ALLSTAR: Eldora Results 99-04-10

All Star Sprint Race Results - Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, OH - Sat. 4/10/99 - By Scott Hall ROSSBURG, OH - Jac Haudenschild won the All Star sprint rain-delayed 30-lap feature Saturday night at Eldora Speedway. The 15-mile run was worth...

All Star Sprint Race Results - Eldora Speedway, Rossburg, OH - Sat. 4/10/99 - By Scott Hall

ROSSBURG, OH - Jac Haudenschild won the All Star sprint rain-delayed 30-lap feature Saturday night at Eldora Speedway. The 15-mile run was worth $5,000 as he outran his Wooster, Ohio neighbor Dean Jacobs for his 14th career All Star win. Haudenschild also pocketed a $500 bonus from C&R Racing Radiators. Haudenschild passed Jacobs, who led most of the event, at the flagstand on lap 15 for the win in Jack Elden’s Maxim with Gaerte-Chevrolet power. A rain shower after lap 16 made for a 50 minute rain delay, but the track was lightning fast after the rain. Byron Reed started on the ButlerBuilt Motorsports Equipment Hot Seat pole position in his Reebar Die Casting machine with Jacobs alongside in the Holbrook Motorsports No. 8. Kasey Kahne, who started eighth on his 19th birthday, got too high and tagged the turn three outside wall on the initial start, ending his race. On the second start, Reed jumped out into the lead ahead of Jacobs and Haudenschild before a Jim Damon lap two spin. The next restart saw Jacobs pass Reed for the lead before Kevin Huntley had a mechanical malfunction and hit the turn one wall head-on, destroying his machine and bringing out a red. Huntley was removed from his machine complaining of neck and shoulder pain and transported to Coldwater Hospital for observation. The next restart saw Jacobs take off at the start and lead over Haudenschild and Reed, with Danny Smith fourth and Kenny Jacobs fifth. As D. Jacobs entered lapped traffic on lap eight, lightning began appearing in the sky. As the laps ticked off, the rains began to fall, and Jacobs’ advantage evaporated as the track began getting wetter. Smith got past Reed for third and at the crossed flags on lap 15, Haudenschild dove under Dean Jacobs to take the lead entering turn one, crossing the finish line first when the red flew for rain on lap 16. After the track was dried out, the restart order was Haudenschild, D. Jacobs, Smith, Reed, Schroeder, K. Jacobs and Paul McMahan, who started last on the grid. Haudenschild pulled away on the fast surface, with D. Jacobs in tow and meanwhile Schroeder passed Smith for third. By lap 22 the leaders were again in lapped traffic, allowing D. Jacobs to close on the leader. Dean was right on Haudenschild’s back bumper with five laps to go, but lapped traffic did not allow him to make a pass for the win, and Haudenschild went on to a four car length triumph. The last three laps saw Schroeder and Smith trade positions several times before Schroeder prevailed for third. Smith ran fourth in the Denny Ashworth Schnee, ahead of his team mate Kenny Jacobs with Byron Reed sixth. McMahan finished seventh, earning the "Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven" award. McMahan, who changed an engine between the Dash and the main, started last when he missed the initial start, but came out on the second attempt at a start after Kahne’s accident. Rocky Hodges was eighth in Charlie Brown’s No. 99, Rodney Duncan ninth and Johnathan Stevens tenth. The United Expressline heat fell to Tim Allison, the Southwest Expressline heat to Greg Wilson and the Southwest Glass heat was won by Huntley. Butch Schroeder won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash. Haudenschild was the Red Devil Brakes $100 fast qualifier. Red Devil Brakes Time Trials: 1. Jac Haudenschild, Elden 22, 13.023; 2. Butch Schroeder, Schroeder 17, 13.071; 3. Paul McMahan, W&J U2, 13.130; 4. Danny Smith, Ashworth 92, 13.247; 5. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 13.262; 6. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 13.304; 7. Kenny Jacobs, Ashworth 92J, 13.344; 8. Kasey Kahne, Kahne 23K, 13.366; 9. Kevin Huntley, Daugherty 7, 13.390; 10. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 13.391; 11. Johnathan Stevens, Davis 99, 13.498; 12. Fred Boso, Javelina 7, 13.498; 13. Rocky Hodges, Brown 99, 13.532; 14. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 13.564; 15. Jason Dukes, Dukes 3, 13.569; 16. Tim Allison, Lotz 11x, 13.645; 17. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 13.666; 18. Steve Suever, Suever 36s, 13.702; 19. Al Schmidt, Schmidt 25s, 13.722; 20. Scott Young, Young 1Y, 13.795; 21. Dave Freed, Freed 8F, 13.846; 22. Kent Wolters, Wolters 12, 13.847; 23. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 14.162; 24. Duffy Smith, Smith 29, 14.172; 25. Jim Damon, Damon 50x, 15.531. United Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Allison 2. Hodges 3. K. Jacobs 4. Haudenschild 5. Duncan 6. Danny Smith 7. Wolters 8. Damon 9. Schmidt. Southwest Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Wilson 2. Kahne 3. Schroeder 4. Stevens 5. Young 6. Hull 7. Ellenberger 8. D. Jacobs. Southwest Glass Heat (8 laps): 1. Huntley 2. McMahan 3. Suever 4. Dukes 5. Reed 6. Boso 7. Freed 8. Duffy Smith. Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash: (4 laps): 1. Schroeder 2. McMahan 3. Danny Smith 4. K. Jacobs 5. Reed 6. Haudenschild. A Main (30 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild 2. Dean Jacobs 3. Butch Schroeder 4. Danny Smith 5. Kenny Jacobs 6. Byron Reed 7. Paul McMahan 8. Rocky Hodges 9. Rodney Duncan 10. Johnathan Stevens 11. Greg Wilson 12. Jerrod Hull 13. Tim Allison 14. Fred Boso 15. Scott Young 16. Brian Ellenberger 17. Dave Freed 18. Jason Dukes 19. Kent Wolters 20. Duffy Smith 21. Kevin Huntley 22. Steve Suever 23. Jim Damon 24. Kasey Kahne. All Star Points: 1. Jac Haudenschild 254; 2. Danny Smith 230; 3. Kenny Jacobs 228; 4. Dean Jacobs 227; 5. Paul McMahan 226; 6. Rodney Duncan 206; 7. Kevin Huntley 204; 8.Greg Wilson 194; 9. Jerrod Hull 192; 10. Gary Wright 151.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kasey Kahne , Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Paul McMahan , Greg Wil , Scott Young , Jac Haudenschild