laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 59-Jim Siegel; 2. 87-Alan Krimes; 3. 4-Danny Smith; 4. W20-Greg Wilson; 5. 70-Sam Schlosberg; 6. 11C-Cory Haas; 7. 22Z-Kyle Pruitt; 8. 30C-Steve Clabaugh; 9. 79-Davey Sammons; 10. 63-Barry Ruble; 11. 7E-Jonathan Erickson (DNF); 12. 47J-Jeff Busby (DNF); 13. 71-Brian Leppo (DNF); 14. 9-Craig Keel (DNF); 15. 3J-Judd Shepard (DNF). No Time

Huggins Cams Qualifying - 1. 25-Lance Dewease, 13.904 seconds (97.094 MPH); 2. 10N-Niki Young, 13.985; 3. 4-Eric Stambaugh, 14.011; 4. 59-Jim Siegel, 14.171; 5. 30-Doug Esh, 14.176; 6. 71-Brian Leppo, 14.182; 7. 9-Craig Keel, 14.228; 8. 77-Greg Hodnett, 14.241; 9. W20-Greg Wilson, 14.251; 10. 4J-Jeff Shepard, 14.270; 11. 5B-Chad Blonde, 14.324; 12. 4-Danny Smith, 14.349; 13. X-Bobby Weaver, 14.382; 14. 11B-Brock Mays, 14.401; 15. 55-Kenny Jacobs, 14.402; 16. 69-Michael Carber, 14.441; 17. 22-Fred Rahmer, 14.467; 18. 21-Brian Montieth, 14.469; 19. 5W-Todd Shaffer, 14.494; 20. 71M-Paul May, 14.520; 21. 14-Glenndon Forsythe, 14.554; 22. 11M-Brandon Martin, 14.593; 23. 6W-Josh Wells, 14.599; 24. 41-Scott Geesey, 14.599; 25. 3J-Judd Shepard, 14.622; 26. 93-Chris Knopp, 14.633; 27. 87-Alan Krimes, 14.679; 28. 11C-Cory Haas, 14.719; 29. 22Z-Kyle Pruitt, 14.885; 30. 47J-Jeff Busby, 14.912; 31. 70-Sam Schlosberg, 15.034; 32. 79-Davey Sammons, 15.041; 33. 7E-Jonathan Eriksen, 15.099; 34. 30C-Steve Clabaugh, 15.151; 35. 63-Barry Ruble, 15.441.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Greg Wil , Paul May
Teams Williams