ALLSTAR: Lernerville 1999-06-11

All Star Sprint Race Results - Lernerville Speedway - Fri. 6/11/99 By Scott Hall SARVER, PA - Dean Jacobs took over the lead when leader Jimmy Hawley suffered engine problems with a pair of laps remaining in the All Star sprint 30-lap...

All Star Sprint Race Results - Lernerville Speedway - Fri. 6/11/99 By Scott Hall

SARVER, PA - Dean Jacobs took over the lead when leader Jimmy Hawley suffered engine problems with a pair of laps remaining in the All Star sprint 30-lap feature Friday night at Lernerville Speedway. The event was the opener of the seventh annual All Star Western Pa. Speedweek series and paid Jacobs $5,000 to win for his second series victory of 1999. Jacobs, aboard the Holbrook Motorsports Chevrolet-powered Eagle chassis, got crashed out of his heat race and had to win the B main to qualify for the feature. He gave all the credit to his crew of Andy Potter and Aussie Brett Sartroi in victory lane. "We replaced the spindles and changed the rear end, driveline and we pretty much changed the whole car. Thanks to my guys, they worked their tails off to get back in the race." he recalled of the frantic pit repair activity. "I really didn’t think I was that fast in the race, I was pretty loose but the bottom stuck around and I felt pretty good on the bottom. Jimmy went to the bottom after he took the white flag and I just slipped in there." Although Hawley, the current Lernerville points leader finished second, the result was bittersweet. "I thought we had that race if we could get past those lapped cars on the last couple of laps. Something just broke, either a nozzle got plugged or a spark plug or a rocker arm broke on that side, I just lost everything on the bottom and it took a while for it to pick back up." He drove Doc Crawford’s Kriner powered machine with which he has four wins here this year. Butch Schroeder, subbing for the injured Paul McMahan, started on the ButlerBuilt Motorsports Equipment Hot Seat pole position in the United Expressline No. U2 with Hawley alongside. Hawley jumped out to the immediate lead, running the high groove, with Schroeder second and Ed Lynch, Jr. third. Hawley pulled away from the pack, even running above the groove in the loose dirt in turn four several times, while Lynch took over second on the second circuit with Schroeder and fifth starter Dean Jacobs battling for third. Then the red appeared on lap five for Brian Ellenberger, who rolled over and Ralph Engel went off the turn one banking to avoid him. Engel’s sprinter ended up with the tail section stuck in a tree at the bottom of the bank. Hawley remained on top for the restart, and pulled to a quarter lap advantage over Lynch. Dale Blaney moved into the picture at this point, challenging Jacobs for third. By lap 11 Hawley was back in lapped traffic, shrinking his lead, with Lynch still second and Jacobs and Blaney battling for third. With Blaney trying the lower groove through turns three and four, Jacobs moved to that spot to keep third. The lower groove proved to be faster, as Jacobs moved under Lynch on lap 13 for the runner-up spot, and Blaney took third from a struggling Lynch a lap later with a pass exiting turn four. As Jacobs and Blaney began closing on the leader, the red was unfurled on lap 16 for Lynch, who spun off turn one, ending up on his side outside the track at the bottom of the banking. Hawley led again on the restart, with Jacobs second, Blaney third and 11th starting Kenny Jacobs fourth. Lapped traffic loomed ahead again on lap 23, again slowing Hawley’s charge. Blaney was really putting the pressure on Dean now, actually taking over second for part of a lap before Jacobs recovered the spot. By lap 27, Hawley had cleared lapped traffic and appeared headed to an easy victory, but suddenly he began to slow, allowing Jacobs to make the winning pass just before Hawley took the white flag. Jacobs motored around in the high groove to win, despite having no brakes, with Hawley limping home second and Blaney third in the Hughes Wheel and Axle J&J. Kenny Jacobs was fourth with 13th starter Rodney Duncan fifth and Danny Smith sixth. Schroeder finished seventh, earning the "Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven" award with Jerrod Hull, Brad Furr, up from 12th and Jamie Smith next. Byron Reed was running seventh on the last lap and spun out, falling to 11th at the finish. The United Expressline heat fell to Hawley, the Southwest Expressline heat to Daryl Stimeling, the Southwest Glass heat was won by Kenny Jacobs and the United Specialties heat went to Brian Ellenberger. Blaney won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash. Dean Jacobs got squeezed into the frontstretch wall during the start of the second heat, and barrel rolled down the front chute. He came back to win the United Expressline B Main. Time Trials: 1. Dale Blaney, Hughes 94, 13.450; 2. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 13.813; 3. Brian Paulus, P&P 28, 13.868; 4. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs 6, 13.923; 5. Ed Lynch, Jr., Lynch 2L, 13.945; 6. Jimmy Hawley, Crawford C3, 13.982; 7. Butch Schroeder, Johnson U2, 14.025; 8. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 14.068; 9. Danny Smith, Ashworth 92, 14.077; 10. Ralph Spithaler, Spithaler 56s, 14.163; 11. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 14.216; 12. Brad Furr, Furr 2F, 14.217; 13. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 14.233; 14. Jamie Smith, Smith 5, 14.243; 15. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 14.273; 16. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 1;4.343 17. Craig Rankin, Guzzo 77, 14.398; 18. Scott Bonnell, Bonnell 3, 14.449; 19. Brian Carlson, SC Motorsports 18, 14.457; 20. Rod George, Weikert 29, 14.465; 21. Ralph Engel, Engel 55, 14.536; 22. Daryl Stimeling, Stimeling 30, 14.654; 23. Kevin Schaeffer, Schaeffer 9, 14.731; 24. Jim Chappel, Chappel 10, 14.892; 25. Bill Kiley, Kiley 4K, 14.912; 26. Chris Strait, Strait 46, 14.944; 27. Brad Ellenberger, Ellenberger 87, 14.955; 28. Roger Bennett, Bennett 444, 15.057; 29. Brent Matus, Matus 33, 15.106; 30. Tom Marshall, Dionise 15, 15.183; 31. Kevin Andrusky, Andrusky 7, 15.217; 32. Jim Damon, Damon 50x, 15.254; 33. Charlie Holben, Holben 42g, 15.306; 34. Bob Walters, Walters 42, 15.361; 35. John Stickley, Stickley L7, 15.623; 36. Jeff Stochel, Stochel 63w, 15.828; 37. Mike Sub, Sub 78, NT. United Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Hawley 2. Blaney 3. Rankin 4. Engel 5. Duncan 6. Spithaler 7. Holben 8. Matus 9. Kiley. Southwest Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Stimeling 2. Hull 3. J. Smith 4. Bonnell 5. Schroeder 6. Walters 7. Strait 8. D. Jacobs 9. Marshall. Southwest Glass Heat (8 laps): 1. K. Jacobs 2. Wilson 3. Paulus 4. Carlson 5. Reed 6. Schaeffer 7. Brad Ellenberger 8. Andrusky 9. Stickley. United Specialties Heat (8 laps): 1. Brian Ellenberger 2. Lynch 3. George 4. D. Smith 5. Furr 6. Chappel 7. Bennett 8. Damon 9. Stochel. Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash: (4 laps): 1. Blaney 2. Paulus 3. Lynch 4. D. Smith 5. Reed 6. Schroeder. United Expressline B Main (12 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. Spithaler 3. Matus 4. Schaeffer 5. Chappel 6. Walters 7. Andrusky 8. Holben 9. Bennett 10. Kiley 11. Marshall 12. Stickley 13. Strait 14. Stochel 15. Damon 16. Brad Ellenberger 17. Sub - DNS. A Main (30 laps): 1. Dean Jacobs 2. Jimmy Hawley 3. Dale Blaney 4. Kenny Jacobs 5. Rodney Duncan 6. Danny Smith 7. Butch Schroeder 8. Jerrod Hull 9. Brad Furr 10. Jamie Smith 11. Byron Reed 12. Greg Wilson 13. Scott Bonnell 14. Rod George 15. Daryl Stimeling 16. Kevin Schaeffer 17. Brent Matus 18. Brian Carlson 19. Ralph Spithaler 20. Brian Paulus 21. Ed Lynch Jr. 22. Craig Rankin 23. Brian Ellenberger 24. Ralph Engel.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brad Furr , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Brian Paulus , Dean Jacobs , Paul McMahan , Greg Wil