ALLSTAR: Eldora race results

ROSSBURG, OH -- Chad Kemenah won his third race of the season Saturday night at Eldora Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. Despite a thunderstorm at 6:25 p.m. the show ran as scheduled after starting an hour and 45 minutes...

ROSSBURG, OH -- Chad Kemenah won his third race of the season Saturday night at Eldora Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. Despite a thunderstorm at 6:25 p.m. the show ran as scheduled after starting an hour and 45 minutes late. Kemenah's win, in the Jim Harble, UUI-sponsored, Kistler-powered Eagle, was worth $5,000 on Eldora's 49th anniversary.

"I want to thank my brother Brian and my nephew Rick and the whole bunch - they did a beautiful job with the car tonight. We had bad luck in the heat race, won the B and started seventh and won. We were really, really good tonight. This is my favorite race place, Eldora Speedway," Kemenah exclaimed from victory lane.

Mike Wagner and Craig Keel brought the 24 car field to the green, with the first start nullified by Dean Jacobs, who got sideways and was tee boned by Jim Dayton. Jacobs exited on the back of a wrecker with front end damage and Dayton was also eliminated. Keel jumped out into the lead when the green finally came out, with Wagner taking over the lead on the second circuit as Kemenah, who started seventh, was now on the move. Kemenah went low in turn three on lap four to take third from Jeff Shepard. He repeated the move a lap later to snare second from Keel and set his sights on Wagner, who had built a large lead. As Wagner entered lapped traffic, Kemenah really began catching him and Wagner jumped the turn one cushion on lap nine, allowing Kemenah to speed by.

Lap 12 saw action slowed by Ryan Coniam who tagged the turn one concrete for a yellow, and then Keith Baxter flipped on lap 14, bringing out a red. Kemenah had the lead for the restart over Wagner, Shepard, Jason Johnson and Jimmy Stinson.

Kemenah pushed out to another lead over Wagner and Shepard before action was slowed again on lap 16 for Greg Wilson's lost right front tire. Kemenah remained on top as Wagner rode the extra high groove to remain second following the restart and kept the pressure on Kemenah. A stalled Dwain Leiber brought out another caution on lap 25, setting up a five lap shootout to the finish.

Kemenah pulled away from Wagner when the final green appeared as Shepard tried every trick in the book the last five laps to get by Wagner, but to no avail. Johnson finished fourth after passing Stinson on the lap 25 restart. Jim Nier was sixth followed by Bill Rose, Danny Smith, Todd Kane and Keel.

"I got a couple good runs on him and I tried to go around him (Kemenah) on the outside, but there was only a little bit of room, maybe I should have tried the bottom," Wagner reflected after this runnerup finish, a half straightaway behind.

"We worked on the motor all night," third place finisher Shepard revealed. "I didn't know what to expect since I haven't driven a car like this in a while," he added, referring to his first night back in Denny Ashworth's No. 92.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Ryan Coniam, the B&B Products heat went to Hud Horton, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Butch Schroeder in the Charlie Brown No. 99 and the TP Wings heat fell to Greg Wilson. Kemenah won the United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main and Bill Rose captured the Haulmark Dash. Rob Chaney was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier but had to scratch from the A main after mechanical problems on the last lap of his heat race.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Rob Chaney, SC Racing 9x, 13.066; 2. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 13.077; 3. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, 13.197; 4. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 13.203; 5. Jeff Shepard, Ashworth 92, 13.239; 6. Bill Rose, Rose 6, 13.244; 7. Craig Keel, Pottorff 9, 13.284; 8. Mike Wagner, Wagner 55, 13.304; 9. Jason Johnson, Harrison 22, 13.317; 10. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 13.326; 11. Nick Naber, Jarrell 22, 13.332; 12. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 13.367; 13. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 13.385; 14. Todd Kane, Kane 78, 13.400; 15. Dean Jacobs, Pullins 29, 13.472; 16. Mike Brecht, Hammons 20, 13.494; 17. Ryan Coniam, Coniam 6c, 13.514; 18. Hud Horton, Mossbarger 80, 13.530; 19. Butch Schroeder, Brown 99, 13.536; 20. Jim Dayton, Dayton 2x, 13.721; 21. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 13.732; 22. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 13.760; 23. Tom Busch, Busch 4B, 13.884; 24. Jason Courtney, Courtney 9c, 13.914; 25. Matt Lucius, Lucius & Ludwig 1a, 13.917; 26. Bruce Robenalt, Robenalt 98, 14.109; 27. Wes Harbour, Harbour 1w, 14.144; 28. Dwain Leiber, Leiber 62, 14.191; 29. Scott Cramer, Cramer 47, 14.300; 30. Steve Leiber, Leiber 62B, 14.434; 31. Rod Maxwell, Buchy 99x, 14.754; 32. Marvin Pifer, Pifer 32, 14.755; 33. Shawn Applegate, Applegate 07, 16.437.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. Coniam 2. Johnson 3. Chaney 4. Shepard 5. Smith 6. Ruble 7. Cramer 8. Lucius 9. Applegate.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Horton 2. Baxter 3. Neumeister 4. Kane 5. Rose 6. Kemenah 7. S. Leiber 8. Robenalt (DNS).

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. Schroeder 2. Stinson 3. Jacobs 4. Busch 5. Keel 6. Harbour 7. Maxwell 8. Naber.

TP Wings Heat (8 laps): 1. Wilson 2. Dayton 3. Wagner 4. Courtney 5. Nier 6. D. Leiber 7. Brecht 8. Pifer.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Rose 2. Johnson 3. Shepard 4. Keel 5. Jacobs 6. Neumeister.

United Aluminum Window Sales & Consulting B Main (10 laps): 1. Kemenah 2. Ruble 3. D. Leiber 4. Harbour 5. S. Leiber 6. Lucius 7. Cramer 8. Maxwell 9. Applegate.

Haulmark A Main (30 laps): 1. Chad Kemenah 2. Mike Wagner 3. Jeff Shepard 4. Jason Johnson 5. Jimmy Stinson 6. Jim Nier 7. Bill Rose 8. Danny Smith 9. Todd Kane 10. Craig Keel 11. Ed Neumeister 12. Hud Horton 13. Wes Harbour 14. Barry Ruble 15. Tom Busch 16. Jason Courtney 17. Dwain Leiber 18. Greg Wilson 19. Keith Baxter 20. Ryan Coniam 21. Butch Schroeder 22. Steve Leiber 23. Dean Jacobs 24. Jim Dayton.

Lap Leaders: Craig Keel 1; Mike Wagner 2-9; Chad Kemenah 10-30.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Dean Jacobs , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Chad Kemenah , Jason Johnson