ALLSTAR: K-C Raceway results 2000-05-13

All Star Sprint Race Results - K-C Raceway By Scott Hall ALMA, OH (May 13, 2000) - The last time Rodney Duncan set foot in an All Star Circuit of Champions victory lane was June 3, 1988 at the New 96 Speedway in Michigan. Well, Saturday night...

All Star Sprint Race Results - K-C Raceway
By Scott Hall

ALMA, OH (May 13, 2000) - The last time Rodney Duncan set foot in an All Star Circuit of Champions victory lane was June 3, 1988 at the New 96 Speedway in Michigan. Well, Saturday night at K-C Raceway in the All Star sprint 40-lap feature, Duncan led wire-to-wire for his third career All Star triumph, worth $5,000 plus a $175 TW Metals Bonus. The win came over a hard charging Frankie Kerr and a fast closing Mark Keegan.

"Al Harrison deserves to win an All Star race. He's the greatest car owner. I've never had anybody give me everything I need to race like Al Harrison has. It means a lot to give him something like this," Duncan related emotionally. "Frankie (Kerr) was awesome and I knew he was there. If you're going to lose, lose being aggressive and that's what I kept telling myself. Drive as hard as you can and if you slide off the edge, I'd rather lose that way than pussyfoot it around and get beat like that." Duncan also credited crew chief Andy Potter, Eagle Chassis, Hoosier Tires and Kistler-Chevy engines for the win.

Byron Reed started on the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole with Duncan alongside. Butch Schroeder and Kerr made up row two with Keegan and Jim Nier in row three.

Duncan jumped out into an immediate lead with Reed in second and Kerr third. As Duncan stretched his advantage, there was a fierce battle for second among Reed and Kerr with Schroeder lurking a length behind in fourth. Reed slipped one tire off the top lip of the backstretch on lap nine, allowing Kerr to scoot by into second and on lap 12 Schroeder took third from Reed.

By lap 15, Kerr was closing on Duncan in heavy lapped traffic, and he was right on Duncan's rear bumper on lap 18 when Marty Ling flipped off the backstretch, bringing out a red. For the restart it was Duncan, Kerr, Schroeder, Keegan, Reed and Kelly Kinser, up from 17th.

Kerr and Duncan went at it side-by-side for the lead following the restart, battling fiercely for eight circuits tooth and nail until the final caution appeared for a stopped Jimmy Stinson. Duncan pulled away from Kerr a bit after the restart, with Keegan now challenging Schroeder for third. Keegan took that spot with a high move on lap 29, and from that point on it was a three car race.

With five to go, the leaders were in dense lapped traffic, and Duncan got boxed in by two lapped cars on lap 36, but Kerr did not have a clear path to pass. Once Duncan passed the lapped machines, he pulled away to a three car length win at the end over Kerr with Keegan a length back in third.

"Right at the end the track started taking rubber and everyone was fast," Kerr recalled. "It became one lane and whoever got out front was going to win." Kerr also rode Hoosier tires on his Stan Shoff J&J.

Behind the top trio were Schroeder, Kenny Jacobs from eighth and Phil Gressman, who finished seventh, winning the Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven award. Greg Wilson was eighth, followed by Danny Smith and Jim Nier.

It was TW Metals Bonus night, with the company paying a $175 bonus to the feature winner, $75 for 6th, 11th and 15th places plus $75 to the first feature alternate from the B Main, Todd Kane.

The heats went to Duncan, Danny Smith, Becca Anderson and Schroeder. The win by Anderson was the first female checkered flag ever at K-C and came in her first visit to the track. Kevin Huntley won the Georgia Marketing & Promotions B Main. Schroeder also captured the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash. Daryl Stimeling failed to make the main through the B Main, so he used a provisional spot to start the feature. Jerrod Hull snapped an axle during time trials and flipped hard over the backstretch bank. He was taken to the hospital for a checkup and released with a sore back and skinned up knees and a skinned elbow. He returned to the track later in the evening. <pre> Time Trials: 1. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 11.346; 2. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 11.432; 3. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 11.526; 4. Butch Schroeder, Daugherty 7, 11.548; 5. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 11.587; 6. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 11.598; 7. Phil Gressman, Reidling 9, 11.622; 8. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs/Honecker 6, 11.651; 9. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 11.700; 10. Kevin Huntley, Ashworth 92, 11.770; 11. Craig McGuire, Pullins 29, 11.782; 12. Todd Gracey, Cooper 25, 11.805; 13. Nick Naber, G&N 6, 11.809; 14. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 11.829; 15. Boston Reid, Keppel 9, 11.898; 16. Eric Hysong, Andrews 72, 11.925; 17. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4K, 11.941; 18. Jonathan Stevens, Stevens 4J, 11.950; 19. Becca Anderson, Wolters 12, 12.086; 20. Keith Crabtree, Crabtree 6c, 12.158; 21. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, 12.184; 22. Danny Smith, Baker 4, 12.209; 23. Tony Kennedy, Kennedy 14, 12.220; 24. Marty Ling, Best 47, 12.238; 25. Scott Miller, Melick 2m, 12.345; 26. Jeff Hardwick, Hardwick 14, 12.446; 27. Daryl Stimeling, Stimeling 30, 12.485; 28. Eddie Slone, Slone 4x, 12.536; 29. Mark Imler, Precision 40, 12.596; 30. Todd Kane, Brown 99, 12.671; 31. Roger Mossbarger, Mossbarger 95, 12.728; 32. Jon Webb, Webb 57, 12.851; 33. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63, 12.940; 34. Dewey Cassel, Cassel 5, 13.249; 35. Landon Stover, Stover 96, NT; 36. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, NT.

Heat (8 laps): 1. Duncan 2. Kinser 3. Stinson 4. Wilson 5. Nier 6. Miller 7. Naber 8. Imler 9. Ruble.

Heat (8 laps): 1. Smith 2. Kemenah 3. Stevens 4. Keegan 5. Reed 6. Kane 7. Cassel 8. Hardwick 9. Huntley.

Heat (8 laps): 1. Anderson 2. Kerr 3. McGuire 4. Gressman 5. Reid 6. Stimeling 7. Mossbarger 8. Kennedy.

Heat (8 laps): 1. Schroeder 2. Crabtree 3. Jacobs 4. Ling 5. Hysong 6. Gracey 7. Slone.

Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash (4 laps): 1. Schroeder 2. Kerr 3. Keegan 4. Duncan 5. Reed 6. Nier.

Georgia Marketing & Promotions B Main (12 laps): 1. Huntley 2. Naber 3. Miller 4. Gracey 5. Kane 6. Imler 7. Stimeling 8. Hardwick 9. Slone 10. Mossbarger 11. Kennedy 12. Cassel 13. Ruble.

A Main (40 laps): 1. Rodney Duncan 2. Frankie Kerr 3. Mark Keegan 4. Butch Schroeder 5. Kenny Jacobs 6. Kelly Kinser 7. Phil Gressman 8. Greg Wilson 9. Danny Smith 10. Jim Nier 11. Kevin Huntley 12. Chad Kemenah 13. Boston Reid 14. Nick Naber 15. Byron Reed 16. Jimmy Stinson 17. Craig McGuire 18. Todd Gracey 19. Becca Anderson 20. Keith Crabtree 21. Jonathan Stevens 22. Daryl Stimeling 23. Eric Hysong 24. Scott Miller 25. Marty Ling.

All Star Sprint Points: 1. Rodney Duncan 804; 2. Frankie Kerr 758; 3. Kenny Jacobs 745; 4. Todd Gracey 645; 5. Jerrod Hull 619; 6. Kelly Kinser 587; 7. Chad Kemenah 539; 8. Byron Reed 489; 9. Daryl Stimeling 445; 10. Butch Schroeder 379.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Boston Reid , Becca Anderson , Greg Wil , Chad Kemenah