ALLSTAR: Limaland results 2005-07-01

ALLENTOWN, OH -- Jac Haudenschild held off a determined Greg Wilson Friday night at Limaland Motorsports Park to win the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap A main feature. Round five of the 23rd annual All Star Raceweek paid the Wooster, Ohio ...

ALLENTOWN, OH -- Jac Haudenschild held off a determined Greg Wilson Friday night at Limaland Motorsports Park to win the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap A main feature. Round five of the 23rd annual All Star Raceweek paid the Wooster, Ohio driver $5,000 for his first win of the season. Haudenschild's ride was the Beef Packers No. 83jr., the same car driven to victory lane here one year ago by Tim Kaeding.

"The yellow flags kind of saved us there just as he (Wilson) was coming around the top," Haudenschild recalled. "The track was real racy and we could run anywhere on the track," he concluded.

Kenny Jacobs and Dale Blaney brought the field to the green flag and Blaney took over the top spot running ahead of Jacobs and third starter Haudenschild. Blaney pushed Jack Elden's machine out to a big lead on the rough track surface as Haudenschild applied heavy pressure on Jacobs for three laps before getting by for the runnerup spot. Chad Kemenah, who started sixth, began pressuring Jacobs on lap seven and those two drivers battled side by side as eighth starter Wilson joined their battle. By lap 14 Blaney was in lapped traffic as a terrific battle ensued for third between Kemenah, Jacobs and Wilson. Wilson rode the extra high groove to get past Jacobs on the backstretch for fourth and set his sights on Kemenah.

As lapped traffic slowed Blaney slightly allowing Haudenschild to close, Haudenschild rode the high groove off turn four to grab the lead on lap 22. After disposing of Kemenah, Wilson got past Blaney for second a lap later and he began to run down the leader. A lap 25 yellow flag allowed everyone to catch their breath and anticipate the battle between Haudenschild and Wilson. Haudenschild got a great restart to pull away from Wilson, but Wilson persisted in the high groove above the cushion and kept cutting into the lead of Haudenschild. Wilson was poised to make a pass of the leader coming off turn four when the final caution flew for a stopped Brock Mayes, who hit the wall while running in the top ten. This set up a green, white, checkered sequence for the finish of the race.

Wilson kept the leader in his sights when the green reappeared but brushed the backstretch wall. After the white flag appeared he regained his momentum and coming down for the checkered flag he tried a last ditch high groove move that fell a car length short at the finish line.

"Maybe I have to drive the 83 Jr. to win here," said runnerup Wilson, who finished second in Bob Hampshire's No. 63 for the second consecutive season here. "It just feels good to run good in front of all my sponsors here at Limaland. I hope we put on a good show for all you fans up there."

Blaney ended up third ahead of Kemenah and Kelly Kinser. Dean Jacobs, Danny Smith, K. Jacobs, Byron Reed and Randy Hannagan completed the top ten finishers. The Crown Battery heat fell to Byron Reed, the B&B Products heat went to Hannagan, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by John Ivy and the TP Wings heat fell to Jeremy Campbell. Lee Jacobs won the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main after leader Mike Brecht spun within sight of the checkered flag. Brock Mayes captured the Haulmark Dash and once again Chad Kemenah was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 11.400; 2. Brock Mayes, Brock Mtspts. 11B, 11.530; 3. Ricky Logan, Grove 70, 11.560; 4. Jac Haudenschild, Roth 83jr, 11.570; 5. Dale Blaney, Elden 22, 11.570; 6. Kenny Jacobs, Hunter 2, 11.590; 7. Dean Jacobs, Pullins 29, 11.600; 8. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 11.600; 9. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 11.620; 10. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 11.690; 11. Kevin Huntley, Fisher 2x, 11.780; 12. Lee Jacobs, Burmeister 16, 11.780; 13. Mike Brecht, Hammons m20, 11.780; 14. Randy Hannagan, THR 1x, 11.790; 15. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 11.850; 16. Cody Geldart, Geldart 6g, 11.870; 17. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 11.870; 18. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 11.870; 19. John Ivy, Carousel 5i, 11.870; 20. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 11.910; 21. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 11.940; 22. Paul May, May 71m, 11.950; 23. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 11.970; 24. Todd Kane, Kane 78, 12.010; 25. Mike Lutz, Chiappelli 98, 12.060; 26. Ryan Coniam, Bancon 46, 12.070; 27. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 12.190; 28. Kent Wolters, Coverstone 1, 12.340; 29. Marty Perovich, Saldana 17au, 12.350; 30. Mike Miller, Wood 8, 12.370; 31. Cory Seeling, Seeling 97, 12.470; 32. Jeff Williams, Schriber 5w, 12.470; 33. Bob Bennett, Acme 3, 12.500; 34. Scott Euler, Euler 27, 12.530; 35. Dwain Leiber, Leiber 62, 12.650; 36. Tom Conrad, Jr., Conrad 21, 13.040; 37. Rick Boughan, Grear 4x, 13.160; 38. Joe Cheeseman, Cheeseman 55c, 13.750.

Crown Battery Heat (10 laps): 1. Reed 2. Chaney 3. Smith 4. Blaney 5. Kemenah 6. Lutz 7. Perovich 8. Boughan 9. Brecht 10. Bennett.

B&B Products Heat (10 laps): 1. Hannagan 2. Kinser 3. Mayes 4. Rose 5. K. Jacobs 6. Coniam 7. Miller 8. Euler 9. Cheeseman 10. May.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (10 laps): 1. Ivy 2. D. Jacobs 3. Logan 4. Huntley 5. Baxter 6. Neumeister 7. Leiber 8. Seeling 9. Ruble.

TP Wings Heat (10 laps): 1. Campbell 2. Haudenschild 3. Kane 4. Wilson 5. Geldart 6. Wolters 7. L. Jacobs 8. Williams 9. Conrad.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Mayes 2. Haudenschild 3. Kemenah 4. K. Jacobs 5. Wilson 6. Blaney.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (15 laps): 1. L. Jacobs 2. May 3. Coniam 4. Lutz 5. Miller 6. Seeling 7. Boughan 8. Conrad 9. Cheeseman 10. Brecht 11. Neumeister 12. Wolters 13. Ruble 14. Perovich 15. Williams 16. Bennett 17. Euler 18. Leiber.

A Main (30 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild 2. Greg Wilson 3. Dale Blaney 4. Chad Kemenah 5. Kelly Kinser 6. Dean Jacobs 7. Danny Smith 8. Kenny Jacobs 9. Byron Reed 10. Randy Hannagan 11. John Ivy 12. Jeremy Campbell 13. Ricky Logan 14. Kevin Huntley 15. Rob Chaney 16. Keith Baxter 17. Cody Geldart 18. Bill Rose 19. Mike Lutz 20. Brock Mayes 21. Paul May 22. Ryan Coniam 23. Todd Kane 24. Lee Jacobs.

Lap Leaders: Dale Blaney 1-21, Jac Haudenschild 22-30.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Mike Miller , Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Randy Hannagan , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Jac Haudenschild , Chad Kemenah , Tim Kaeding , Paul May
Teams Williams