ALLSTAR: K-C Raceway results 2003-09-05

ALMA, OH -- Greg Wilson scored an exciting third win of the year Friday night at K-C Raceway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car Sam Erwin Memorial 40 lap feature. Wilson had to hold off a hard charging Kraig Kinser for the $5,000 payday in...

ALMA, OH -- Greg Wilson scored an exciting third win of the year Friday night at K-C Raceway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car Sam Erwin Memorial 40 lap feature. Wilson had to hold off a hard charging Kraig Kinser for the $5,000 payday in Bob Hampshire's No. 63. Kenny Jacobs ended up third after a hard battle with the youthful Kinser.

"It's nice to come here to K-C and win. It's one of the greatest tracks in the country," Wilson exclaimed. "I want to thank Bob Hampshire for a great race team and an awesome engine and a great Maxim Chassis and American Race Tires. It's just great to be standing in victory lane at K-C."

"I needed to get through lapped traffic a lot quicker," runnerup Kinser revealed. "I couldn't get a good enough run down the straightaway to get under him (Wilson) in the turns. I wish I would have won, but we'll take second."

"I think I needed to get the lead on the start," third place Jacobs stated. "I tore my right rear tire clear off trying to race with these guys. I think I could have run a bit smoother line if I had been out front. I didn't get the lead on the start and Greg had an awful nice car all night long so I had to run harder and it tore the tires off."

Kinser had the pole for the start with Jacobs alongside, ahead of Wilson and Jeremy Campbell. Jeff Shepard and Chad Kemenah made up row three. Following an aborted start which saw Jacobs lead into turn one, Kinser took the lead when the green fell again over Jacobs and Wilson. Wilson got past Jacobs for second on the fifth circuit, but Jacobs battled back and was side by side with Wilson on lap 11 when another caution appeared for a spin by fourth place Campbell. Kinser still led over Wilson, Jacobs and Kemenah when the green reappeared and Kinser pulled away from Wilson a bit on an open track, but once in lapped traffic, Wilson closed back in on the leader. Lap after lap, Kinser held a slim margin over Wilson through dense lapped traffic. Finally, on lap 27 Wilson had enough momentum driving high off turn four to squeeze between Kinser and the concrete wall to snare the lead at the start finish line. Jacobs was still running third with Kemenah fourth and Dale Blaney fifth after starting 16th.

Wilson motored away from Kinser following a lap 27 restart, with Jacobs in third pressuring Kinser. As Wilson began stretching his lead, Jacobs kept heavy pressure on Kinser. Lap 33 saw Blaney stop on the track with a flat, sending him from fifth to the rear of the field. Kinser got beside Wilson on that restart, but Wilson, in the high groove, was able to maintain his lead. Lap 36 saw another caution, this time for Jason Johnson. Johnson was back up to ninth after restarting on the tail on lap four, and he ran off the track on turn three to cause the yellow. At this point, the event was red flagged for a fuel stop.

For the four lap dash to the finish, it was Wilson, Kinser, Jacobs, Kemenah, Shepard and Kelly Kinser. Kraig Kinser tried a slide job and got alongside Wilson when the green appeared, but he did not have enough momentum to get by. So Wilson motored away to win by five car lengths over Kinser's Delco-Remy machine and Jacobs in the Pete Grove No. 70. Points leader Kemenah was fourth with Kelly Kinser fighting his way back to fifth after going to the rear on lap four. Shepard was sixth ahead of John Ivy, up from 11th, utilizing a front anti-roll bar on his Carousel Racing No. 20. Dean Jacobs in Dino the Dinosaur trim was eighth ahead of Jimmy Stinson and Rob Chaney.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Kemenah, the B&B Products heat went to Butch Schroeder, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Kelly Kinser and the TP Wings heat fell to John Ivy. Jimmy Stinson won the United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main. Kemenah captured the Haulmark Dash and was also the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 11.178; 2. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, 11.204; 3. Jeff Shepard, Ashworth 92, 11.213; 4. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 11.278; 5. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 11.336; 6. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 11.340; 7. Kenny Jacobs, Grove 70, 11.347; 8. Kraig Kinser, Kinser 11k, 11.357; 9. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 11.365; 10. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 11.405; 11. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 11.420; 12. John Ivy, Carousel 20, 11.428; 13. Tim Hunter, Hunter 2H, 11.452; 14. Nick Naber, Jarrell 22, 11.477; 15. Ryan Coniam, Coniam 6c, 11.487; 16. Jason Johnson, Harrison 22, 11.492; 17. Dale Blaney, Andrews 72b, 11.492; 18. Butch Schroeder, Brown 99, 11.507; 19. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 11.513; 20. Dean Jacobs, Pullins 29, 11.550; 21. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 11.590; 22. Brock Mayes, Mayes 11, 11.613; 23. Craig McGuire, McGuire 4, 11.645; 24. George Hawkins, Hawkins 5H , 1.686; 25. Bruce Robenalt, Robenalt 98, 11.695; 26. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 11.725; 27. Jason Dukes, JT 3, 11.775; 28. Kyle Stuchell, Stuchell 48s, 11.807; 29. Mike Hogan, Hogan 75, 11.851; 30. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 11.897; 31. Eddie Slone, Slone 4x, 12.220; 32. Mark Imler, Imler 40, 12.238; 33. Adam Strausser, Strausser 65, 12.568; 34. Ron Blair, Blair 35, 12.969; 35. Erin Crocker, Woodring 16c, 12.997; 36. Randy Fink, Fink 41, 13.283; 37. Bob Carrico, Carrico 8, 14.473.

Crown Battery Heat (10 laps): 1. Kemenah 2. Hunter 3. Blaney 4. Chaney 5. Baxter 6. Neumeister 7. Hogan 8. Robenalt 9. Strausser 10. Carrico.

B&B Products Heat (10 laps): 1. Schroeder 2. Naber 3. Mayes 4. Wilson 5. Reed 6. Stinson 7. Rose 8. Ruble 9. Blair.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (10 laps): 1. Ke. Kinser 2. K. Jacobs 3. McGuire 4. Coniam 5. Shepard 6. Keegan 7. Dukes 8. Slone 9. Crocker.

TP Wings Heat (10 laps): 1. Ivy 2. D. Jacobs 3. Johnson 4. Campbell 5. Kr. Kinser 6. Hawkins 7. Imler 8. Stuchell 9. Fink.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Kemenah 2. Shepard 3. Wilson 4. K. Jacobs 5. Chaney 6. Reed.

United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main (12 laps): 1. Stinson 2. Keegan 3. Dukes 4. Robenalt 5. Neumeister 6. Rose 7. Hogan 8. Hawkins 9. Slone 10. Crocker 11. Strausser 12. Ruble 13. Imler 14. Stuchell 15. Blair 16. Fink 17. Carrico.

Haulmark A Main (40 laps): 1. Greg Wilson 2. Kraig Kinser 3. Kenny Jacobs 4. Chad Kemenah 5. Kelly Kinser 6. Jeff Shepard 7. John Ivy 8. Dean Jacobs 9. Jimmy Stinson 10. Rob Chaney 11. Tim Hunter 12. Dale Blaney 13. Jeremy Campbell 14. Keith Baxter 15. Ryan Coniam 16. Jason Johnson 17. Craig McGuire 18. Brock Mayes 19. Byron Reed 20. Bruce Robenalt 21. Mark Keegan 22. Butch Schroeder 23. Nick Naber 24. Jason Dukes.

Lap Leaders: Kraig Kinser 1-26, Greg Wilson 27-40.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Erin Crocker , Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Kraig Kinser , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Chad Kemenah , Jason Johnson