ALLSTAR: K-C race results

ALMA, OH -- It was Jac Haudenschild in victory lane for the second Saturday night in a row. This week's win came at K-C Raceway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. The 11th annual "The Night The Stars Come Out" feature was worth...

ALMA, OH -- It was Jac Haudenschild in victory lane for the second Saturday night in a row. This week's win came at K-C Raceway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. The 11th annual "The Night The Stars Come Out" feature was worth $5,000 to the driver of Jamie Miller's Ham Signs Maxim. Chad Kemenah made a late race charge for second with Dean Jacobs finishing third.

"We had a little problem with our front wing there but got it patched up under the red," Haudenschild revealed. "Jamie Miller had the car perfect tonight."

Current points leader Kemenah and Danny Smith made up row one for the start, followed by Nick Naber, Haudenschild, Jacobs and Dale Blaney. Smith jumped out to the lead in the high groove, followed by Kemenah and Haudenschild. The lead duo ran side by side for the first three laps with Haudenschild right on their back bumper before a red flew for a Todd Kane flip on lap three. Haudenschild kept the pressure on after the restart, taking second from Kemenah going down the backstretch on lap five. The next lap the "Wild Child put a huge slide job on Smith, passing him low in turn three and banging hard off the turn four cushion to take the lead.

Once in the lead, Haudenschild pulled away from Smith. Kemenah was right on Smith's bumper and took over second from him with a bold move off turn four. Haudenschild led through several caution periods, and then with a dozen laps in the books Haudenschild had amassed a half-straightaway lead. Jacobs was now on the move and put a slide job on Smith in turn two for third at the halfway point of the race. With several more caution flags flying, Haudenschild pulled away from Kemenah at each restart.

With 22 laps in the books, Jacobs was right on the back bumper of Kemenah, and he tried a high groove pass, but it did not work. A turn three slide job by Jacobs the next lap did the trick, enabling him to take over second from Kemenah. Jacobs was now gaining on the leader Haudenschild, and on lap 25 Haudenschild's front wing was working loose, causing him to drift off the top edge of turn two, losing most of his lead and putting Jacobs right on the back bumper of the leader.

With a spin by seventh place Byron Reed with 25 laps complete, a red was displayed for a fuel stop. The restart lineup was Haudenschild, Jacobs, Kemenah, Smith, Kelly Kinser, up from eighth starting spot, and Dale Blaney. Haudenschild pushed out to a half straightaway lead as Kemenah slid under Jacobs for second on lap 27. At the end it was Haudenschild, Kemenah, Jacobs and Smith. Kinser was fifth, followed by 10th starter Greg Wilson, Blaney, Phil Gressman, up from 15th starting spot, Jeremy Campbell and 18th starting Bill Rose.

"The fans got to see a good show tonight," Kemenah stated after finishing second. "We didn't have any brakes from lap one, so we'll take second."

"We really didn't want to see that red flag because Jac had a problem with his noise wing and we had a nice rhythm going there, so I though we might have had a shot. But after that red flag in open racetrack he (Haudenschild) was a hard man to pass," Jacobs said. "It was fun. I'd rather race like this on a rough racetrack rather than feathering the gas pedal on a dry slick track any day."

The Crown Battery heat fell to Phil Gressman, the B&B Products heat went to Brock Mayes, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Paul May and the TP Wings heat fell to Jac Haudenschild. Todd Kane won the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main, Smith captured the Haulmark Dash and Blaney was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Dale Blaney, Andrews 72, 11.608; 2. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, 11.712; 3. Dean Jacobs, DJR 27, 11.762; 4. Jac Haudenschild, Miller 6m, 11.791; 5. Nick Naber, Jarrell 22, 11.812; 6. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 11.818; 7. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k. 11.833; 8. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 11.855; 9. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 11.863; 10. Craig McGuire, McGuire 4mc, 11.867; 11. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 11.873; 12. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 11.877; 13. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 11.951; 14. Ryan Coniam, Grove 70, 11.953; 15. Todd Kane, Kane 78, 11.971; 16. Butch Schroeder, Brown 99, 12.002; 17. Phil Gressman, Robenalt 98, 12.069; 18. Brock Mayes, Mayes 11B, 12.080; 19. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 12.098; 20. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 12.130; 21. Randy Hannagan, THR 1x, 12.149; 22. Eddie Slone, Slone 4x, 12.295; 23. Paul May, May 71m, 12.313; 24. Jon Agan, Agan 4J, 12.327; 25. Tim Hunter, Hunter 2, 12.352; 26. Ron Blair, RB 35, 12.432; 27. Ryan Myers, Garrett 56r, 12.448; 28. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 12.546; 29. Spud Gustin, Gustin 4G, 12.610; 30. Dave Dickson, Abbott 7a, 12.630; 31. Eddie Lynch, Lynch 29, 12.647; 32. Mark Imler, Imler 40, 12.693; 33. Aaron Fry, Fry 14, 13.110; 34. Roger Mossbarger, Mossbarger 95, 13.135; 35. Adam Strausser, Strausser 65, 13.465; 36. Randy Fink, Fink 41, 13.520; 37. Jon Webb, Webb 57, 13.675; 38. Steven Caproni, Caproni 16, 14.287; 39. Jimmy Judd, Judd J4, 14.613; 40. Wayne Williams, Williams 6, 15.953; 41. Wes Harbour, Harbour 1w, NT.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. Gressman 2. Hannagan 3. Kinser 4. Blaney 5. Naber 6. Hunter 7. Gustin 8. Neumeister 9. Harbour 10. Fry 11. Webb.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Mayes 2. McGuire 3. Coniam 4. Smith 5. Slone 6. Dickson 7. Blair 8. Mossbarger 9. Caproni 10. Stinson.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. May 2. Baxter 3. Wilson 4. Kemenah 5. Jacobs 6. Kane 7. Myers 8. Lynch 9. Strausser 10. Judd.

TP Wings Heat (8 laps): 1. Haudenschild 2. Campbell 3. Rose 4. Reed 5. Agan 6. Schroeder 7. Imler 8. Ruble 9. Fink.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Smith 2. Kemenah 3. Blaney 4. Haudenschild.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (15 laps): 1. Kane 2. Hunter 3. Schroeder 4. Myers 5. Imler 6. Dickson 7. Blair 8. Lynch 9. Ruble 10. Neumeister 11. Strausser 12. Mossbarger 13. Harbour 14. Fink 15. Gustin 16. Fry 17. Webb 18. Judd 19. Stinson 20. Caproni.

Haulmark A Main (30 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild 2. Chad Kemenah 3. Dean Jacobs 4. Danny Smith 5. Kelly Kinser 6. Greg Wilson 7. Dale Blaney 8. Phil Gressman 9. Jeremy Campbell 10. Bill Rose 11. Randy Hannagan 12. Butch Schroeder 13. Tim Hunter 14. Byron Reed 15. Ryan Myers 16. Eddie Slone 17. Jon Agan 18. Keith Baxter 19. Paul May 20. Ryan Coniam 21. Brock Mayes 22. Nick Naber 23. Craig McGuire 24. Todd Kane.

Lap Leaders: Danny Smith 1-5, Jac Haudenschild 6-30.

<pre> All Star Sprint Points: 1 Chad Kemenah 839 2 Danny Smith 817 3 Greg Wilson 761 4 Jeremy Campbell 720 5 Dale Blaney 690 6 Phil Gressman 653 7 Ryan Coniam 622 8 Brock Mayes 619 9 Tim Hunter 609 10 Jon Agan 576

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Dean Jacobs , Randy Hannagan , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Jac Haudenschild , Chad Kemenah , Paul May
Teams Williams