ALLSTAR: Lernerville results 2008-04-25

"The Mouse" Traps 98th All Star Win at Lernerville Speedway The O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions resumed action at the historical Lernerville Speedway in Western PA with 33 cars ready to duke it out for $5,000 to win. All Star points...

"The Mouse" Traps 98th All Star Win at Lernerville Speedway

The O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions resumed action at the historical Lernerville Speedway in Western PA with 33 cars ready to duke it out for $5,000 to win. All Star points leader Lance Dewease looked to extend his lead over Dale Blaney and Randy Hannagan on the fast half mile where Blaney turned many laps in the 90's. Brian Paulus, who came into the night fourth in season championship points, suffered mechanical problems in qualifying and was not able to transfer from his heat race, but came back to win the B-main from the last row.

The All Stars implemented a redraw for the top six starting positions this season by bringing six young fans onto the front stretch and assigning each of them to a driver -- each of which are the top six drivers who transferred out of their heat race. Then the kids draw cards for their driver's starting spot in the A-main. The redraw line up put veteran Kenny Jacobs on the pole along side Lernerville veteran Rod George. The second row consisted of Ed Lynch Jr and defending All Star champion Greg Wilson. Row three lined up the night's fast qualifier Paul McMahan next to Rob Chaney.

Rod George jumped out to the lead in the 35-lap event before the first caution slowed the action on lap one. On the restart George led Kenny Jacobs to the line and the two battled hard for several laps as Lernerville standout Ed Lynch Jr. moved into 3rd and Paul McMahan slid into 4th.

On lap 10, Jacobs got around George to take the lead, but George put up a fight and ran nose to tail with The Mouse as they moved into traffic. McMahan was on the move and on lap 13 got around George to take over the 2nd spot.

The caution flew again on lap 20 with the running order Jacobs, McMahan, George, Lynch, and Dewease. The caution would fly again on lap 21 for a slowing Randy Hannagan as Jacobs slapped the wall with his right rear, bending the wheel.

Jacobs took the green on the restart with the wheel damage not really becoming a factor. The Mouse rode it out with McMahan in tow to take the checkers for his 98th career All Star victory. "This is one of the best tracks in the country," said Jacobs from victory lane. "I really wanted to win here tonight. My kids keep telling me I need to get 3 more wins. Heck, I say lets go for 7 or 8 more!"

Heat races were won by Brandon Martin, Tim Shaffer, Bob Felmlee, and Lance Dewease. Paul McMahan set the quick time for the night and also won the O'Reilly Dash.

The All Stars will be in action again on Saturday at Tony Stewart's Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, OH. With the early cancellation of the World of Outlaws and Knoxville Raceway events this weekend, many Outlaw teams are expected to compete with the All Stars at Eldora. Get there early for the racing to begin at 7:30 pm.

O'Reilly All Star Circuit of Champions Statistics Lernerville Speedway (Sarver, PA) 4-25-08

Kistler Engines Qualifying
1. (0) Paul McMahn, 13.023
2. (2L) Ed Lynch Jr., 13.025
3. (59) Kenny Jacobs, 13.062
4. (4) Rod George, 13.105
5. (24H) Rob Chaney, 13.108
6. (W20) Greg Wilson, 13.153
7. (6F) Bob Felmlee, 13.181
8. (83) Phil Gressman, 13.189
9. (1X) Randy Hannigan, 13.237
10. (20E) Brian Ellenberger, 13.282
11. (3B) Scott Bonnell, 13.332
12. (9) Kevin Schaeffer, 13.365
13. (11M) Brandon Martin, 13.400
14. (2) Dale Blaney, 13.481
15. (98) Dan Shetler, 13.486
16. (30C) Lance Dewease, 13.487
17. (5A) Rob Eyler, 13.495
18. (16) Gary Rankin, 13.637
19. (11B) Brock Mayes, 13.584
20. (15) Charlie Holben, 13.628
21. (D45) Tim Shaffer, 13.975
22. (56R) Ryan Myers, 13.685
23. (11) Scott Priester, 13.828
24. (10) Carl Bowser, 13.875
25. (33) Brent Matus, 14.070
26. (29E) Brent Ellenberger, 14.152
27. (12J) Bill Jones, 14.172
28. (X) Cory Good, 14.406
29. (4K) Bill Kiley, 14.926
30. (3J) Joe Butera, 15.258
31. (24S) Brian Steinman, 15.412
32. (59X) Terry Bowser, 25.07
33. (28) Brian Paulus, No Time

All Pro Heads Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. (11M) Brandon Martin
2. (0) Paul McMahan
3. (15) Charlie Holben
4. (24H) Rob Chaney
5. (1X) Randy Hannagan
6. (5A) Rob Eyler
7. (X) Cory Good
8. (10) Carl Bowser
9. (59) Terry Bowser

Engler Machine & Tool Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. (D45) Tim Shaffer
2. (20W) Greg Wilson
3. (2) Dale Blaney
4. (2L) Ed Lynch Jr.
5. (20E) Brian Ellenberger
6. (28) Brian Paulus
7. (16) Gary Rankin
8. (33) Brent Matus
9. (4K) Bill Kiley

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)
1. (6F) Bob Felmlee
2. (59) Kenny Jacobs
3. (56R) Ryan Myers
4. (98) Dan Shetler
5. (D4) Danny Holtgraver
6. (29E) Brent Ellenberger
7. (3J) Joe Butera
8. (3B) Scott Bonnell

Hank's Performance Products Heat Race #4 (8Laps)
1. (30C) Lance Dewease
2. (11) Scott Priester
3. (83) Phil Gressman
4. (11B) Brock Mayes
5. (4) Rod George
6. (9) Kevin Schaeffer
7. (24S) Brian Steinman
8. (12J) Bill Jones

O'Reilly Auto Parts Dash (6 Laps)
1. (0) McMahan
2. (W20) Wilson
3. (24H) Rob Chaney
4. (6F) Bob Felmlee
5. (1X) Randy Hannagan
6. (83) Phil Gressman

UNOH B-Main (12 Laps)
1. (28) Brian Paulus,
2. (9) Kevin Schaeffer
3. (5A) Rob Eyler
4. (3B) Scott Bonnell
5. (33) Brent Matus
6. (16) Lee Stark
7. (4K) Bill Kiley
8. (10) Carl Bowser
9. (3J) Joe Butera
10. (59X) Terry Bowser
11. (29E) Brent Ellenberger
12. (24S) Brian Steinman
13. (12J) Bill Jones
14. (X) Cory Good

MSD Ignitions A-main (35 laps)
1. (59) Kenny Jacobs
2. (0) Paul McMahan
3. (4) Rod George
4. (2) Dale Blaney
5. (2L) Ed Lynch Jr.
6. (30C) Lance Dewease
7. (83) Phil Gressman
8. (11M) Brandon Martin
9. (D45) Tim Shaffer
10. (20W) Greg Wilson
11. (6F) Bob Felmlee
12. (11B) Brock Mayes
13. (9) Kevin Schaeffer
14. (28) Brian Paulus
15. (20E) Brian Ellenberger
16. (24H) Rob Chaney
17. (D4) Danny Holtgraver
18. (5A) Rob Eyler
19. (3B) Scott Bonnell
20. (98) Dan Shetler
21. (1X) Randy Hannagan
22. (15) Charlie Holben
23. (11) Scott Priester
24. (56R) Ryan Myers

-credit: allstarsprint

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tony Stewart , Tim Shaffer , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Paulus , Paul McMahan , Randy Hannagan , Greg Wil