ALLSTAR: Eldora report 96-08-08

UNITED EXPRESSLINE ALL STAR SPRINT RESULTS - THURS. 08/08/96 ELDORA SPEEDWAY, Rossburg, Ohio ROSSBURG, OH - Kenny Jacobs unveiled a pair of secret weapons Thursday night at Eldora Speedway in the United Expressline All Star sprint feature.

UNITED EXPRESSLINE ALL STAR SPRINT RESULTS - THURS. 08/08/96 ELDORA SPEEDWAY, Rossburg, Ohio ROSSBURG, OH - Kenny Jacobs unveiled a pair of secret weapons Thursday night at Eldora Speedway in the United Expressline All Star sprint feature. The $4,000 to win race was night two of the fourth annual Historical Big One, and the secret weapons propelled the Ohio driver to his first Al l Star win of the season and 59th of his career. Jacobs hired ace mechanic Deuce Turrill to help out for the weekend, and Steve Kinser's mechanic Scott Gerkin was also on hand assisting Jacobs. "Tonight I didn't have to think about anything but driving the race car. That's the first time I could do that all year. Deuce and I won a lot of races together and I have a lot of confidence in him. Scott Gerkin stood on the backstretch and showed me where to race," Jacobs concluded while standing beside Denny Ashworth's Schnee on Goodyear tires with a Gary Stanton Chevy under the hood. Jacobs started outside the front row, with Frankie Kerr starting Stan Shoff's J&J on the pole and taking the immediate lead. Kerr pulled out to a slight lead during the first four laps before Jacobs began reeling him back in. Kerr hit lapped traffic by lap six, and Jacobs closed, with Dale Blaney right on Jacobs' bumper in the Tim Hughes J&J. Kerr was having trouble with the lapped car of Jeremy Minton and hit him, allowing Jacobs to go high around the leader to take over the top spot on lap eight. Blaney also got past Kerr and got alongside Jacobs when Craig Dollansky stopped on the track on lap 12 with loose seatbelts. The order was now Jacobs, Blaney, Kerr, Paul McMahan in the Dennis Roth Beef Packers Stealth and Danny Lasoski in Chris Black's Maxim. Jacobs bolted out to a nice lead when the green reappeared, with Kerr ducking under Blaney for second. Jacobs amassed a quarter lap lead, but when he got into lapped traffic Blaney, who retook second from Kerr was right on his tail. Blaney was right on the bumper of Jacobs, but tried to slide under the lapped car of Daniel Coggeshell and brushed the front wheels of Coggeshell with his rear tire, sending Coggeshell into the wall, with his wing getting entangled in the fence. Coggeshell stopped on the track for a caution with now only three laps remaining. Jacobs had one lapped car between himself and Blaney on the restart. Kerr dove under Blaney on the drop of the green as Jacobs pulled away. He won by four seconds over Kerr and Blaney. "The track was laying rubber down. It got faster down a couple car widths so I moved down in three and four but not in one and two. I saw

someone beside me in two, but then the yellow came out and saved me," Jacobs said afterward. "I screwed up in traffic," Kerr said of second. "I ran into Jeremy

(Minton) and took the wrong line around Dave (Freed). It was my fault that Dale got around me. But we'll take second." "My tires must have cooled off, I guess," a disgusted Blaney said afterward. Lasoski was fourth, after starting eighth in the Black Maxim with California driver McMahan fifth after starting third. Dean Jacobs came

back from a heat race crash for sixth over 14th starter Kevin Huntley. Jeff Shepard moved Jim Wahlie's brand new Maxim from tenth to eighth, with 16th starting Danny Smith ninth and last starter Tim Shaffer tenth Dean Jacobs was the fast qualifier over the 32 car field with the Southwest Expressline heat to Dale Blaney and the ButlerBuilt heat to Danny Smith In the third heat, Van Gurley Jr. crossed the line first but was penalized to third for jumping on the start, handing the win to Kevin Huntley. Kenny Jacobs won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash with Paul McMahan the Outerwears Pre-filters B Main winner in his first career Eldora start. Fred Boso hit the turn three concrete head on in the B Main and flipped, but he was okay. Danny Eichler won the stock car main and Jack Hewitt was the e-mod winner. Time Trials: 1. Dean Jacobs, Jacobs 1F, 13.590; 2. Paul McMahan, Roth 83, 13.622; 3. Kenny Jacobs, Ashworth 92, 13.644; 4. Charlie Fisher, Fisher 48, 13.773; 5. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 13.879; 6. Randy Hannigan, M&M 2M, 13.883; 7. Dale Blaney, Hughes 94, 13.890; 8. Joe Gaerte, Gaerte 3G, 13.891; 9. Danny Lasoski, Black 1, 13.908; 10. Rocky Hodges, Holbrook 8H, 13.912; 11. Jeff Shepard, Wahlie 1w, 13.912; 12. Van Gurley Jr., Gurley 3B, 13.950; 13. James Fisher, Fisher 48J, 14.006; 14. Kevin Gobrecht, Gobrecht 92, 14.072; 15. Kevin

Huntley, Johnson U2, 14.090; 16. Craig Dollansky, Lindsey 2D, 14.114; 17. Danny Smith, Bodkins 00, 14.131; 18. Jeremy Minton, Minton 13, 14.155; 19. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 14.179; 20. Jack Hewitt, Hampshire 63, 14.314; 21. Dave Freed, Freed 8, 4.449; 22. Rob Chaney, Chaney 42, 14.467; 23. Jeff Williams, McCullough 10, 14.630; 24. Rusty McClure, McClure 09, 14.678; 25. Brian Carlson, SC Motorsports 18, 14.729; 26. Daniel Coggeshell, Coggeshell 3, 14.940; 27. Ray Shank, Shank 7x, 15.207; 28. Fred Boso, Javelina 7, 15.379; 29. Todd Kelley, Kelley 21K, 15.411; 30. Bill Wilburn. Wilburn 10w, 15.776; 31. Kent Wolters, Wolters 25, 16.129; 32. Tim Shaffer, J&M 55, NT. Southwest Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Blaney 2. Dollansky 3. Hodges 4. Reed 5. Chaney 6. J. Fisher 7. Carlson 8. Wolters 9. Boso 10. C. Fisher 11. D. Jacobs. ButlerBuilt Heat (8 laps): 1. Smith 2. Kerr 3. Gobrecht 4. Gaerte 5. Shepard 6. McMahan 7. Hewitt 8. Coggeshell 9. Kelley 10. Williams. Heat (8 laps): 1. Huntley 2. Lasoski 3. Gurley 4. K. Jacobs 5. Hannigan 6. Minton 7. McClure 8. Freed 9. Shank 10. Wilburn 11. Shaffer. Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash (4 laps): 1. K. Jacobs 2. Blaney 3. Kerr 4. D. Jacobs 5. Shepard 6. Hodges. Outerwears Pre-filters B Main (12 laps): 1. McMahan 2. D. Jacobs 3. J. Fisher 4. Hewitt 5. Shaffer 6. Freed 7. Minton 8. Coggeshell 9. McClure 10. Carlson 11. Shank 12. Kelley 13. Wilburn 14. Wolters 15. Boso 16. Williams. A Main (30 laps): 1. K. Jacobs 2. Kerr 3. Blaney 4. Lasoski 5. McMahan 6. D. Jacobs 7. Huntley 8. Shepard 9. Smith 10. Shaffer 11. Gurley 12. Gaerte 13. Hodges 14. Hewitt 15. Dollansky 16. Hannigan 17.

J. Fisher 18. Freed 19. Coggeshell 20. Gobrecht 21. Reed 22. Minton. Point Standings - United Expressline All Star Sprints: 1. Dale Blaney 3625; 2. Tim Shaffer 3201; 3. Kevin Huntley 3158; 4. Frankie Kerr 3114; 5. Dean Jacobs 3077; 6. Craig Dollansky 3044; 7. Danny Smith 3025; 8. Van Gurley Jr. 2917; 9. Brian Carlson 2495; 10. Jeremy Minton 2325. -end-

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Steve Kinser , Jack Hewitt , Craig Dollansky , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Dean Jacobs , Paul McMahan , Jeff Williams
Teams Williams