ALLSTAR: Lawrenceburg results

LAWRENCEBURG, IN - Danny Smith used the high groove Kevin Huntley showed him to win Saturday night's 18th annual All Star sprint 50-lap Hoosier Fall Classic feature at Lawrenceburg Speedway. His third win of the season was worth $10,000 to...

LAWRENCEBURG, IN - Danny Smith used the high groove Kevin Huntley showed him to win Saturday night's 18th annual All Star sprint 50-lap Hoosier Fall Classic feature at Lawrenceburg Speedway. His third win of the season was worth $10,000 to the Indiana native. With his 18th place finish, Kenny Jacobs locked up his second consecutive All Star sprint car title. "I won a lot of races here when I started racing," Smith said of Lawrenceburg, while standing beside the John Baker Excavating Maxim, with Shaver-Chevy power, aboard Hoosier tires. "My dad taught me to race here," the 1975 Lawrenceburg track champion recalled. "This is my biggest win here ever, it's great!" "I saw Danny playing around in the middle groove," Huntley said after finishing third. "I mistimed my pass and didn't get all the way around him. I showed him the high line there and he took it right back." Huntley then thanked his car owner Denny Ashworth and his sons for a fine race car. John Ivy started on the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole with Travis Rilat alongside. Smith started fourth and took second behind Rilat when the green fell. After an early caution, Kelly Kinser took over third as Smith pressured Rilat for the lead. Smith dove low for a pass on lap five, but Rilat repelled the move and kept the lead. For the next three laps, the lead duo ran side by side, swapping the lead in each turn, but Rilat led each lap at the flagstand until Smith took over the top spot at the flagstand by a bumper on lap nine. Once on top, Smith had to contend with lapped traffic on the tight quarter mile. Rilat held second with Ivy third and Kinser fourth. Smith held off Rilat as Kenny Jacobs moved into contention. Jacobs moved to third by lap 16 with Huntley fourth just after Ivy retook second from Rilat. A lap 20 caution for Rob Chaney's infield excursion stopped the action with the order Smith, Ivy, Rilat, Huntley and fast timer Jacobs. When the green reappeared, Ivy and Rilat battled for second behind Smith with Ivy maintaining the spot. Smith pulled out to a nice lead after he cleared lapped traffic again as Huntley and Kinser moved up past Jacobs. Kinser and Huntley traded fourth several times, then both got past Ivy who began fading. Lap 35 saw another caution, this for Jacobs stopping at the pit entrance. So now Smith led over Huntley, Rilat, Ivy and Kinser with Greg Wilson sixth and Mark Keegan seventh after starting 19th. Huntley rode the high groove around two lapped cars on the restart and began to reel in Smith. Huntley led briefly on the backstretch on lap 40, but Smith moved back up to the top groove and kept the lead at the start-finish line. A Paul May spin on lap 42 set up an eight lap dash to the finish, but Smith pulled away from Huntley when the green came out. Rilat was now third with Keegan fourth, and Rilat got back second with five to go. Coming down for the white flag, Huntley took back second from the Texan, but off turn for coming down for the checkered, Rilat nipped Huntley for second at the finish line on the high side. "We found a good groove through three and four," Rilat recalled following his best career All Star finish. "There was a good cushion in turn one which gave us some momentum. It was fun racing with Kevin." Keegan's amazing drive from the back netted fourth with Kinser holding on to fifth with Greg Wilson sixth. Duncan finished seventh, winning the Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven award. He spun out on the initial start and came from the back to seventh, ahead of Ivy. Kemenah in ninth earned the $100 TW Metals Nightly Cash Bonus with Phil Gressman tenth. The heats went to Todd Kane, Phil Gressman, Greg Wilson and Mark Keegan. Jim Nier won the Georgia Marketing & Promotions B Main while Jacobs captured the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash. Joey Cramer captured the modified feature over early leader Dave Cook. <pre> Time Trials: 1. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs/Honecker 6, 10.566; 2. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 10.602; 3. Danny Smith, Baker 4, 10.613; 4. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 10.649; 5. Travis Rilat, Archer 1a, 10.723; 6. John Ivy, Carousel 20, 10.771; 7. Kevin Huntley, Ashworth 92, 10.783; 8. Todd Gracey, Cooper 25, 10.793; 9. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 10.823; 10. Phil Gressman, Reidling 9, 10.837; 11. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 10.842; 12. Kevin Briscoe, Briscoe 5, 10.851; 13. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, 10.925; 14. Rob Chaney, Courtad 9x, 10.929; 15. Alvin Roepke, Ford 99, 10.937; 16. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 10.938; 17. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 10.969; 18. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 10.979; 19. Jonathan Stevens, Stevens 14J, 10.993; 20. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 11.058; 21. Todd Kane, BWB 26, 11.141; 22. Nick Naber, G&N 6n, 11.166; 23. Craig McGuire, Pullins 29, 11.174; 24. Eric Hysong, Andrews 72, 11.206; 25. Mike Brecht, Seeling 97, 11.262; 26. Terry Pletch, Pletch 29, 11.311; 27. Paul May, May 71m, 11.355; 28. Todd Kelley, Kelley 21k, 11.398; 29. Paul Weaver, Nickles 31, 11.501; 30. Daryl Stimeling, Stimeling 30, 11.567; 31. Mike Bowling, Longworth 4, 11.639; 32. Keith Crabtree, Crabtree 6c, 11.708; 33. John Buchy, Buchy 28, 11.739; 34. Mike Goodman, C&W 3, 11.783; 35. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63, 11.893; 36. Kent Wolters, Wolters 12, 11.928; 37. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 12.020; 38. Shannon Jodrey, Jodrey 10j, 12.165; 39. Rick Barlow, Barlow 26b, 12.326; 40. Charlie Swartz, Jr., Stinson 84x, 12.361; 41. Spud Gustin, Gustin F1, 12.595; 42. Steve Wilmot, Wilmot 73, 14.855. Heat (10 laps): 1. Kane 2. Duncan 3. Jacobs 4. Rilat 5. Stinson 6. Nier 7. Brecht 8. Weaver 9. Baxter 10. Gustin 11. Buchy. Heat (10 laps): 1. Gressman 2. Chaney 3. Hull 4. Ivy 5. Pletch 6. Goodman 7. Naber 8. Jodrey 9. Stimeling 10. Kemenah 11. Wilmot. Heat (10 laps): 1. Wilson 2. McGuire 3. Smith 4. Huntley 5. Roepke 6. May 7. Ruble 8. Bowling 9. Barlow 10. Stevens. Heat (10 laps): 1. Keegan 2. Kinser 3. Gracey 4. Briscoe 5. Reed 6. Wolters 7, Kelley 8. Crabtree 9. Swartz 10. Hysong. Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash (4 laps): 1. Jacobs 2. Kinser 3. Huntley 4. Ivy 5. Smith 6. Gracey. Georgia Marketing & Promotions B Main (15 laps): 1. Nier 2. Kemenah 3. Goodman 4. May 5. Naber 6. Wolters 7. Brecht 8. Stimeling 9. Kelley 10. Baxter 11. Bowling 12. Jodrey 13. Buchy 14. Swartz 15. Gustin 16. Hysong 17. Crabtree 18. Barlow 19. Weaver 20. Ruble 21. Wilmot. A Main (50 laps): 1. Danny Smith 2. Travis Rilat 3. Kevin Huntely 4. Mark Keegan 5. Kelly Kinser 6. Greg Wilson 7. Rodney Duncan 8. John Ivy 9. Chad Kemenah 10. Phil Gressman 11. Jerrod Hull 12. Jim Nier 13. Terry Pletch 14. Mike Goodman 15. Paul May 16. Alvin Roepke 17. Kevin Briscoe 18. Kenny Jacobs 19. Todd Kane 20. Jimmy Stinson 21. Rob Chaney 22. Byron Reed 23. Craig McGuire 24. Todd Gracey. All Star Sprint Points: 1. Kenny Jacobs 3262; 2. Rodney Duncan 3065; 3. Chad Kemenah 2829; 4. Jerrod Hull 2803; 5. Todd Gracey 2685; 6. Kelly Kinser 2384; 7. Greg Wilson 2247; 8. Danny Smith 2040; 9. Daryl Stimeling 1930; 10. Barry Ruble 1782.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Travis Rilat , Greg Wil , John Baker , Chad Kemenah , Dave Cook , Paul May